Library Collections During Covid 19: Food Science

Databook of Antioxidants is divided into five sections covering general information, physical properties, health and safety considerations, ecological properties and the use and performance of each featured antioxidant. A general information section includes CAS #, common name/synonym, acronym, chemical category, moisture content, and more. The physical properties section features data on state, odor, color (Gardner and Platinum-cobalt scales), acid number, ash contents, and other characteristics. The health and safety section displays data on flashpoint, autoignition temperatures, explosive LEL and UEL, NFPA flammability and reactivity, ingestion, first aid, and beyond. The ecological properties portion of the book contains data on biodegradation probability, aquatic toxicity LC50, and partition coefficients, and the book concludes with a chapter on use and performance considerations with information on manufacturer, outstanding properties, typical applications, recommended dosage, concentration used, food approval, and more. This book is an excellent companion to the Handbook of Antioxidants which has also been published recently. Both books supplement each other without repeating the same information - one contains data another theory, mechanisms of action, practical effects and implications of application.

Handbook of Antioxidants provides a wealth of information on the mechanics, practical effects and applications of a wide range of antioxidants. The book starts by introducing the general concepts relating to antioxidants and their application, then segues into a discussion on existing natural and synthetic antioxidants, characterizing their general properties and application. Formation and action of oxidizing species in living organisms, ambient air, industrial environments, and chemical reactions are covered next. Subsequent chapters cover the theories and mechanisms of stabilization, performance indicators, antioxidant selection, degradation and stabilization of different polymers and rubbers, specific effects on other components of formulation, and analytical methods. This book is an excellent companion to the Databook of Antioxidants which has also been published recently. Both books supplement each other without repeating the same information - one contains data another theory, mechanisms of action, practical effects and implications of application.

A comprehensive guide that covers the banana's full value chain - from production to consumption   The banana is the world's fourth major fruit crop. Offering a unique and in-depth overview of the fruit's entire value chain, this important new handbook charts its progression from production through to harvest, postharvest, processing, and consumption. The most up-to-date data and best practices are drawn together to present guidelines on innovative storage, processing, and packaging technologies, while fresh approaches to quality management and the value-added utilization of banana byproducts are also explained. Additionally, the book examines the banana's physiology, nutritional significance, and potential diseases and pests. The book also    Edited by noted experts in the field of food science, this essential text:   Provides a new examination of the world's fourth major fruit crop   Covers the fruit's entire value chain   Offers dedicated chapters on bioactive and phytochemical compounds found in bananas and the potential of processing byproducts   Gives insight into bananas' antioxidant content and other nutritional properties   Identifies and explains present and possible effects of bioactive and phytochemical compounds  Handbook of Banana Production, Postharvest Science, Processing Technology, and Nutrition offers the most far-reaching overview of the banana currently available. It will be of great benefit to food industry professionals specializing in fruit processing, packaging, and manufacturing banana-based products. The book is also an excellent resource for those studying or researching food technology, food science, food engineering, food packaging, applied nutrition,  biotechnology, and more.  

Over the past several years, extensive research has been done on the microbial production of polyunsaturated fatty acids (PUFA).  Regardless, research on the oleaginous microalgae used as feedstock for biofuels production and the overall story about the production of nutraceutical fatty acids from oleaginous microalgae has been very limited. This volume provides an exclusive insight on the production of nutraceutical fatty acids from oleaginous microalgae and their role on human health. Some saturated and monounsaturated fatty acids can be synthesized by humans, whereas long-chain polyunsaturated fatty acids (PUFAs) such as α-linolenic acid and linoleic acid cannot and are deemed essential. The products of these acids, such as DHA, which is important for early visual and neurological development, are extremely important to human health. Replacing SFAs with omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids in the diet reduce the risk of cardiovascular diseases and prevent Alzheimer's, bipolar disorder, and schizophrenia, among other benefits. The ever-rising global demand for omega-3 & 6 PUFAs, however, cannot be met solely by fish oil, due to diminishing fish stocks and pollution of marine ecosystems, which has led to increased interest in alternative sustainable sources. Vegetable oils from genetically engineered plant oilseeds and microorganisms are two potential alternatives to fish oil, even though omega-3 PUFAs are highest in the latter.  Although transgenic plants present numerous advantages, their production is dependent on seasonal and climatic conditions and the availability of arable land. Moreover, there are public concerns regarding the cultivation of transgenic crops in open ecosystems. These, together with regulatory issues restrict the large-scale production of genetically modified crops. Microorganisms, however, are known natural producers of microbial oils similar to those obtained from plants and animals and a possible source of nutritionally important omega-3 & 6 PUFAs. This groundbreaking volume presents invaluable new research on essential fatty acids, their production from various oleaginous microorganisms, biochemical and metabolic engineering to improve PUFAs content in oil, extraction and purification of omega 3 fatty acids, and the current market scenario. Whether a veteran engineer or scientist using it as a reference or a professor using it as a textbook, this outstanding new volume is a must-have for any engineer or scientist working in food science.

