Library Collections During Covid 19: Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology

Provides clear and comprehensive coverage of recently developed applied biocatalysis for synthetic organic chemists with an emphasis to promote green chemistry in pharmaceutical and process chemistry This book aims to make biocatalysis more accessible to both academic and industrial synthetic organic chemists. It focuses on current topics within the applied industrial biocatalysis field and includes short but detailed experimental methods on timely novel biocatalytic transformations using new enzymes or new methodologies using known enzymes. The book also features reactions that are "expanding and making the enzyme toolbox available to chemists"--providing readers with comprehensive methodology and detailed key sourcing information of a wide range of enzymes. Chapters in Applied Biocatalysis: The Chemist's Enzyme Toolkit are organized by reaction type and feature a short introductory section describing the current state of the art for each example. Much of the book focuses on processes for which the enzymes are readily available so that organic chemists can synthesize appropriate quantities of chemicals with available materials in a standard chemical laboratory. Advanced methods are included to present examples of new enzymes that might encourage collaboration with suppliers or academic groups and that will educate chemists of rapidly expanding future possibilities. Focuses on current topics within the applied industrial biocatalysis field Offers experimental methods on novel biocatalytic transformations using new enzymes or new methodology using known enzymes Covers the hot topics of enzyme and chemoenzymatic cascades and biocatalysis in flow Edited by noted experts from both academia and industry with years of experience in the field of biocatalysis--particularly, the industrial applications of enzymes Written for synthetic organic chemists working in all industries but especially the pharmaceutical industry and for those in academia with an eye for biocatalysis, Applied Biocatalysis: The Chemist's Enzyme Toolkit will also benefit academic groups in chemistry and related sciences that are using enzymes for synthetic purposes, as well as those working in the area of enzymology and molecular biology.

Blockchain and machine learning technologies can mitigate healthcare issues such as slow access to medical data, poor system interoperability, lack of patient agency, and data quality and quantity for medical research. Blockchain technology facilitates and secures the storage of information in such a way that doctors can see a patient's entire medical history, but researchers see only statistical data instead of any personal information. Machine learning can make use of this data to notice patterns and give accurate predictions, providing more support for the patients and also in research related fields where there is a need for accurate data to predict credible results. This book examines the application of blockchain technology and machine learning algorithms in various healthcare settings, covering the basics of the technologies and exploring how they can be used to improve clinical outcomes and improving the patient's experience. These topics are illustrated with reference to issues around the supply chain, drug verification, reimbursement, control access and clinical trials. Case studies are given for applications in the analysis of breast cancer, hepatitis C, and COVID-19.

This edited book brings together research from laboratories across the world, in order to offer a global perspective on advances in prosthetic hand control. State-of-the-art control of prosthetics in the laboratory and clinical spaces are presented and the challenges discussed, and the effect of user training on control of prosthetics to evaluate the translational efficacy and value for the end-user is highlighted. The book begins with a chapter introducing the fundamental principles, engineering challenges and control solutions for prosthetic hands. Further chapters address methods to design bespoke sockets, magnetomyography, implantable technologies for closed-loop control of prostheses, direct neural control of prostheses via nerve implants as well as user-prosthesis co-adaptation, and two chapters on prosthetics for children. The book concludes with a chapter by Dr Nazarpour on the future of myoelectric prosthetics control, with particular focus on the successful translation of research advances into real clinical gains. The book is essential reading for anyone involved in research or undertaking advanced courses in prosthetic design and control. It provides an in-depth exploration of this rewarding topic, by exploring technologies with the potential to improve the quality of life of upper-limb prosthetic users.

This issue from the topic series "Corrosion" contains articles published by Trans Tech Publications in 2017 - 2020. The volume covers many aspects of the corrosive behaviour of metallic biomaterials - from corrosion resistance studies to biocompatible coatings. We hope this collection will be useful and interesting to a broad audience of researchers and engineers from the area of development and research properties of metallic biomaterials and practitioners who utilize implantable and non-implantable devices.

Unites a biological and a biotechnological perspective on cyanobacteria, and includes the industrial aspects and applications of cyanobacteria Cyanobacteria Biotechnology offers a guide to the interesting and useful features of cyanobacteria metabolism that keeps true to a biotechnology vision. In one volume the book brings together both biology and biotechnology to illuminate the core acpects and principles of cyanobacteria metabolism. Designed to offer a practical approach to the metabolic engineering of cyanobacteria, the book contains relevant examples of how this metabolic "module" is currently being engineered and how it could be engineered in the future. The author includes information on the requirements and real-world experiences of the industrial applications of cyanobacteria. This important book: Brings together biology and biotechnology in order to gain insight into the industrial relevant topic of cyanobacteria Introduces the key aspects of the metabolism of cyanobacteria Presents a grounded, practical approach to the metabolic engineering of cyanobacteria Offers an analysis of the requirements and experiences for industrial cyanobacteria Provides a framework for readers to design their own processes Written for biotechnologists, microbiologists, biologists, biochemists, Cyanobacteria Biotechnology provides a systematic and clear volume that brings together the biological and biotechnological perspective on cyanobacteria.

