Library Collections During Covid 19: Chemistry & Chemical Engineering

Advances in Nano-fertilizers and Nano-pesticides in Agriculture: A Smart Delivery System for Crop Improvement explores the use of nanotechnology for the controlled delivery of pesticides, herbicides and fertilizers that improve the safety of products while also increasing the efficiency of food production and decreased environmental pollution. The development of nanodevices such as smart delivery systems to target specific sites, as well as nanocarriers for chemical controlled release are currently important aspects in novel agriculture and require a strong foundation of understanding, not only the technology, but also the resulting impacts.

Provides clear and comprehensive coverage of recently developed applied biocatalysis for synthetic organic chemists with an emphasis to promote green chemistry in pharmaceutical and process chemistry This book aims to make biocatalysis more accessible to both academic and industrial synthetic organic chemists. It focuses on current topics within the applied industrial biocatalysis field and includes short but detailed experimental methods on timely novel biocatalytic transformations using new enzymes or new methodologies using known enzymes. The book also features reactions that are "expanding and making the enzyme toolbox available to chemists"--providing readers with comprehensive methodology and detailed key sourcing information of a wide range of enzymes. Chapters in Applied Biocatalysis: The Chemist's Enzyme Toolkit are organized by reaction type and feature a short introductory section describing the current state of the art for each example. Much of the book focuses on processes for which the enzymes are readily available so that organic chemists can synthesize appropriate quantities of chemicals with available materials in a standard chemical laboratory. Advanced methods are included to present examples of new enzymes that might encourage collaboration with suppliers or academic groups and that will educate chemists of rapidly expanding future possibilities. Focuses on current topics within the applied industrial biocatalysis field Offers experimental methods on novel biocatalytic transformations using new enzymes or new methodology using known enzymes Covers the hot topics of enzyme and chemoenzymatic cascades and biocatalysis in flow Edited by noted experts from both academia and industry with years of experience in the field of biocatalysis--particularly, the industrial applications of enzymes Written for synthetic organic chemists working in all industries but especially the pharmaceutical industry and for those in academia with an eye for biocatalysis, Applied Biocatalysis: The Chemist's Enzyme Toolkit will also benefit academic groups in chemistry and related sciences that are using enzymes for synthetic purposes, as well as those working in the area of enzymology and molecular biology.

Chemo-Enzymatic Cascade Reactions A groundbreaking book focusing on chemo-enzymatic cascade transformations Chemo-Enzymatic Cascade Reactions offers a unique book that explores biocatalytic-chemical cascade reactions and their applications in the synthesis of valuable chemicals. Written by a noted expert on the topic, this comprehensive resource includes information on the advantages and disadvantages of traditional chemical and biocatalytic reactions and reviews the three modes of chemo-enzymatic transformations: separate-pot-two-step, one-pot-two-step, and one-pot-one-step. The author examines the most current developments of chemo-enzymatic transformations organized by the three modes and types of enzymes and considers retro-synthesis based on both chemical and biocatalytic transformations and the synthetic applications. This groundbreaking book is the first resource to present in one volume the state-of-art advances of the technology and explore the opportunities and challenges of this burgeoning field. The book also considers the future of cascade reactions and the myriad benefits including higher atom economy and production efficiency, and less resource consumption and waste generation. This important book: Offers the first book dedicated exclusively to chemo-enzymatic cascade transformations Explains the importance and the opportunities and challenges of chemo-enzymatic synthetic technology Includes information on the three modes of chemo-enzymatic transformation Reviews the most recent advances in the field Written for organic chemists, chemists in industry, biochemist, catalytic chemists, Chemo-Enzymatic Cascade Reactions offers an understanding to the importance, current advances, the opportunities and challenges of chemo-enzymatic synthetic technology.

Controlled Release Fertilizers for Sustainable Agriculture provides a comprehensive examination of precision fertilizer applications using the 4-R approach--the right amount of fertilizer at the right time to the right plant at the correct stage of plant growth. This volume consolidates detailed information on each aspect of controlled release fertilizers, including up-to-date literature citations, the current market for controlled release fertilizers and patents. Presenting the tremendous advances in experimental and theoretical studies on sustainable agriculture and related areas, this book provides in-depth insight into state-of-the-art controlled release mechanisms of fertilizers, techniques, and their use in sustainable agriculture. Conventional release mechanisms have historically meant waste of fertilizers and the adverse effects of that waste on the environment. Controlled release delivery makes significant strides in enhancing fertilizer benefit to the target plant, while protecting the surrounding environment and increasing sustainability.

