It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AGRICULTURAL WASTE MANAGEMENT AND UTILIZATION ENGINEERING (PDT 478/3)
Wastewater Engineering: Treatment and Reuse,4/e is a thorough update of McGraw-Hill's authoritative book on wastewater treatment. No environmental engineering professional or civil or and environmental engineering major should be without a copy of this book- tt describes the technological and regulatory changes that have occurred over the last ten years in this discipline, including: improved techniques for the characterization of wastewaters; improved fundamental understanding of many of the existing unit operations and processes used for wastewater treatment, especially those processes used for the biological removal of nutrients; greater implementation of several newer treatment technologies (e.g., UV disinfection, membrane filtration, and heat drying); greater concern for the long term health and environmental impacts of wastewater constituents; greater emphasis on advanced wastewater treatment and risk assessment for water reuse applications; changes in regulations and the development of new technologies for wastewater disinfection; and new regulations governing the treatment, reuse, and disposal of sludge (biosolids).Greater concern for infrastructure renewal including upgrading the design and performance of wastewater treatment plants. This revision contains a strong focus on advanced wastewater treatment technologies and stresses the reuse aspects of wastewater and biosolids.
Following on from the successful first edition of Waste Treatment & Disposal, this second edition has been completely updated, and provides comprehensive coverage of waste process engineering and disposal methodologies. Concentrating on the range of technologies available for household and commercial waste, it also presents readers with relevant legislative background material as boxed features. NEW to this edition: Increased coverage of re-use and recycling Updating of the usage of different waste treatment technologies Increased coverage of new and emerging technologies for waste treatment and disposal A broader global perspective with a focus on comparative international material on waste treatment uptake and waste management policies
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
A best-seller in the field of water and wastewater engineering and technology, this book provides the fundamental principles and management practices in water technology. All major systems and operations are covered concisely yet comprehensively.Topics include: water processing, water distribution, wastewater collection, wastewater treatment, sludge processing, and water reuse. Introductory chapters provide a review of pertinent aspects of chemistry, biology, hydraulics and hydrology, and water quality.For those individuals in the field of sanitary technology and engineering as well as those interested in the operation and maintenance of water and wastewater facilities.
"Comprehensive coverage of the fundamental principles and current management practices in water processing, water distribution, wastewater collection, conventional and advanced wastewater treatment, sludge processing, and water reuse is presented in the text. Necessary background information is provided to readers interested in continued study of environmental technology and in operation and maintenance of water and wastewater facilities. Mathematical analyses are clearly presented, as necessary, to accommodate a broad range of reader backgrounds."--BOOK JACKET.
The new seventh edition ofWater and WastewaterTechnologycontinues its tradition of coverage water processing principles and modern management practices, but now integrates a new emphasis on sustainability throughout. Comprehensive coverage of topics such as: Water processing Water distribution Wastewater collection Conventional and advanced wastewater treatment Sludge processing
The new edition of a classic reference incorporating the latest findings and discoveries The Third Edition of this classic reference provides readers with concise, up-to-the-moment coverage of the role of microorganisms in water and wastewater treatment. By providing a solid foundation in microbiology, microbial growth, metabolism, and nutrient cycling, the text gives readers the tools they need to make critical decisions that affect public health, as well as the practical aspects of treatment, disinfection, water distribution, bioremediation, and water and wastewater reuse. The publication begins a discussion of microbiology principles, followed by a discussion of public health issues and concerns. Next, the core of the text is dedicated to a thorough examination of wastewater and drinking water treatment, biosolids, pollution-control biotechnology, and drinking water distribution. The remainder of the text discusses toxicity testing in wastewater treatment plants, and the public health aspects of wastewater disposal and reuse. The many advances in wastewater and drinking water microbiology have all been thoroughly integrated into the publication, including: * A new chapter on bioterrorism and drinking water safety * The latest developments in biofilm microbial ecology and biofilm impact on drinking water quality * New, state-of-the-art detection techniques * Expanded and revised treatment of toxicity testing, including new testing methods and studies on endocrine disrupters in wastewater * Alternatives to conventional wastewater treatment New problem sets, which test readers' knowledge, as well as a list of Internet resources have been added to each chapter. In addition, the publication's extensive references have been thoroughly revised for readers who would like to learn more about the latest findings and discoveries on specialized topics. Finally, the color plate section has been expanded and contains many new illustrations and tables. An authoritative guide for all researchers, administrators, and engineers in the field of microbiology, Wastewater Microbiology, Third Edition is also a valuable reference for civil and environmental engineers, public health officials, and students involved in environmental engineering and science.