Library Collections During Covid 19: Oil & Gas Engineering

Introducing Tectonics, Rock Structures and Mountain Belts is written to explain the key concepts of tectonics and rock structures to students and to the interested non-specialist, especially those without a strong mathematical background. The study and understanding of geological structures has traditionally been guided by the rigorous application of mathematics and physics but, in this book, Graham Park has avoided mathematical equations altogether and has reduced the geometry to the minimum necessary. The application of plate tectonic theory has revolutionised structural geology by giving the study of rock structures a context in which they can be explained. Since the large-scale movements of the plates ultimately control smaller-scale structures, the study of tectonics is the key to understanding the latter. The reader is thus introduced to large-scale Earth structure and the theory of plate tectonics before dealing with geological structures such as faults and folds. Studies by structural geologists of the movement history of rock masses relative to each other, as revealed by the study of fault systems and shear zones, has helped to integrate rock structures with plate tectonics and this has been emphasised in the book. One of the most exciting aspects of geology is the study of the great mountain ranges, orogenic belts. The final three chapters of the book explain how knowledge of plate tectonic theory, geological structures and the processes of deformation may be employed to understand these orogenic belts. hilst excessive use of terminology is avoided, all technical terms are in a Glossary and, as with all books in this series, the text is illustrated profusely.

This book is for all engineers, project managers and operators, novice and experienced. It contains hazards identifications across the value stream, from the extraction of raw materials, to separation and transportation, to manufacturing of consumable products. It’s definitely not a comprehensive book on all hazards, but it serves as a kaleidoscope to look at a design from a different perspective. This book starts with some basic concepts and a bit of explanation of the fundamental engineering principles. Then go through the specific process designs, with lessons learned and subtle hazards.

Petroleum Engineer's Guide to Oil Field Chemicals and Fluids, Third Edition delivers all the necessary lists of chemicals by use, their basic components, benefits and environmental implications. Instead of searching through various sources, this updated reference presents a one-stop, non-commercialized approach by organizing products by function, matching the chemical to the process for practical problem-solving, and extending coverage with additional resources and supportive materials. Updates include shale specific fluids and organic additives, including swellable polymers and multi-walled carbon nanotubes. Covering the full spectrum, including fluid loss additives and oil spill treating agents, this book is ideal for every oil and gas operation with its options for lower costs, sustainable use and enhanced production.

Sustainable Materials for Oil and Gas Applications, a new release in the Advanced Materials and Sensors for the Oil and Gas Industry series, comprises a list of processes across the upstream and downstream sectors of the industry and the latest research on advanced nanomaterials. Topics include enhanced oil recovery mechanisms of nanofluids, health and safety features related to nanoparticle handling, and advanced materials for produced water treatments. Supplied from contributing experts in both academic and corporate backgrounds, the reference contains developments, applications, advantages and challenges. Located in one convenient resource, the book addresses real solutions as oil and gas companies try to lower emissions. As the oil and gas industry are shifting and implementing innovative ways to produce oil and gas in an environmentally friendly way, this resource is an ideal complement to their work.

Active Geophysical Monitoring, Second Edition, presents a key method for studying time-evolving structures and states in the tectonically active Earth's lithosphere. Based on repeated time-lapse observations and interpretation of rock-induced changes in geophysical fields periodically excited by controlled sources, active geophysical monitoring can be applied to a variety of fields in geophysics, from exploration, to seismology and disaster mitigation. This revised edition presents the results of strategic systematic development and the application of new technologies. It demonstrates the impact of active monitoring on solid Earth geophysics, also delving into key topics, such as carbon capture and storage, geodesy, and new technological tools. This book is an essential for graduate students, researchers and practitioners across geophysics.

Petroleum refining and the petrochemical industry play an important role in the current world economy. They provide the platform to convert basic raw materials into many essential products, ranging from transportation fuels (such as gasoline, jet fuel, diesel, and gas oil) to basic and intermediate materials for petrochemical industries and many other valuable chemical products. Advanced Catalysis Processes in Petrochemicals and Petroleum Refining: Emerging Research and Opportunities is an essential comprehensive research publication that provides knowledge on refining processes that could be integrated by the petrochemical industry and discusses how to integrate refining products with petrochemical industries through the use of new technologies. Featuring a range of topics such as biofuel production, environmental sustainability, and biorefineries, this book is ideal for engineers, chemists, industry professionals, policymakers, researchers, academicians, and petrochemical companies.

A thorough introduction to environmental monitoring in the oil and gas industry Analytical Techniques in the Oil and Gas Industry for Environmental Monitoring examines the analytical side of the oil and gas industry as it also provides an overall introduction to the industry. You'll discover how oil and natural gas are sourced, refined, and processed. You can learn about what's produced from oil and natural gas, and why evaluating these sourced resources is important. The book discusses the conventional analyses for oil and natural gas feeds, along with their limitations. It offers detailed descriptions of advanced analytical techniques that are commercially available, plus explanations of gas and oil industry equipment and instrumentation. You'll find technique descriptions supplemented with a list of references as well as with real-life application examples. With this book as a reference, you can prepare to apply specific analytical methods in your organization's lab environment. Analytical Techniques can also serve as your comprehensive resource on key techniques in the characterization of oil and gas samples, within both refinery and environmental contexts.  Understand of the scope of oil and gas industry techniques available Consider the benefits and limitations of each available process Prepare for applying analytical techniques in your lab See real examples and a list of references for each technique Read descriptions of off-line analytics, as well as on-line and process applications As a chemist, engineer, instructor, or student, this book will also expand your awareness of the role these techniques have in environmental monitoring and environmental impact assessments.

The recent development of advanced processing capabilities and higher yield power supplies means that Autonomous Underwater Vehicle (AUVs) are finding novel and increasingly advanced applications in research, military and commercial settings. This timely book provides a state-of-the-art overview of AUV design and practice. Focusing on the interplay between design and practice, it comprehensively covers control and navigation, communication and cooperation, and methodologies and applications where AUVs are used for education, research, biological and oceanographic studies, surveillance purposes, and military, security, and industrial tasks. The book covers key concepts for maritime engineers and navigation researchers and professionals, and is a useful reference for control and robotics researchers working on AUVs.