Library Collections During Covid 19: Electrical & Power Engineering

Electric Utility Resource Planning: Past, Present and Future covers the balance of renewable costs, energy storage, and flexible backstop mechanisms needed in electric utility resource planning. In addition, it covers the optimization of planning methodologies and market design. The book argues that net load, ramping and volatility concerns associated with renewables call into question the validity of almost a century of planning approaches. Finally, it suggests that accounting for flexibility helps optimize the efficiency of the entire fleet of assets, minimizing costs and CO2 generation simultaneously, concluding that a flexible, independent backstop mechanism is needed, regardless of renewables or storage.  Case studies provide a mix of hypothetical "what if" scenarios and analyses of real-life utility portfolios drawn from international examples.

This book offers state of the art information about a novel range of applications for electromagnetic reverberation chambers. It is written by international experts in electromagnetic theory, electromagnetic compatibility (EMC), and antenna design and measurement. For each application area a renowned researcher introduces the general concepts and then describes the recent advances in that field. The following topics are thus addressed in the context of reverberation chambers in the 9 chapters of the book: Calibration of reverberation chambers with the "well stirred condition" method Performance assessment of the most popular stirring techniques for broadband tests Probabilistic model in the context of radiated susceptibility tests Over-the-air testing of wireless devices Material absorption and dosimetry for animal exposure Characterization of antenna efficiency and radiation pattern Radar cross section estimation Finally, a concluding chapter identifies and explores some of the exciting developments and open issues that represent emerging trends in reverberation chamber research. The book is aimed at advanced students and researchers in signal processing, antenna design or EMC who need to know about new applications of reverberation chambers.

Like most industries around the world, the energy industry has also made, and continues to make, a long march toward "green" energy.  The science has come a long way since the 1970s, and renewable energy and other green technologies are becoming more and more common, replacing fossil fuels.  It is, however, still a struggle, both in terms of energy sources keeping up with demand, and the development of useful technologies in this area. To maintain the supply for electrical energy, researchers, engineers and other professionals in industry are continuously exploring new eco-friendly energy technologies and power electronics, such as solar, wind, tidal, wave, bioenergy, and fuel cells. These technologies have changed the concepts of thermal, hydro and nuclear energy resources by the adaption of power electronics advancement and revolutionary development in lower manufacturing cost for semiconductors with long time reliability. The latest developments in renewable resources have proved their potential to boost the economy of any country. Green energy technology has not only proved the concept of clean energy but also reduces the dependencies on fossil fuel for electricity generation through smart power electronics integration. Also, endless resources have more potential to cope with the requirements of smart building and smart city concepts.  A valuable reference for engineers, scientists, chemists, and students, this volume is applicable to many different fields, across many different industries, at all levels.  It is a must-have for any library.

Power and telecommunications systems are growing increasingly complex. This increases their vulnerability to lightning-related effects. Due to the high requirements for the reliability of power and telecommunications systems and the associated sensitive equipment, protection against lightning is of paramount importance. Lightning-induced effects are to be quantified in order to assess the risks and design adequate protection. This can be done with the traditional approach, which is based on the transmission-line theory and an electromagnetic-field-to-conductor coupling model, as well as with the advanced numerical techniques, such as the finite difference time-domain (FDTD) method. Interest in the FDTD method is steadily growing because of the availability of software and increased computer capabilities. This book provides an introduction to the FDTD method and its applications to studies of lightning-induced effects in power and telecommunication systems. It also contains background information on lightning, lightning models, and lightning electromagnetics. This book is essential reading for electrical engineers and researchers, who are interested in lightning surge protection studies, as well as for senior undergraduate and graduate students specializing in electrical engineering.

The development of large-scale renewable generation and load electrification call for highly efficient and flexible electric power integration, transmission and interconnection. High Voltage DC (HVDC) transmission technology has been recognized as the key technology for this scenario. HVDC transmissions, including both the line commutated converter (LCC) HVDC and voltage source converter (VSC) HVDC have played an important role in the modern electric power system. However, with the inclusion of power electronic devices, HVDC introduces the characteristics of nonlinearity and different timescales into the traditional electromechanical system and thus careful modeling and simulation of HVDC transmission are essential for power system design, commissioning, operation and maintenance. This book focuses on the modeling and simulation of HVDC transmission systems. The development of HVDC technologies is briefly introduced, and then the role of modeling and simulation in the research and development of HVDC systems is discussed. The chapters cover the general practice of HVDC modeling and simulation; electromagnetic modeling of LCC HVDC; VSC HVDC system modeling and stability analysis; electromagnetic modeling of DC grids; electromagnetic simulation of HVDC transmission; electromechanical transient simulation of LCC HVDC; electromechanical simulation of VSC HVDC; dynamic phasor modeling of HVDC; small-signal modeling of HVDC systems; hybrid simulation for HVDC; and real-time modeling and simulation for HVDC systems. The simulation algorithms are explained for each model and case studies and application examples are included. This book is essential reading for engineers and researchers involved with transmission grid construction, as well as advanced students of electrical engineering.

A general overview of the use of utility distribution poles, including for electric supply and communications applications Overhead Distribution Lines: Design and Applications provides information on the design and use of power and communication distribution lines. An excellent resource for those in the power and communication utilities industry, this book presents information on the physical characteristics of utility poles, overhead supply and communication cables, installation practices, joint-usage issues, and safety rules, including the National Electrical Safety Code (NESC), California-specific rules, and others. It describes how to select the proper poles for specific applications. The especially valuable final chapter provides examples showing how it all works in practice, providing a background allowing more effective use of related industry software. Rather than delving into detailed design and installation techniques, this book serves as an overview for engineers and non-technical audiences alike. At the same time, it serves as a compendium of technical information not readily available elsewhere. This unique book: Offers an overview of pole structures, pole installation and maintenance, wires and cables, and cable installation and maintenance--with examples Provides information on national standards documents such as the National Electrical Safety Code (NESC), ANSI O5.1, California General Order 95, and more Explores the "sag-tension" relationship between wires and poles Includes appendices that cover properties of messenger strands, wireless attachments, solution of equations to determine sag, under uniform and point loads Overhead Distribution Lines: Design and Applications offers readers an understanding of the basic principles and various issues related to electric supply and communications distribution lines. It is a valuable resource for utility engineers, as well as those without a technical background.

