Library Collections During Covid 19: Electronics & Semiconductors

Electrical and instrumentation engineering is changing rapidly, and it is important for the veteran engineer in the field not only to have a valuable and reliable reference work which he or she can consult for basic concepts, but also to be up to date on any changes to basic equipment or processes that might have occurred in the field. Covering all of the basic concepts, from three-phase power supply and its various types of connection and conversion, to power equation and discussions of the protection of power system, to transformers, voltage regulation, and many other concepts, this volume is the one-stop, "go to" for all of the engineer's questions on basic electrical and instrumentation engineering. There are chapters covering the construction and working principle of the DC machine, all varieties of motors, fundamental concepts and operating principles of measuring, and instrumentation, both from a "high end" point of view and the point of view of developing countries, emphasizing low-cost methods. A valuable reference for engineers, scientists, chemists, and students, this volume is applicable to many different fields, across many different industries, at all levels.  It is a must-have for any library.

The ICT industry is a major consumer of global energy. The energy crisis, global warming problems, dramatic growth in data traffic and the increased complexity of emerging networks are pushing academic and industry research towards the development of energy-saving and energy-efficient architectures, technologies and networks in order to reduce the carbon footprint while ensuring efficient and reliable communication networks, and environmental sustainability. Attractive solutions for the design and implementation of energy efficient wireless networks and 5G technologies include massive MIMO, non-orthogonal multiple access, and energy harvesting communications. Tools from areas such as machine and deep learning are being investigated to establish optimal approaches and understand fundamental limits. Moreover, new promising heterogeneous and decentralized network architectures and the Internet-of-Things (IoT) will have an impact on the successful implementation of future and next generation green wireless communications. The aim of this edited book is to present state-of-the art research from theory to practice, and all aspects of green communication methods and technologies for the design of next generation green wireless communication systems and networks. This advanced research title will be of interest to an audience of researchers, engineers, scientists and developers from academia and the industry working in the fields of ICTs, signal processing, networking, power and energy systems, environmental and sustainable engineering, sensing and electronics. It will also be a very useful text for lecturers, postdocs, PhD and masters students researching the design of the next generation wireless communication systems and networks.

Polymers used in electronics and electrical engineering are essential to the development of high-tech products, with applications in space, aviation, health, automotive, communication, robotics, consumer products, and beyond. Typical features of mainstream polymers such as mechanical performance, optical behavior, and environmental stability frequently need to be enhanced to perform in these demanding applications, creating the need to develop special grades or use completely new chemistry for their synthesis. Similarly, the typical set of properties included in the description of mainstream polymers are not sufficient for polymer selection for these applications, as they require different data, data that is meticulously detailed in the Handbook of Polymers for Electronics. The book provides readers with the most up-to-date information from the existing literature, manufacturing data, and patent filings. Presenting data for all polymers based on a consistent pattern of arrangement, the book provides details organized into the following sections: General; history; synthesis; structure; commercial polymers; physical properties; electrical properties; mechanical properties; chemical resistance; flammability; weather stability; thermal stability; biodegradation; toxicity; environmental impact; processing; blends; analysis. The contents, scope, treatment and novelty of the data makes this book an essential resource for anyone working with polymeric materials used in modern electronic applications.

Edited by two recognised experts, this book in two volumes provides a comprehensive overview of integrated optics, from modelling to fabrication, materials to integration platforms, and characterization techniques to applications. The technology is explored in detail, and set in a broad context that addresses a range of current and potential future research and development trends. Volume 1 begins with introductory chapters on the history of integrated optics technology, design tools, and modelling techniques. The next section of the book goes on to discuss the range of materials used for integrated optics, their deposition techniques, and their specific applications, including glasses, plasmonic nanostructures, SOI and SOS, and III-V and II-VI semiconductors. Volume 2 addresses characterization techniques, integrated optical waveguides and devices. A range of applications are also discussed, including devices for sensing, telecommunications, optical amplifiers and lasers, and quantum computing. The introductory chapters are intended to be of use to newcomers to the field, but its depth and breadth of coverage means that this book is also appropriate reading for early-career and senior researchers wishing to refresh their knowledge or keep up to date with recent developments in integrated optics.

Edited by two recognised experts, this book in two volumes provides a comprehensive overview of integrated optics, from modelling to fabrication, materials to integration platforms, and characterization techniques to applications. The technology is explored in detail, and set in a broad context that addresses a range of current and potential future research and development trends. Volume 1 begins with introductory chapters on the history of integrated optics technology, design tools, and modelling techniques. The next section of the book goes on to discuss the range of materials used for integrated optics, their deposition techniques, and their specific applications, including glasses, plasmonic nanostructures, SOI and SOS, and III-V and II-VI semiconductors. Volume 2 addresses characterization techniques, integrated optical waveguides and devices. A range of applications are also discussed, including devices for sensing, telecommunications, optical amplifiers and lasers, and quantum computing. The introductory chapters are intended to be of use to newcomers to the field, but its depth and breadth of coverage means that this book is also appropriate reading for early-career and senior researchers wishing to refresh their knowledge or keep up to date with recent developments in integrated optics.

