Library Collections During Covid 19: Environment & Environmental Engineering

The purpose of M71 Climate Action Plans is to provide a starting point for utility managers and planners tasked with climate change adaptation planning and developing climate action plans. This manual provides comprehensive global guidance providing the relevant information required to develop a Climate Action Plan (CAP). The manual provides step-by-step guidance to water utility managers to help them define the various concerns associated with the impacts of climate change on management of water supplies and infrastructure. This manual will help water utility managers: Gain a comprehensive understanding of the various threats to a water utility due to climate change Understand the importance of planning for the impacts of climate change for a more resilient water utility Comprehend the components of a CAP and understand why it is essential for management of water supplies and water infrastructure Recognize the steps necessary for preparing a meaningful CAP and keeping it current Identify tools for estimating the cost of a CAP and potential sources of funding M71 includes various case studies and adaptation measures that are helpful to water utility managers who are faced with the challenge of developing a CAP for their utility.

A comprehensive guide that offers a review of the current technologies that tackle CO2 emissions The race to reduce CO2 emissions continues to be an urgent global challenge. "Engineering Solutions for CO2 Conversion" offers a thorough guide to the most current technologies designed to mitigate CO2 emissions ranging from CO2 capture to CO2 utilization approaches. With contributions from an international panel representing a wide range of expertise, this book contains a multidisciplinary toolkit that covers the myriad aspects of CO2 conversion strategies. Comprehensive in scope, it explores the chemical, physical, engineering and economical facets of CO2 conversion. "Engineering Solutions for CO2 Conversion" explores a broad range of topics including linking CFD and process simulations, membranes technologies for efficient CO2 capture-conversion, biogas sweetening technologies, plasma-assisted conversion of CO2, and much more. This important resource: * Addresses a pressing concern of global environmental damage, caused by the greenhouse gases emissions from fossil fuels * Contains a review of the most current developments on the various aspects of CO2 capture and utilization strategies * Incldues information on chemical, physical, engineering and economical facets of CO2 capture and utilization * Offers in-depth insight into materials design, processing characterization, and computer modeling with respect to CO2 capture and conversion Written for catalytic chemists, electrochemists, process engineers, chemical engineers, chemists in industry, photochemists, environmental chemists, theoretical chemists, environmental officers, "Engineering Solutions for CO2 Conversion" provides the most current and expert information on the many aspects and challenges of CO2 conversion.

Environmental Noise and Management Selma Kurra, Istanbul Technical University and  dBKES Engineering Ltd, Turkey   A comprehensive overview of environmental noise pollution from the standpoint of environmental impact and control     Environmental noise is studied, regulated and monitored by many governments and institutions, as well as forming the basis for a number of different occupations due to the adverse effects of noise exposure. Environmental Noise and Management provides a comprehensive overview of environmental noise pollution. The book begins by covering the fundamentals of noise and acoustics, major noise sources and prediction and evaluation techniques.  Developments in noise measuring techniques, and mapping and improvement of legislation to control noise pollution are then discussed, and international regulations are presented.  Technological advances and recent developments regarding strategy and action plans are also covered in depth.   Key features: Summarizes the relevant international standards covering noise pollution and environmental engineering practice. Presents technological advances and recent developments regarding strategy and action plans. Covers developments in noise measuring techniques, prediction models, mapping and improvement of legislation to control noise pollution.   Environmental Noise and Management is a comprehensive resource for researchers and graduate students who are involved in noise pollution from the standpoint of environmental impact and control.  

A thorough introduction to environmental monitoring in the oil and gas industry Analytical Techniques in the Oil and Gas Industry for Environmental Monitoring examines the analytical side of the oil and gas industry as it also provides an overall introduction to the industry. You'll discover how oil and natural gas are sourced, refined, and processed. You can learn about what's produced from oil and natural gas, and why evaluating these sourced resources is important. The book discusses the conventional analyses for oil and natural gas feeds, along with their limitations. It offers detailed descriptions of advanced analytical techniques that are commercially available, plus explanations of gas and oil industry equipment and instrumentation. You'll find technique descriptions supplemented with a list of references as well as with real-life application examples. With this book as a reference, you can prepare to apply specific analytical methods in your organization's lab environment. Analytical Techniques can also serve as your comprehensive resource on key techniques in the characterization of oil and gas samples, within both refinery and environmental contexts.  Understand of the scope of oil and gas industry techniques available Consider the benefits and limitations of each available process Prepare for applying analytical techniques in your lab See real examples and a list of references for each technique Read descriptions of off-line analytics, as well as on-line and process applications As a chemist, engineer, instructor, or student, this book will also expand your awareness of the role these techniques have in environmental monitoring and environmental impact assessments.