Generation of electricity from renewable sources has become a necessity, particularly due to environmental concerns. In order for renewable sources to provide reliable power, their sporadic availability under certain conditions and the lack of control over the resource must be addressed. Different renewable energy sources and storage technologies bring various properties to the table, and power systems must be adapted and constructed to accommodate these. Power electronics and micro-grids play key roles in enabling the use of renewable energy in the evolving smarter grids. This book, written by well-known researchers with broad expertise and successful publication records, provides a systematic overview of modern power systems with integrated renewable energy. Chapters provide concise coverage of renewable energy generation, of storage technologies including chemical, electrostatic and thermal storage systems, and of energy integration, power conditioning systems, economic dispatch and scheduling, EV integration, as well as communications and cyber-security in power systems. This work is a highly valuable resource for researchers in industry and academia involved with renewable energy technology and power systems, for advanced students of related subjects, and for utilities engineers and professionals.

Fully updated and authoritative reference to wind energy technology written by leading academic and industry professionals The newly revised Third Edition of the Wind Energy Handbook delivers a fully updated treatment of key developments in wind technology since the publication of the book's Second Edition in 2011. The criticality of wakes within wind farms is addressed by the addition of an entirely new chapter on wake effects, including 'engineering' wake models and wake control. Offshore, attention is focused for the first time on the design of floating support structures, and the new 'PISA' method for monopile geotechnical design is introduced. The coverage of blade design has been completely rewritten, with an expanded description of laminate fatigue properties and new sections on manufacturing methods, blade testing, leading-edge erosion and bend-twist coupling. These are complemented by new sections on blade add-ons and noise in the aerodynamics chapters, which now also include a description of the Leishman-Beddoes dynamic stall model and an extended introduction to Computational Fluid Dynamics analysis. The importance of the environmental impact of wind farms both on- and offshore is recognized by expanded coverage, and the requirements of the Grid Codes to ensure wind energy plays its full role in the power system are described. The conceptual design chapter has been extended to include a number of novel concepts, including low induction rotors, multiple rotor structures, superconducting generators and magnetic gearboxes. References and further reading resources are included throughout the book and have been updated to cover the latest literature. As in previous editions, the core subjects constituting the essential background to wind turbine and wind farm design are covered. These include: The nature of the wind resource, including geographical variation, synoptic and diurnal variations, and turbulence characteristics The aerodynamics of horizontal axis wind turbines, including the actuator disc concept, rotor disc theory, the vortex cylinder model of the actuator disc and the Blade-Element/Momentum theory Design loads for horizontal axis wind turbines, including the prescriptions of international standards Alternative machine architectures The design of key components Wind turbine controller design for fixed and variable speed machines The integration of wind farms into the electrical power system Wind farm design, siting constraints, and the assessment of environmental impact Perfect for engineers and scientists learning about wind turbine technology, the Wind Energy Handbook will also earn a place in the libraries of graduate students taking courses on wind turbines and wind energy, as well as industry professionals whose work requires a deep understanding of wind energy technology.

Provides an engaging and clearly structured source of information on the capture and storage of CO2 Designed to bridge the gap between the many disciplines involved in carbon dioxide emission management, this book provides a comprehensive yet easy-to-understand introduction to the subject of CO2 capture. Fit for graduate students, practicing process engineers, and others interested in the subject, it offers a clear understanding and overview of thermal power plants in particular and of carbon dioxide capture and storage (CCS) in general. Carbon Dioxide Emission Management in Power Generation starts with a discussion of the greenhouse effect, climate change, and CO2 emissions as the rationale for the concept of CCS. It then looks at the long-term storage of CO2. A chapter covering different fossil fuels, their usage, and properties comes next, followed by sections on: CO2 generation, usage and properties; power plant technologies; theory of gas separation; power plant efficiency calculations; and classification of CO2 capture methods. Other chapters examine: CO2 capture by gas absorption and other gas separation methods; removing carbon from the fuel; pre- and post-combustion CO2 capture in power cycles; and oxy-combustion CO2 capture in power cycles. -Discusses both CO2 capture technologies as well as power generation technologies -Bridges the gap between many different disciplines?from scientists, geologists and engineers, to economists -One of the few books that covers all the different sciences involved in the capture and storage of CO2 -Introduces the topic and provides useful information to the academic as well as professional reader Carbon Dioxide Emission Management in Power Generation is an excellent book for students who are interested in CO2 capture and storage, as well as for chemists in industry, environmental chemists, chemical engineers, geochemists, and geologists.

Thermodynamic Analysis and Optimization of Geothermal Power Plants guides researchers and engineers on the analysis and optimization of geothermal power plants through conventional and innovative methods. Coverage encompasses the fundamentals, thermodynamic analysis, and optimization of geothermal power plants. Advanced thermodynamic analysis tools such as exergy analysis, thermoeconomic analysis, and several thermodynamic optimization methods are covered in depth for different configurations of geothermal power plants through case studies. Interdisciplinary research with relevant economic and environmental dimensions are addressed in many of the studies. Multiobjective optimization studies aimed at better efficiency, lower cost, and a lower environmental impact are also discussed in this book.