Library Collections During Covid 19: General Engineering & Project Administration

3D PRINTING FOR ENERGY APPLICATIONS Explore current and future perspectives of 3D printing for the fabrication of high value-added complex devices 3D Printing for Energy Applications delivers an insightful and cutting-edge exploration of the applications of 3D printing to the fabrication of complex devices in the energy sector. The book covers aspects related to additive manufacturing of functional materials with applicability in the energy sector. It reviews both the technology of printable materials and 3D printing strategies itself, and its use in energy devices or systems. Split into three sections, the book covers the 3D printing of functional materials before delving into the 3D printing of energy devices. It closes with printing challenges in the production of complex objects. It also presents an interesting perspective on the future of 3D printing of complex devices. Readers will also benefit from the inclusion of: A thorough introduction to 3D printing of functional materials, including metals, ceramics, and composites An exploration of 3D printing challenges for production of complex objects, including computational design, multimaterials, tailoring AM components, and volumetric additive manufacturing Practical discussions of 3D printing of energy devices, including batteries, supercaps, solar panels, fuel cells, turbomachinery, thermoelectrics, and CCUS Perfect for materials scientists, 3D Printing for Energy Applications will also earn a place in the libraries of graduate students in engineering, chemistry, and material sciences seeking a one-stop reference for current and future perspectives on 3D printing of high value-added complex devices.

By specializing in a vertical market, companies can better understand their customers and bring more insight to clients in order to become an integral part of their businesses. This approach requires dedicated tools, which is where artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning (ML) will play a major role. By adopting AI software and services, businesses can create predictive strategies, enhance their capabilities, better interact with customers, and streamline their business processes. This edited book explores novel concepts and cutting-edge research and developments towards designing these fully automated advanced digital systems. Fostered by technological advances in artificial intelligence and machine learning, such systems potentially have a wide range of applications in robotics, human computing, sensing and networking. The chapters focus on models and theoretical approaches to guarantee automation in large multi-scale implementations of AI and ML systems; protocol designs to ensure AI systems meet key requirements for future services such as latency; and optimisation algorithms to leverage the trusted distributed and efficient complex architectures. The book is of interest to researchers, scientists, and engineers working in the fields of ICTs, networking, AI, ML, signal processing, HCI, robotics and sensing. It could also be used as supplementary material for courses on AI, machine and deep learning, ICTs, networking signal processing, robotics and sensing.

This book covers recent achievements in the area of advanced analytical and associated numerical methods as applied to various problems arising in all branches of electromagnetics. The unifying theme is the application of advanced or novel mathematical techniques to produce analytical solutions or effective analytical-numerical methods for computational electromagnetics addressing more general problems. Each chapter contains an outline of its topic, discusses its scientific context and importance, describes approaches to date, gives an exposition of the author's approach to the problem tackled in the chapter, describes the results, and concludes with a discussion of the range or class of problems where the techniques described work most appropriately and effectively. Intended primarily for researchers in the fields of electrical engineering, mathematics, physics and related disciplines, the book offers systematic and thorough coverage of this complex topic. It is hoped that the book will help to stimulate further investigation and discussion of the important problems in electromagnetics within this research community.

E-learning has become an important part of our educational life with the development of e-learning systems and platforms and the need for online and remote learning. ICT and computational intelligence techniques are being used to design more intelligent and adaptive systems. However, the art of designing good real-time e-learning systems is difficult as different aspects of learning need to be considered including challenges such as learning rates, involvement, knowledge, qualifications, as well as networking and security issues. The earlier concepts of standalone integrated virtual e-learning systems have been greatly enhanced with emerging technologies such as cloud computing, mobile computing, big data, Internet of Things (IoT), AI and machine learning, and AR/VT technologies. With this book, the editors and authors wish to help researchers, scholars, professionals, lecturers, instructors, developers, and designers understand the fundamental concepts, challenges, methodologies and technologies for the design of performant and reliable intelligent and adaptive real time e-learning systems and platforms. This edited volume covers state of the art topics including user modeling for e-learning systems and cloud, IOT, and mobile-based frameworks. It also considers security challenges and ethical conduct using Blockchain technology.

A comprehensive guide that offers a review of the current technologies that tackle CO2 emissions The race to reduce CO2 emissions continues to be an urgent global challenge. "Engineering Solutions for CO2 Conversion" offers a thorough guide to the most current technologies designed to mitigate CO2 emissions ranging from CO2 capture to CO2 utilization approaches. With contributions from an international panel representing a wide range of expertise, this book contains a multidisciplinary toolkit that covers the myriad aspects of CO2 conversion strategies. Comprehensive in scope, it explores the chemical, physical, engineering and economical facets of CO2 conversion. "Engineering Solutions for CO2 Conversion" explores a broad range of topics including linking CFD and process simulations, membranes technologies for efficient CO2 capture-conversion, biogas sweetening technologies, plasma-assisted conversion of CO2, and much more. This important resource: * Addresses a pressing concern of global environmental damage, caused by the greenhouse gases emissions from fossil fuels * Contains a review of the most current developments on the various aspects of CO2 capture and utilization strategies * Incldues information on chemical, physical, engineering and economical facets of CO2 capture and utilization * Offers in-depth insight into materials design, processing characterization, and computer modeling with respect to CO2 capture and conversion Written for catalytic chemists, electrochemists, process engineers, chemical engineers, chemists in industry, photochemists, environmental chemists, theoretical chemists, environmental officers, "Engineering Solutions for CO2 Conversion" provides the most current and expert information on the many aspects and challenges of CO2 conversion.