Provides an engaging and clearly structured source of information on the capture and storage of CO2 Designed to bridge the gap between the many disciplines involved in carbon dioxide emission management, this book provides a comprehensive yet easy-to-understand introduction to the subject of CO2 capture. Fit for graduate students, practicing process engineers, and others interested in the subject, it offers a clear understanding and overview of thermal power plants in particular and of carbon dioxide capture and storage (CCS) in general. Carbon Dioxide Emission Management in Power Generation starts with a discussion of the greenhouse effect, climate change, and CO2 emissions as the rationale for the concept of CCS. It then looks at the long-term storage of CO2. A chapter covering different fossil fuels, their usage, and properties comes next, followed by sections on: CO2 generation, usage and properties; power plant technologies; theory of gas separation; power plant efficiency calculations; and classification of CO2 capture methods. Other chapters examine: CO2 capture by gas absorption and other gas separation methods; removing carbon from the fuel; pre- and post-combustion CO2 capture in power cycles; and oxy-combustion CO2 capture in power cycles. -Discusses both CO2 capture technologies as well as power generation technologies -Bridges the gap between many different disciplines?from scientists, geologists and engineers, to economists -One of the few books that covers all the different sciences involved in the capture and storage of CO2 -Introduces the topic and provides useful information to the academic as well as professional reader Carbon Dioxide Emission Management in Power Generation is an excellent book for students who are interested in CO2 capture and storage, as well as for chemists in industry, environmental chemists, chemical engineers, geochemists, and geologists.

This book is aimed at companies, researchers, consultants, consumers, students and any interested public interested in the subject, the reflections and practices of the circular economy. As part of the draft law on the circular economy in France, the authors (researchers and experts) analyze the data and the reflections and base their arguments on real examples in order to propose solutions and recommendations for a green economy. It gives an updated overview of the reflections and practices around the circular economy. The book is divided into three parts: - The company and its functions, innovative business models - The institutional, legislative and normative framework - Some sectors of activity with the prism of the circular economy

Contaminants of Emerging Concern in Water and Wastewater: Advanced Treatment Processes presents the state-of-the-art in the design and use of adsorbents, membranes, and UV/oxidation processes, along with the challenges that will need to be addressed to close the gap between development and implementation in water/wastewater treatment applications. Chapters cover adsorbent and membrane design and performance, direct comparison of performance data between new (inorganic and metal organic nanoporous materials) and classic adsorbents and membranes, a list of advantages, disadvantages, and challenges related to performance limitations, regenerability, and upscaling. In addition, users will find sections on the identification of potential site and off-site applications that are listed according to adsorbent and membrane types, transformation of CECs in low- and/or medium-pressure UV irradiation processes used for disinfection, the oxidation of CECs by chlorine and ozone, and a comparison of advanced oxidation processes for the treatment of a variety of CECs in water and wastewater.

A major issue that has remained prevalent in today's modern world has been the presence of chemicals within water sources that the public uses for drinking. The associated health risks that accompany these contaminants are unknown but have sparked serious concern and emotive arguments among the global community. Empirical research is a necessity to further understand these contaminants and the effects they have on the environment. Effects of Emerging Chemical Contaminants on Water Resources and Environmental Health is a pivotal reference source that provides vital research on current issues regarding the occurrence, toxicology, and abatement of emerging contaminants in water sources. While highlighting topics such as remediation techniques, pollution minimization, and technological developments, this publication explores sample preparation and detection of these chemical contaminants as well as policy and legislative issues related to public health. This book is ideally designed for environmental engineers, biologists, health scientists, researchers, students, and professors seeking further research on the latest developments in the detection of water contaminants.

"This manual presents the history and general application of elastomers in waterworks pipes, valves, and fittings. The principles used for evaluating, selecting, testing, and maintaining various seals will be presented"--

The book is a comprehensive deep-dive into the developments and advancements of emerging carbon-based nanocomposites for wastewater applications. Science and technology development are tackling one of the world's most pressing concerns--water contamination and effective treatment. Carbon-based nanocomposites have emerged as one of the leading materials in this treatment push because of their properties and high ability for the catalytic degradation of contaminants from aqueous segments. The 10 chapters in this timely book cover the follows areas: Carbon-based nanocomposites for remediation of heavy metals and organic pollutants from wastewater Functional green carbon nanocomposites for heavy-metal treatment in water Green nanocomposites and applications in environmentally-friendly carbon nanomaterials Carbon-based nanocomposites as heterogeneous catalysts for organic reactions in environment-friendly solvents Carbon-based polymer nanocomposite applications Biochar-based adsorbents for the removal of organic pollutants from aqueous systems Carbon nanomaterial-based green nanocomposites The removal of trihalomethanes from water using nanofiltration membranes Nanocomposite materials as electrode materials in microbial fuel cells for the removal of water pollutants Plasmonic smart nanosensors for the determination of environmental pollutants.