Unites a biological and a biotechnological perspective on cyanobacteria, and includes the industrial aspects and applications of cyanobacteria Cyanobacteria Biotechnology offers a guide to the interesting and useful features of cyanobacteria metabolism that keeps true to a biotechnology vision. In one volume the book brings together both biology and biotechnology to illuminate the core acpects and principles of cyanobacteria metabolism. Designed to offer a practical approach to the metabolic engineering of cyanobacteria, the book contains relevant examples of how this metabolic "module" is currently being engineered and how it could be engineered in the future. The author includes information on the requirements and real-world experiences of the industrial applications of cyanobacteria. This important book: Brings together biology and biotechnology in order to gain insight into the industrial relevant topic of cyanobacteria Introduces the key aspects of the metabolism of cyanobacteria Presents a grounded, practical approach to the metabolic engineering of cyanobacteria Offers an analysis of the requirements and experiences for industrial cyanobacteria Provides a framework for readers to design their own processes Written for biotechnologists, microbiologists, biologists, biochemists, Cyanobacteria Biotechnology provides a systematic and clear volume that brings together the biological and biotechnological perspective on cyanobacteria.

Analyzes the existing literature and provides guidance on optimal selection of nucleating agents in order to increase production rates, improve the mechanical performance, and reduce the haze of polymeric products

In its Second Edition, this book is a comprehensive reference for industry and academia. The book offers a concise yet thorough introduction to the process of papermaking from the production of wood chips to the final testing and use of the paper product. The author has updated the extensive bibliography, providing the reader with easy access to the pulp and paper literature. The book emphasizes principles and concepts behind papermaking, detailing both the physical and chemical processes.

This book comprehensively and systematically demonstrates the theory and practice of designing, synthesizing and improving the performance of fuels. The contents range from polycyoalkane fuels, strained fuels, alky-diamondoid fuels, hypergolic and nanofluid fuels derived from fossil and biomass. All the chapters together clearly describe the important aspects of high-energy-density fuels including molecular design, synthesis route, physiochemical properties, and their application in improving the aerocraft performance. Vivid schematics and illustrations throughout the book enhance the accessibility to the relevant theory and technologies. This book provides the readers with fundamentals on high-energy-density fuels and their potential in advanced aerospace propulsion, and also provides the readers with inspiration for new development of advanced aerospace fuels.

Presents comprehensive coverage of process intensification and integration for sustainable design, along with fundamental techniques and experiences from the industry Drawing from fundamental techniques and recent industrial experiences, this book discusses the many developments in process intensification and integration and focuses on increasing sustainability via several overarching topics such as Sustainable Manufacturing, Energy Saving Technologies, and Resource Conservation and Pollution Prevention Techniques. Process Intensification and Integration for Sustainable Design starts discussions on: shale gas as an option for the production of chemicals and challenges for process intensification; the design and techno-economic analysis of separation units to handle feedstock variability in shale gas treatment; RO-PRO desalination; and techno-economic and environmental assessment of ultrathin polysulfone membranes for oxygen-enriched combustion. Next, it looks at process intensification of membrane-based systems for water, energy, and environment applications; the design of internally heat-integrated distillation column (HIDiC); and graphical analysis and integration of heat exchanger networks with heat pumps. Decomposition and implementation of large-scale interplant heat integration is covered, as is the synthesis of combined heat and mass exchange networks (CHAMENs) with renewables. The book also covers optimization strategies for integrating and intensifying housing complexes; a sustainable biomass conversion process assessment; and more. Covers the many advances and changes in process intensification and integration Provides side-by-side discussions of fundamental techniques and recent industrial experiences to guide practitioners in their own processes Presents comprehensive coverage of topics relevant, among others, to the process industry, biorefineries, and plant energy management Offers insightful analysis and integration of reactor and heat exchanger network Looks at optimization of integrated water and multi-regenerator membrane systems involving multi-contaminants Process Intensification and Integration for Sustainable Design is an ideal book for process engineers, chemical engineers, engineering scientists, engineering consultants, and chemists.

Thermal, Mechanical, and Hybrid Chemical Energy Storage Systems provides unique and comprehensive guidelines on all non-battery energy storage technologies, including their technical and design details, applications, and how to make decisions and purchase them for commercial use. The book covers all short and long-term electric grid storage technologies that utilize heat or mechanical potential energy to store electricity, including their cycles, application, advantages and disadvantages, such as round-trip-efficiency, duration, cost and siting. Also discussed are hybrid technologies that utilize hydrogen as a storage medium aside from battery technology. Readers will gain substantial knowledge on all major mechanical, thermal and hybrid energy storage technologies, their market, operational challenges, benefits, design and application criteria.