Environmental Noise and Management Selma Kurra, Istanbul Technical University and  dBKES Engineering Ltd, Turkey   A comprehensive overview of environmental noise pollution from the standpoint of environmental impact and control     Environmental noise is studied, regulated and monitored by many governments and institutions, as well as forming the basis for a number of different occupations due to the adverse effects of noise exposure. Environmental Noise and Management provides a comprehensive overview of environmental noise pollution. The book begins by covering the fundamentals of noise and acoustics, major noise sources and prediction and evaluation techniques.  Developments in noise measuring techniques, and mapping and improvement of legislation to control noise pollution are then discussed, and international regulations are presented.  Technological advances and recent developments regarding strategy and action plans are also covered in depth.   Key features: Summarizes the relevant international standards covering noise pollution and environmental engineering practice. Presents technological advances and recent developments regarding strategy and action plans. Covers developments in noise measuring techniques, prediction models, mapping and improvement of legislation to control noise pollution.   Environmental Noise and Management is a comprehensive resource for researchers and graduate students who are involved in noise pollution from the standpoint of environmental impact and control.  

Praise for the First Edition: "If you ... want an up-to-date, definitive reference written by authors who have contributed much to this field, then this book is an essential addition to your library." --Journal of the American Statistical Association A COMPREHENSIVE REVIEW OF MODERN EXPERIMENTAL DESIGN Experiments: Planning, Analysis, and Optimization, Third Edition provides a complete discussion of modern experimental design for product and process improvement--the design and analysis of experiments and their applications for system optimization, robustness, and treatment comparison. While maintaining the same easy-to-follow style as the previous editions, this book continues to present an integrated system of experimental design and analysis that can be applied across various fields of research including engineering, medicine, and the physical sciences. New chapters provide modern updates on practical optimal design and computer experiments, an explanation of computer simulations as an alternative to physical experiments. Each chapter begins with a real-world example of an experiment followed by the methods required to design that type of experiment. The chapters conclude with an application of the methods to the experiment, bridging the gap between theory and practice. The authors modernize accepted methodologies while refining many cutting-edge topics including robust parameter design, analysis of non-normal data, analysis of experiments with complex aliasing, multilevel designs, minimum aberration designs, and orthogonal arrays. The third edition includes: Information on the design and analysis of computer experiments A discussion of practical optimal design of experiments An introduction to conditional main effect (CME) analysis and definitive screening designs (DSDs) New exercise problems This book includes valuable exercises and problems, allowing the reader to gauge their progress and retention of the book's subject matter as they complete each chapter. Drawing on examples from their combined years of working with industrial clients, the authors present many cutting-edge topics in a single, easily accessible source. Extensive case studies, including goals, data, and experimental designs, are also included, and the book's data sets can be found on a related FTP site, along with additional supplemental material. Chapter summaries provide a succinct outline of discussed methods, and extensive appendices direct readers to resources for further study. Experiments: Planning, Analysis, and Optimization, Third Edition is an excellent book for design of experiments courses at the upper-undergraduate and graduate levels. It is also a valuable resource for practicing engineers and statisticians.

The objective of this book is to teach what IoT is, how it works, and how it can be successfully utilized in business. This book helps to develop and implement a powerful IoT strategy for business transformation as well as project execution. Digital change, business creation/change and upgrades in the ways and manners in which we work, live, and engage with our clients and customers, are all enveloped by the Internet of Things which is now named "Industry 5.0" or "Industrial Internet of Things." The sheer number of IoT(a billion+), demonstrates the advent of an advanced business society led by sustainable robotics and business intelligence. This book will be an indispensable asset in helping businesses to understand the new technology and thrive.

A comprehensive and approachable introduction to 5G Written by a noted expert on the subject, An Introduction to 5G: The New Radio, 5G Network and Beyond offers an introductory system-level guide to 5G. The material covered includes: The use cases and requirements of the 5G system The architecture of the next generation radio access network and the 5G core The principles of radio transmission, millimetre waves and MIMO antennas The architecture and detailed design of the 5G new radio The implementation of HTTP/2 on the service-based interfaces of the 5G core The signalling procedures that govern the end-to-end-operation of the system The new features that are introduced in Releases 16 and 17 An Introduction to 5G is written for engineering professionals in mobile telecommunications, for those in non-technical roles such as management, marketing and intellectual property, and for students. It requires no more than a basic understanding of mobile communications, and includes detailed references to the underlying 3GPP specifications for 5G. The book's approach provides a comprehensive, end-to-end overview of the 5G standard, which enables readers to move on with confidence to the more specialized texts and to the specifications themselves.

This volume contains articles reflected the last results in numerical simulation of transfer phenomena in heat and fluid flow in the various technical systems and also includes descriptions of engineering decisions for the improvement of effective using renewable energy. The presented issue will be useful for a wide range of engineers and researchers from many branches of engineering science.