Presents nanobiotechnology in drug delivery and disease management  Featuring contributions from noted experts in the field, this book highlights recent advances in the nano-based drug delivery systems. It also covers the diagnosis and role of various nanomaterials in the management of infectious diseases and non-infectious disorders, such as cancers and other malignancies and their role in future medicine.   Nanobiotechnology in Diagnosis, Drug Delivery and Treatment starts by introducing how nanotechnology has revolutionized drug delivery, diagnosis, and treatments of diseases. It then focuses on the role of various nanocomposites in diagnosis, drug delivery, and treatment of diseases like cancer, Alzheimer's disease, diabetes, and many others. Next, it discusses the application of a variety of nanomaterials in the diagnosis and management of gastrointestinal tract disorders. The book explains the concept of nanotheranostics in detail and its role in effective monitoring of drug response, targeted drug delivery, enhanced drug accumulation in the target tissues, sustained as well as triggered release of drugs, and reduction in adverse effects. Other chapters cover aptamer-incorporated nanoparticle systems; magnetic nanoparticles; theranostics and vaccines; toxicological concerns of nanomaterials used in nanomedicine; and more.   Provides a concise overview of state-of-the-art nanomaterials and their application like drug delivery in infectious diseases and non-infectious disorders  Highlights recent advances in the nano-based drug delivery systems and role of various nanomaterials  Introduces nano-based sensors which detect various pathogens  Covers the use of nanodevices in diagnostics and theranostics   Nanobiotechnology in Diagnosis, Drug Delivery and Treatment is an ideal book for researchers and scientists working in various disciplines such as microbiology, biotechnology, nanotechnology, pharmaceutical biotechnology, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, and nanomedicine. 

Patient-Centered Digital Healthcare Technology explores the creative intersection of novel, emerging technologies and medicine. This convergence is transforming the landscape of healthcare with the overarching objectives of improving clinical outcomes and advocating wellness. The concept of encountering or treating a medical condition when it has already become disturbingly manifest is being replaced by earlier awareness, diagnosis, and proactive intervention enabled by technologies. This book features a range of innovations in health information systems and big data, artificial intelligence and machine learning, real-time home monitoring tools, smartphone apps, medical robotics and intelligent machines, virtual and augmented realities, genome sequencing, blockchain and gamification in healthcare. Intuitive digital health solutions motivate end-users to become active partners in their care, thus enhancing patient engagement and empowerment. This may perhaps lead to yet the most gratifying consequence of novel and emerging technologies: the democratization of healthcare. This book offers a valuable resource for healthcare providers, engineers, data and computer scientists, researchers, practitioners in academia, biomedical industry and multi-disciplinary clinical settings. Subjects include informatics, computing, networking, wireless and mobile applications, and robotic sensing that collectively improve healthcare access and delivery.

Advances in telemedicine technologies have offered clinicians greater levels of real-time guidance and technical assistance for diagnoses, monitoring, operations or interventions from colleagues based in remote locations. The topic includes the use of videoconferencing, mentorship during surgical procedures, or machine-to-machine communication to process data from one location by programmes running in another. This edited book presents a variety of technologies with applications in telemedicine, originating from the fields of biomedical sensors, wireless sensor networking, computer-aided diagnosis methods, signal and image processing and analysis, automation and control, virtual and augmented reality, multivariate analysis, and data acquisition devices. The Internet of Medical Things (IoMT), surgical robots, telemonitoring, and teleoperation systems are also explored, as well as the associated security and privacy concerns in this field. Topics covered include critical factors in the development, implementation and evaluation of telemedicine; surgical tele-mentoring; technologies in medical information processing; recent advances of signal/image processing techniques in healthcare; a real-time ECG processing platform for telemedicine applications; data mining in telemedicine; social work and tele-mental health services for rural and remote communities; applying telemedicine to social work practice and education; advanced telemedicine systems for remote healthcare monitoring; the impact of tone-mapping operators and viewing devices on visual quality of experience of colour and grey-scale HDR images; modelling the relationships between changes in EEG features and subjective quality of HDR images; IoMT and healthcare delivery in chronic diseases; and transform domain robust watermarking method using Riesz wavelet transform for medical data security and privacy.

Biointegration of Medical Implant Materials, Second Edition, provides a unique and comprehensive review of recent techniques and research into material and tissue interaction and integration. New sections discuss soft tissue integration, with chapters on the biocompatibility of engineered stem cells, corneal tissue engineering, and vascular grafts. Other sections review tissue regeneration, inorganic nanoparticles for targeted drug delivery, alginate based drug delivery devices, and design considerations, with coverage of the biocompatibility of materials and their relevance to drug delivery and tissue engineering. With its distinguished editor and team of international contributors, this book is ideal for medical materials scientists and engineers in industry and academia.

This book covers almost all of the diverse aspects of utilizing lignocellulosic biomass for valuable biorefinery product development of chemicals, alternative fuels and energy. The world has shifted towards sustainable development for the generation of energy and industrially valuable chemicals. Biorefinery plays an important role in the integration of conversion process with high-end equipment facilities for the generation of energy, fuels and chemicals. The book is divided into four parts. The first part, "Basic Principles of Biorefinery," covers the concept of biorefinery, its application in industrial bioprocessing, the utilization of biomass for biorefinery application, and its future prospects and economic performance. The second part, "Biorefinery for Production of Chemicals," covers the production of bioactive compounds, gallic acid, C4, C5, and C6 compounds, etc., from a variety of substrates. The third part, "Biorefinery for Production of Alternative Fuel and Energy," covers sustainable production of bioethanol, biodiesel, and biogas from different types of substrates. The last part of this book discusses sequential utilization of wheat straw, material balance, and biorefinery approach. The approaches presented in this book will help readers/users from different areas like process engineering and biochemistry to plan integrated and inventive methods to trim down the expenditure of the industrial manufacture process to accomplish cost-effective feasible products in biorefinery.