The incredible growth in the development and use of wireless communication technologies has led to research in both academia and industry on artificial intelligence (AI) methods that enable intelligent technologies, smarter services and applications, business processes and social interactions to satisfy future requirements. AI mechanisms are being exploited in smart intelligent network applications to provide insights from collected data by identifying patterns and allowing operational predictions with higher accuracy in smaller time periods. The future of AI-powered wireless networking infrastructures depends on finding effective solutions to a number of technical challenges that such paradigms introduce, including better intelligent sensor capabilities, smarter big data analytics, automated remote data management, as well as open and secure processes. This book presents innovative research in emerging artificial intelligence methods for the processing, storing and analysing of large date sets generated by wireless communication infrastructures. It addresses major new technological developments, reflects on industry needs, current research trends and future directions. The authors focus on the development of AI-powered mechanisms for future wireless networking applications and architectures which will lead to more performant, resilient and valuable ecosystems and automated services. The book is aimed at researchers, engineers and scientists involved in the design and development of protocols and AI applications for wireless communication devices, and wireless networking technologies.

The development of large-scale renewable generation and load electrification call for highly efficient and flexible electric power integration, transmission and interconnection. High Voltage DC (HVDC) transmission technology has been recognized as the key technology for this scenario. HVDC transmissions, including both the line commutated converter (LCC) HVDC and voltage source converter (VSC) HVDC have played an important role in the modern electric power system. However, with the inclusion of power electronic devices, HVDC introduces the characteristics of nonlinearity and different timescales into the traditional electromechanical system and thus careful modeling and simulation of HVDC transmission are essential for power system design, commissioning, operation and maintenance. This book focuses on the modeling and simulation of HVDC transmission systems. The development of HVDC technologies is briefly introduced, and then the role of modeling and simulation in the research and development of HVDC systems is discussed. The chapters cover the general practice of HVDC modeling and simulation; electromagnetic modeling of LCC HVDC; VSC HVDC system modeling and stability analysis; electromagnetic modeling of DC grids; electromagnetic simulation of HVDC transmission; electromechanical transient simulation of LCC HVDC; electromechanical simulation of VSC HVDC; dynamic phasor modeling of HVDC; small-signal modeling of HVDC systems; hybrid simulation for HVDC; and real-time modeling and simulation for HVDC systems. The simulation algorithms are explained for each model and case studies and application examples are included. This book is essential reading for engineers and researchers involved with transmission grid construction, as well as advanced students of electrical engineering.

Providing a unified treatment of radio wave propagation in vehicular environments, this book offers a thorough discussion of their theoretical background and fundamental limits, and paves the way to a better understanding of more advanced topics. Further, the book introduces the newest challenges and problems posed by the ever growing need to communicate in mobile networks whilst in a vehicle. The book provides an exhaustive survey of current propagation models, setting a theoretical path that will allow practical engineers and researchers to understand and improve existing wireless mobile networks through better understanding of propagation modelling as applied to the vehicular environment. Chapters are included on wireless channel properties for vehicular environments; modelling and simulation of vehicular communications; intra-vehicle and inter-vehicle short-range wireless channel characterization; vehicular communications channel modelling; and wireless communication system optimization. The book concludes with a chapter exploring applications and case studies. Radio Wave Propagation in Vehicular Environments is suitable for master's students and above in signal processing and mobile communications courses, as well as researchers working in vehicular communications.

Over the last three decades, the search for competitiveness and growth gains has driven the evolution of machine maintenance policies, and the industry has moved from passive maintenance to active maintenance with the aim of improving productivity. Active maintenance requires continuous monitoring of industrial systems in order to increase reliability, availability rates and guarantee the safety of people and property. This book presents the main advanced signal processing techniques for fault detection and diagnosis in electromechanical systems. It focuses on presenting these advanced tools from time-frequency representation and time-scale analysis to demodulation techniques, including innovative and recently developed options. Each technique is evaluated and compared, and its advantages and drawbacks highlighted. Parametric spectral analysis, which aims to handle some of the main drawbacks of these approaches, is introduced as a potential solution. Signal Processing for Fault Detection and Diagnosis in Electric Machines and Systems offers thorough, analytical coverage of the following topics: parametric signal processing approach; the signal demodulation techniques; Kullback-Leibler divergence for incipient fault diagnosis; high-order spectra (HOS); and fault detection and diagnosis based on principal component analysis. Finally, a brief conclusion suggests some possibilities for the future direction of the field. The book is a useful resource for researchers and engineers whose work involves electrical machines or fault detection specifically, and also of value to postgraduate students with an interest in entering this field.

This greatly expanded, co-authored, two-volume text provides a comprehensive introduction and explanation of both the theory and practice of modern antenna measurements, from their most basic postulates and assumptions, to the intricate details of their applications in various demanding modern measurement scenarios. Starting with an initial examination of the properties of antennas that allow them to enhance the free-space interaction of electronic systems, the authors then introduce direct far-field and indirect far-field forms of antenna measurements and their various implementations. Detailed descriptions are given of the direct far-field measurement technique CATR (Compact Antenna Test Ranges), Body-Centric measurements, and detailed developments of standard planar, cylindrical, spherical and non-canonical near-field techniques; and includes a through treatment of near-field range error budgets which are an indispensable part of antenna metrology. The books conclude with recent advances in measurement techniques such as aperture diagnostics, phase-less antenna metrology, error correction, and range multi-path suppression techniques. Extensive examples illustrate the concepts and techniques covered. This second edition is thoroughly expanded and now includes new chapters on near-field to far-field transforms from non-canonical surfaces, electromagnetic modelling of CATRs and near-field antenna measurement systems. In addition, there is an expanded chapter on coordinate systems, polarization basis and antenna pattern plotting and new sections on more specialized topics such as 5G and Radome measurements.