Library Collections During Covid 19: Civil Engineering & Construction Materials

This book provides a concise overview of the immediate response of the construction industry to the challenges created by the worldwide COVID-19 outbreak. Topics include time and schedule impacts on projects, financial impacts on projects, and new and evolving regulations. This book will be of interest to field engineers, project managers, and all those involved with claims and construction management.

This book is an indispensable guide which describes and explains the stages of work for a project from first consideration through to completion of construction and then beyond to handing over the resulting structures and services for use.

As in previous editions, the book provides clear explanations of a broad range of project and contract management principles and practice, and it is a valuable source of information on fundamental concepts. This Eighth Edition contains updates throughout the book, including coverage of recent initiatives to improve project and programme delivery, the latest updates to the NEC contracts, and additional case studies that provide insights into real-world practice. This book covers the following topics: concept and promotion; feasibility studies; procurement and contract strategy; design and Building Information Modelling (BIM); risk management and health, safety and welfare; planning and control of construction; construction management organization; testing, commissioning and handover operation, maintenance and asset management.

This book covers the main principles and design rules that are used to design buildings to resist the effect of earthquakes. It offers comprehensive, practical and easy to read advice on the technical issues that have to be considered in the seismic design of buildings. This indispensable guide outlines the principles of structural dynamics used to establish how a building and its foundations respond to strong ground shaking. Extensive advice is provided on the choice and design of structural forms and materials which produce practical, affordable and attractive buildings resilient to earthquakes.

Now in its fourth edition and written by two experienced seismic engineers, this book has been updated to take into account the many developments in seismic design practice in recent years, including updates to international seismic design standards, along with new editions of US design standards, upcoming changes to Eurocode 8, and a comparison with Indian and Chinese code requirements.

Sponsored by the Embankments, Dams, and Slopes Technical Committee of the Geo-Institute of ASCE Remote Sensing for Monitoring Embankments, Dams, and Slopes: Recent Advances, GSP 322, provides information on selecting and deploying a monitoring network to assess the behavior, geometry, total and differential EDS movement, and potential risks of the EDS movement on people and infrastructure. Topics include general technologies used for EDS monitoring, selection and installation of networked sensors for predictive analytics and image recognition, application of monitoring techniques in the design of early warning systems, case studies, and support for decision-makers in implementing early warning systems. Information on a broad range of technologies, such as radio detection and ranging (radar), synthetic aperture radar (SAR), interferometric synthetic aperture radar (InSAR), light detection and ranging (LiDAR), digital photogrammetry and image processing, microelectromechanical systems (MEMS), automatic motorized total stations (AMTS), and unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) to deploy the remote sensing technologies is also included. This Geotechnical Special Publication will be useful to both practitioners and researchers to understand and utilize currently available remote sensing technology and to advance and refine the monitoring of embankments, dams, and slopes.

This document outlines the need for assessments of embodied carbon of products linked to mechanical, electrical and public health (MEP) systems, to increase knowledge and facilitate research in whole life carbon in MEP systems. In this document, embodied carbon is understood as the greenhouse gas emissions (GHG) associated with the making of a product, its installation, its maintenance, repair, replacement, and then its end of life. It covers the whole life cycle, excluding operational aspects and the potential recovery, reuse or recycling of materials. The embodied carbon associated with MEP design can be significant in a building lifetime due to the materials that MEP equipment are made of and high replacement rates.

This document provides guidance on how to use environmental product declarations (EPDs) for MEP products. Where EPDs are not available, this document provides guidance on how to estimate the embodied carbon of MEP products.

The design of mechanical components for various engineering applications requires the understanding of stress distribution in the materials. The need of determining the nature of stress distribution on the components can be achieved with experimental techniques. Applications and Techniques for Experimental Stress Analysis is a timely research publication that examines how experimental stress analysis supports the development and validation of analytical and numerical models, the progress of phenomenological concepts, the measurement and control of system parameters under working conditions, and identification of sources of failure or malfunction. Highlighting a range of topics such as deformation, strain measurement, and element analysis, this book is essential for mechanical engineers, civil engineers, designers, aerospace engineers, researchers, industry professionals, academicians, and students.

