Library Collections During Covid 19: Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering

This issue, titled of the book, from the topic series "Corrosion", contains articles published by Trans Tech Publications in 2017 - 2020. The volume presents a wide range of scientific research results and engineering solutions in the field of a study of corrosion properties and corrosion behaviour of materials and structures of tube and pipelines in the oil, gas, and energy industry; development of technologies and means for the protection of materials and pipe structures against the influence of corrosive environments. We hope this collection will be useful and interesting to a broad audience of researchers and engineers in various industry fields, such as the production and transport of oil and gas, energy, chemicals.

This volume contains articles reflected the last results in numerical simulation of transfer phenomena in heat and fluid flow in the various technical systems and also includes descriptions of engineering decisions for the improvement of effective using renewable energy. The presented issue will be useful for a wide range of engineers and researchers from many branches of engineering science.

Mechanical Energy Storage Technologies presents a comprehensive reference that systemically describes various mechanical energy storage technologies. State-of-the-art energy storage systems are outlined with basic formulation, utility, and detailed dynamic modeling examples, making each chapter a standalone module on storage technology. Each chapter includes a detailed mathematical model of the given energy storage system along with solved and unsolved examples, case studies, and prospects among emerging technologies and solutions for future energy systems. Giving a detailed understanding of why mechanical energy storage systems are useful, this book is a beneficial reference for anyone researching and working in mechanical energy storage systems.

Pounder's Marine Diesel Engines and Gas Turbines, Tenth Edition, gives engineering cadets, marine engineers, ship operators and managers insights into currently available engines and auxiliary equipment and trends for the future. This new edition introduces new engine models that will be most commonly installed in ships over the next decade, as well as the latest legislation and pollutant emissions procedures. Since publication of the last edition in 2009, a number of emission control areas (ECAs) have been established by the International Maritime Organization (IMO) in which exhaust emissions are subject to even more stringent controls. In addition, there are now rules that affect new ships and their emission of CO2 measured as a product of cargo carried.

This guideline has been prepared by a REHVA Task Force whose members are mainly from Mediterranean member countries. The aim of the guideline is to support, in a practical way, a design process for realizing Nearly-Zero Energy Buildings (NZEB) in the context of Mediterranean-climate, focusing more on the mechanical systems than on the building envelope, which has previously been treated in Part 1 (REHVA Guidebook No. 28). The Guidebook covers the design of Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC) systems, energy recovery and free cooling aspects, renewable energy adaptation, and innovative system design approaches. Fundamental design and selection methodology has also been included.

The main objective behind this guidebook is to present and promote the use of equipment, technology and systems appropriate to the cooling-demand-dominated requirements of the Mediterranean climate. Reducing the energy needs and the non-renewable energy use, identification of passive cooling techniques, selection of the right ventilation strategy, exploiting the high solar energy potential of Mediterranean sites, and balancing fenestrations and shading device design are challenges posed by the Mediterranean climate.

Ultra-High Temperature Thermal Energy Storage, Transfer and Conversion presents a comprehensive analysis of thermal energy storage systems operating at beyond 800°C. Editor Dr. Alejandro Datas and his team of expert contributors from a variety of regions summarize the main technological options and the most relevant materials and characterization considerations to enable the reader to make the most effective and efficient decisions. This book helps the reader to solve the very specific challenges associated with working within an ultra-high temperature energy storage setting. It condenses and summarizes the latest knowledge, covering fundamentals, device design, materials selection and applications, as well as thermodynamic cycles and solid-state devices for ultra-high temperature energy conversion. This book provides a comprehensive and multidisciplinary guide to engineers and researchers in a variety of fields including energy conversion, storage, cogeneration, thermodynamics, numerical methods, CSP, and materials engineering. It firstly provides a review of fundamental concepts before exploring numerical methods for fluid-dynamics and phase change materials, before presenting more complex elements such as heat transfer fluids, thermal insulation, thermodynamic cycles, and a variety of energy conversation methods including thermophotovoltaic, thermionic, and combined heat and power.

The 2020 ASHRAE Handbook—HVAC Systems and Equipment discusses various systems and the equipment (components or assemblies) that comprise them, and describes features and differences. This information helps system designers and operators in selecting and using equipment. Major sections discuss air-conditioning and heating systems; equipment and components for air handling, heating, cooling, and general application; packaged, unitary, and split-system equipment; and general systems.

As demand has increased for new types of equipment that are more suited to the ever-evolving world of industry, demand for both new and traditional types of actuators has soared.  From automotive and aeronautical to biomedical and robotics, engineers are constantly developing actuating devices that are adapted to their particular needs in their particular field, and actuators are used in almost every field of engineering that there is. This volume not only lays out the fundamentals of actuators, such as how they operate, the different kinds, and their various applications, but it also informs the engineer or student about the new actuators that are being developed and the state-of-the-art of actuators.  Edited and written by highly experienced and well-respected engineers with a deep understanding of their subject, there is no other volume on actuators that is more current or comprehensive. Whether as a guide for the latest innovations in actuators, a refresher reference work for the veteran engineer, or an introductory text for the engineering student, this is a must-have for any engineer's or university's library.  Covering the theory and the practical applications, this breakthrough volume is a "one stop shop" for any engineer or student interested in actuators.

Advanced Analytic Control Techniques for Thermal Systems with Heat Exchangers presents the latest research on sophisticated analytic and control techniques specific for Heat Exchangers (HXs) and heat Exchanger Networks (HXNs), such as Stability Analysis, Efficiency of HXs, Fouling Effect, Delay Phenomenon, Robust Control, Algebraic Control, Geometric Control, Optimal Control, Fuzzy Control and Artificial Intelligence techniques. Editor Libor Pekař and his team of global expert contributors combine their knowledge and experience of investigated and applied systems and processes in this thorough review of the most advanced networks, analyzing their dynamics, efficiency, transient features, physical properties, performance, feasibility, flexibility and controllability. The structural and dynamic analyses and control approaches of HXNs, as well as energy efficient manipulation techniques are discussed, in addition to the design of the control systems through the full life cycle. This equips the reader with an understanding of the relevant theory in a variety of settings and scenarios and the confidence to apply that knowledge to solve problems in an academic or professional setting. Graduate students and early-mid career professionals require a robust understanding of how to suitably design thermal systems with HXs and HXNs to achieve required performance levels, which this book offers in one consolidated reference. All examples and solved problems included have been tried and tested, and these combined with the research driven theory provides professionals, researchers and students with the most recent techniques to maximize the energy efficiency and sustainability of existing and new thermal power systems.

The 2020 ASHRAE Handbook—HVAC Systems and Equipment discusses various systems and the equipment (components or assemblies) that comprise them, and describes features and differences. This information helps system designers and operators in selecting and using equipment. Major sections discuss air-conditioning and heating systems; equipment and components for air handling, heating, cooling, and general application; packaged, unitary, and split-system equipment; and general systems.