In recent years, professionals have combined nutrition, health, and engineering sciences to develop new technologies within the food industry. As we are beginning to shift focus on how we view the health benefits of various food products, perseveration and processing techniques have become much more vital. New developments regarding how we store and preserve food are emerging rapidly, making it necessary for research to be done that studies the latest scientific improvements and contemporary methods of food processing. Technological Developments in Food Preservation, Processing, and Storage is a collection of innovative research on the latest developments and advancements of preservation technologies and storage methods within the food processing industry. While highlighting topics including nutritional supplements, microfiltration, and thermal technology, this book is ideally designed for biologists, nutrition scientists, health professionals, engineers, government officials, policymakers, food service professionals, industry practitioners, researchers, academicians, and students.

A new study of the challenges presented by manufacturing bakery products in a health-conscious world The impact of bakery products upon human nutrition is an increasingly pressing concern among consumers and manufacturers alike. With obesity and other diet-related conditions on the rise, the levels of salt, fat, and sugar found in many baked goods can no longer be overlooked. Those working in the baking industry are consequently turning more and more to science and technology to provide routes toward healthier alternatives to classic cake, bread, and pastry recipes.         With Baking Technology and Nutrition, renowned food scientist Stanley P. Cauvain and co-author Rosie H. Clark present an innovative and much-needed study of the changes taking place in the world of baking. Their discussion focuses on the new avenues open to bakers looking to improve the nutritional value of their products and encompasses all related issues, from consumer preferences to the effects of nutritional enhancement upon shelf-life. Featuring an abundance of new research and insights into the possible future of modern baking, this unique text: Offers practical guidance on developing, delivering, and promoting high-nutrition bakery products Discusses reducing ingredients such as salt, fat, and sugar for improved nutrition while preserving quality and consumer acceptability Explores how wheat-based products can be ideal vehicles for improving the nutrition of major sectors of populations Suggests real-world solutions to problems rising from poorly defined quality guidelines and inadequate dialogue between bakers and nutritionists Baking Technology and Nutrition is an indispensable and timely resourcefor technologists, manufacturers, healthcare practitioners, or anyone else working in today's food and nutrition industries. 

Biscuit, Cookie, and Cracker Production: Process, Production, and Packaging Equipment is a practical reference that brings a complete description of the process and equipment necessary for automated food production in the food/biscuit industry. The book describes the existing and emerging technologies in biscuit making and production, bringing a valuable asset to R&D personnel and students in food technology and engineering areas. Full of clear illustrations, photos and text describing types of biscuits, cookies and crackers, ingredients, test bakery equipment, dough piece forming, biscuit baking ovens, biscuit cooling and handling, and processing and packaging, this book presents a timely resource on the topic.

Carbohydrate Chemistry for Food Scientists, Third Edition, is a complete update of the critically acclaimed authoritative carbohydrate reference for food scientists. The new edition is fully revised, expanded and redesigned as an easy-to-read resource for students and professionals who need to understand this specialized area. The new edition provides practical information on the specific uses of carbohydrates, the functionalities delivered by specific carbohydrates, and the process for choosing carbohydrate ingredients for specific product applications. Readers will learn basic and specific applications of food carbohydrate organic and physical chemistry through clearly explained presentations of mono-, oligo-, and polysaccharides and their chemistry. This new edition includes expanded sections on Maillard browning reaction, dietary fiber, fat mimetics, and polyols, in addition to discussions of physical properties, imparted functionalities, and actual applications. Carbohydrate Chemistry for Food Scientists serves as an invaluable resource on the chemistry of food carbohydrates for advanced undergraduate and graduate students, and a concise, user-friendly, applied reference book for food science professionals.

The past decade has seen much new research into determining which carbohydrates and phytochemicals are present in grains, and how to make these nutritionally available. This book covers the chemical composition of cereal grains, with special emphasis on new techniques to improve their functionality. Including topics such as the composition and functionality of oligosaccharides and sugars, polysaccharide types, and the role and definition of dietary fibre, this title provides researchers, clinicians and students with a comprehensive compendium on aspects of whole grain components.

Interest in cereals and other healthy grains has increased considerably in recent years, driving the cereal processing industry to develop new processing technologies that meet consumer demands for sustainable and nutritious cereal products. Innovative Processing Technologies for Healthy Grains is the first dedicated reference to focus on advances in cereal processing and bio-refinery of cereals and pseudocereals, presenting a broad overview of all aspects of both conventional and novel processing techniques and methods.  Featuring contributions from leading researchers and academics, this unique volume examines the selection and characteristics of raw ingredients, new and emerging processing technologies, novel cereal-based products, and global trends in cereal and pseudocereal use, processing and consumption. The text offers balanced coverage of advances in both the development and processing of cereal and pseudocereal products, exploring topics including gluten-free products, cereal-based animal feed, health and wellness trends in healthy grain consumption, bioaccessibility and bioavailability of nutritional compounds, gluten-free products, and the environmental impact of processed healthy grains. This timely and comprehensive volume:  Focuses on innovative cereal processing and bio-refinery of cereals and pseudocereals  Provides informed perspectives on the current global trends in cereal and pseudocereal use, processing and consumption  Describes the characteristics of healthy grains and their production, nutritional value, and utilization  Explains the origin, production, processing, and functional ingredients of pseudocereals  Reviews healthy grain products such as cereal-based beverages, fortified grain-based products, and cereal-based products with bioactive benefits  Part of Wiley''s IFST Advances in Food Science series  Innovative Processing Technologies for Healthy Grains is an essential resource for food scientists, technologists, researchers, and other professionals working in the grain industry, and academics and advanced students of food technology and food science.