This book showcases the latest practical guidance on designing buildings to optimise their resilience to blast loading. Focused specifically on the design of commercial buildings, it is an indispensable guide to help engineers reduce the risks posed to building occupants and businesses from terrorist attacks and other explosions.

This new third edition has been fully updated and expanded to reflect the significant developments which have occurred in the field of blast engineering. Combining coverage of design standards, codes and materials with a detailed appreciation of the needs and demands of the designer, this book offers the engineer with a single and comprehensive source of reference for all the main elements of blast engineering design in modern practice. It remains one of the only sources of published guidance on the design of vehicle security barriers, and provides an accessible, essential guide to designing structures and façades against blast loading.

Provides the latest AISI North American specifications for cold-formed steel design Hailed by professionals around the world as the definitive text on the design of cold-formed steel, this book provides descriptions of the construction and structural behavior of cold-formed steel members and connections from both theoretical and experimental points of view. Updated to reflect the 2016 AISI North American specification and 2015 North American framing standards, this all-new fifth edition offers readers a better understanding of the analysis and design of the thin-walled, cold-formed steel structures that have been widely used in building construction and other areas in recent years. Cold-Formed Steel Design, 5th Edition has been revised and reorganized to incorporate the Direct Strength Method. It discusses the reasons and justification for the various design provisions of the North American specification and framing design standards. It provides chapter coverage of: the types of steels and their most important mechanical properties; the fundamentals of buckling modes; commonly used terms; the design of flexural members, compression members and closed cylindrical tubes, and of beam-columns using ASD, LRFD, and LSD methods; shear diaphragms and shell roof structures; standard corrugated sheets; and more. Updated to the 2016 North American (AISI S100) design specification and 2015 North American (AISI S240) design standard Offers thorough coverage of ASD, LRFD, LSD, and DSM design methods Integrates DSM in the main body of design provisions Features a new section on Power-Actuated Fastener (PAF) Connections Provides new examples and explanations of design provisions Cold-Formed Steel Design, 5th Edition is not only instructive for students, but can serve as a major source of reference for structural engineers, researchers, architects, and construction managers.

Prepared by the Composite Construction Committee of the Metals Technical Administrative Committee of the Structural Engineering Institute of ASCE Composite Special Moment Frames: Wide Flange Beam to Concrete-Filled Steel Column Connectionsprovides a state-of-the-art overview for designing connections for composite special moment frames (C-SMFs). This book focuses on beam-to-column moment connections for both continuous beam and continuous column connections, and C-SMFs with rectangular or circular concrete-filled tube (CFT) columns. This book will enable engineers to design composite frames more efficiently. It provides An experimental database of 165 tests conducted on beam-to-column connections for C-SMFs, including a summary of the behavior of these connections and an evaluation of these connections using current standard requirements; Design equations for estimating the panel zone shear strength of double split-tee (DST) and through-beam connections; Design examples for DST and through-beam connections; and Flow charts illustrating the design methodology for the connections. This book will be a valuable resource for structural engineers and members of academia.

We are on the verge of a new generation of technology and innovation. Finite Element Analysis is being linked parametrically with CAD; artificial intelligence and machine learning are being applied to everyday engineering tasks. What does today's graduate (and those with more experience too) need to know about these 'engineering assistants' in order to harness their full potential?

Author takes the reader on a practical, theoretical, and philosophical journey; balancing a complex subject with a fresh, engaging, and often humorous style. Forewords from Chris Wise, Tristram Carfrae, and Jon Leach precede chapters that discuss: Design (including parametric design), Modelling (and its problems), Analysis (basics and methods/linear, nonlinear, and dynamic), Optimisation, AI and machine learning, The future of engineering software. An extensive reference list supports the text.