Library Collections During Covid 19: Metals & Metallurgy

This issue from the topic series "Corrosion" contains articles published by Trans Tech Publications in 2017 - 2020. The volume covers many aspects of the corrosive behaviour of metallic biomaterials - from corrosion resistance studies to biocompatible coatings. We hope this collection will be useful and interesting to a broad audience of researchers and engineers from the area of development and research properties of metallic biomaterials and practitioners who utilize implantable and non-implantable devices.

This issue, titled of the book, from the topic series "Corrosion", contains articles published by Trans Tech Publications in 2017 - 2020. The volume presents a wide range of scientific research results and engineering solutions in the field of a study of corrosion properties and corrosion behaviour of materials and structures of tube and pipelines in the oil, gas, and energy industry; development of technologies and means for the protection of materials and pipe structures against the influence of corrosive environments. We hope this collection will be useful and interesting to a broad audience of researchers and engineers in various industry fields, such as the production and transport of oil and gas, energy, chemicals.

36 per cent nickel-iron alloy possesses a useful combination of low thermal expansion, moderately high strength and good toughness at temperatures down to that of liquid helium, -452 °F (-269 °C). These properties coupled with good weldability and desirable physical properties make this alloy attractive for many cryogenic applications.

Alloy IN-738 is a vacuum melted, vacuum cast, precipitation hardenable nickel-base alloy possessing excellent high temperature creep-rupture strength combined with hot corrosion resistance superior to that of many high-strength superalloys of lower chromium content. It is designed to provide the gas turbine industry with an alloy which will have good creep strength up to 1800°F combined with the ability to withstand long-time exposure to the hot corrosive environments associated with the engine.

Two versions of Alloy IN-738 are produced: a high carbon version designated IN-738C and a low carbon version designated IN-738LC. The data reported in this bulletin obtained primarily on high carbon (C) material. Where data are reported for the low carbon (LC) modification, they will be so indicated.

This publication describes for designers, manufacturers and consumers various practices for cleaning stainless steel before, during, and after fabrication. This includes methods for removing oxide scales resulting from hot-forming operations, thermal treatment, and welding and brazing; for removing free-iron contamination on stainless steel surfaces that may have been picked up from metalworking tools; for removing metal-forming lubricants and coolants; and for removing the general accumulation of dirt, grime, and surface stains that occur during normal storage, handling and fabrication.

Cold forming is one method used in the manufacture of stainless steel products, which is performed without the necessity of heating the work piece beyond the recrystallization temperature. Cold forming embraces several metalworking techniques, including brake forming or roll forming of sheet and strip, and heading, extrusion, or thread rolling of bar and wire.

This publication deals with the last three methods, with emphasis on cold heading.

Provides the latest AISI North American specifications for cold-formed steel design Hailed by professionals around the world as the definitive text on the design of cold-formed steel, this book provides descriptions of the construction and structural behavior of cold-formed steel members and connections from both theoretical and experimental points of view. Updated to reflect the 2016 AISI North American specification and 2015 North American framing standards, this all-new fifth edition offers readers a better understanding of the analysis and design of the thin-walled, cold-formed steel structures that have been widely used in building construction and other areas in recent years. Cold-Formed Steel Design, 5th Edition has been revised and reorganized to incorporate the Direct Strength Method. It discusses the reasons and justification for the various design provisions of the North American specification and framing design standards. It provides chapter coverage of: the types of steels and their most important mechanical properties; the fundamentals of buckling modes; commonly used terms; the design of flexural members, compression members and closed cylindrical tubes, and of beam-columns using ASD, LRFD, and LSD methods; shear diaphragms and shell roof structures; standard corrugated sheets; and more. Updated to the 2016 North American (AISI S100) design specification and 2015 North American (AISI S240) design standard Offers thorough coverage of ASD, LRFD, LSD, and DSM design methods Integrates DSM in the main body of design provisions Features a new section on Power-Actuated Fastener (PAF) Connections Provides new examples and explanations of design provisions Cold-Formed Steel Design, 5th Edition is not only instructive for students, but can serve as a major source of reference for structural engineers, researchers, architects, and construction managers.

Provides comprehensive coverage of corrosion inhibitors in the oil and gas industries Considering the high importance of corrosion inhibitor development for the oil and gas sectors, this book provides a thorough overview of the most recent advancements in this field. It systematically addresses corrosion inhibitors for various applications in the oil and gas value chain, as well as the fundamentals of corrosion inhibition and interference of inhibitors with co-additives. Corrosion Inhibitors in the Oil and Gas Industries is presented in three parts. The first part on Fundamentals and Approaches focuses on principles and processes in the oil and gas industry, the types of corrosion encountered and their control methods, environmental factors affecting inhibition, material selection strategies, and economic aspects of corrosion. The second part on Choice of Inhibitors examines corrosion inhibitors for acidizing processes, inhibitors for sweet and sour corrosion, inhibitors in refinery operations, high-temperature corrosion inhibitors, inhibitors for challenging corrosive environments, inhibitors for microbiologically influenced corrosion, polymeric inhibitors, vapor phase inhibitors, and smart controlled release inhibitor systems. The last part on Interaction with Co-additives looks at industrial co-additives and their interference with corrosion inhibitors such as antiscalants, hydrate inhibitors, and sulfide scavengers. -Presents a well-structured and systematic overview of the fundamentals and factors affecting corrosion -Acts as a handy reference tool for scientists and engineers working with corrosion inhibitors for the oil and gas industries -Collectively presents all the information available on the development and application of corrosion inhibitors for the oil and gas industries -Offers a unique and specific focus on the oil and gas industries Corrosion Inhibitors in the Oil and Gas Industries is an excellent resource for scientists in industry as well as in academia working in the field of corrosion protection for the oil and gas sectors, and will appeal to materials scientists, electrochemists, chemists, and chemical engineers.

Caustic soda (sodium hydroxide) is the most widely used and available alkaline material. Plant and laboratory tests and operating experience over many years have demonstrated that nickel and nickel alloys are the preferred materials for handling caustic solutions in many applications. Nickel can be used for practically all concentrations and temperatures.

In addition to caustic soda several other important alkalies are discussed in this bulletin. But no attempt has been made to be all-inclusive.

Nickel and high nickel alloys are among the few metallic materials having useful resistance to hydrochloric acid solutions.

This booklet provide nominal compositions of the nickel alloys which are corrosion resistance to Hydrochloric Acid, Hydrogen Chloride and Chlorine.