Library Collections During Covid 19: Plastics & Rubber

Prior extrusion books are based on barrel rotation physics--this is the first book that focuses on the actual physics of the process--screw rotation physics. In the first nine chapters, theories and math models are developed. Then, these models are used to solve actual commercial problems in the remainder of the book. Realistic case studies are presented that are unique in that they describe the problem as viewed by a typical plant engineer and provide the actual dimensions of the screws. Overall, there is not a book on the market with this level of detail and disclosure. The new knowledge in this book will be highly useful for production engineers, technical service engineers working with customers, consultants specializing in troubleshooting and process design, and process researchers and designers that are responsible for processes that running at maximum rates and maximum profitability.The second edition is brought up to date with a significant amount of new content, as well as minor improvements and correction of errors throughout.The new content includes transfer lines, percolation theory, fillers, and several more case studies.

Co-rotating twin-screw extruders are extensively used for the preparation, compounding, mixing, and processing of plastics, but also in other industry branches, such as in rubber and food processing, and increasingly in the pharmaceutical industry too. Derived from the classic bestselling work "Co-Rotating Twin Screw Extruders", this book focuses on the application and machine technology of co-rotating twin-screw extrusion. It includes functional zones in the extruder, scale-up and scale-down, machine technology, and many application examples from a broad range of areas.Co-rotating twin-screw machines usually have modular configurations and are thus quite flexible for adapting to changing tasks and material properties. Well-founded knowledge of machines, processes, and material behavior is required in order to design and operate twin-screw extruders for economically successful operations. With chapters written by many expert authors from industry and academia, this book provides valuable information on applications from a practical perspective, suitable for both beginners and experienced professional engineers.

Databook of Antiblocking, Release, and Slip Additives, Second Edition contains detailed information on over 300 important additives for polymers, including additives that are used to minimize adhesion, aid separation, and enhance processing and end-applications for polymers. Each additive is presented with data in the following categories: General Information, Physical Properties, Health and Safety, Ecological Properties, and Use and Performance. Data fields covered include state, odor, color, autoignition temperature, probability of biodegradation, and much more. Recommendations are given for specific products, processing methods, and mold materials, and an assessment is given for each additive's features and benefits.

Databook of Flame Retardants contains information on commonly-used additives broken out into five sections, including General, Physical, Health and Safety, Ecological, and Use. Over one hundred types of data are included for over three hundred and fifty commercial-based products. All data fields are defined and include a broad range of information, such as calcium contents, molecular mass, brightness, freezing/melting points, viscosity, volatility, UN/NA class, autoignition temperature, partition coefficient, processing methods, concentrations used, and more. This book is best utilized in tandem with the Handbook of Flame Retardants. Each book complements the other without repeating information, with the other release explaining the role of these products, their selection, mechanism of action, use in different polymers and products, and health and commercial issues related to flame retardants.

Analyzes the existing literature and provides guidance on optimal selection of nucleating agents in order to increase production rates, improve the mechanical performance, and reduce the haze of polymeric products

Handbook of Antiblocking, Release, and Slip Additives, Fourth Edition, is the only comprehensive reference available on the subject of antiblocking, release, and slip additives, which are of high industrial importance. These additives are used to alter the properties and performances of polymers, minimizing adhesion, aiding separation, and improving the efficiency and cost of processing methods. These characteristics make additives an important topic across the spectrum of industry sectors that employ plastics and polymers. Fully updated to include the latest research and additives, the book considers all essential aspects of chemistry, physical properties, influence on properties of final products, formulations, methods of incorporation, analysis, and effects on health and environment. It also provides a complete analysis of existing literature and patents. Processing is discussed in detail, including coverage of types and concentrations, the effect of the additives on the process and product properties, advantages and disadvantages, and examples of formulations. This combination of data and performance analysis makes the book a vital source of information for industry research and development as well as academia.

Covers available fillers and their properties, their effect on filled materials such as mechanical properties, rheology, morphology, flammability, and recycling, and their use in practical applications

Handbook of Flame Retardants contains an extensive evaluation of the existing literature, products and patents related to flame retardance. As a perfect complement to The Databook of Flame Retardants, this book explains the roles, selection, mechanisms of action, use in different polymers and products, and health and environmental issues of over 350 different products. Chapters highlight the fundamentals of material burning and the associated stages of heat, flame and smoke, properties and mechanisms, and preventive, delaying and extinguishing attributes of 27 chemical groups of flame retardants. Examples of synergistic and antagonistic actions of various additives are discussed next, along with testing methods. The book concludes with chapters providing guidance on optimal selection of flame retardants for various polymers and information on the toxicity of flame retardants and their effects on the environment.

Analyzes the existing literature and provides guidance on optimal selection of nucleating agents in order to increase production rates, improve the mechanical performance, and reduce the haze of polymeric products

Polymers used in electronics and electrical engineering are essential to the development of high-tech products, with applications in space, aviation, health, automotive, communication, robotics, consumer products, and beyond. Typical features of mainstream polymers such as mechanical performance, optical behavior, and environmental stability frequently need to be enhanced to perform in these demanding applications, creating the need to develop special grades or use completely new chemistry for their synthesis. Similarly, the typical set of properties included in the description of mainstream polymers are not sufficient for polymer selection for these applications, as they require different data, data that is meticulously detailed in the Handbook of Polymers for Electronics. The book provides readers with the most up-to-date information from the existing literature, manufacturing data, and patent filings. Presenting data for all polymers based on a consistent pattern of arrangement, the book provides details organized into the following sections: General; history; synthesis; structure; commercial polymers; physical properties; electrical properties; mechanical properties; chemical resistance; flammability; weather stability; thermal stability; biodegradation; toxicity; environmental impact; processing; blends; analysis. The contents, scope, treatment and novelty of the data makes this book an essential resource for anyone working with polymeric materials used in modern electronic applications.