Institute of Nano Electronic Engineering: Nano Biochip Research Group

Nanosensors are rapidly becoming a technology of choice across diverse fields. They offer effective and affordable options for detecting and measuring chemical and physical properties in difficult-to-reach biological and industrial systems operating at the nanoscale. However, with nanosensor development occurring in so many fields, it has become difficult to stay current with the latest research and emerging applications. NANOSENSORS: Theory and Applications in Industry, Healthcare and Defense answers the need for a comprehensive resource on advances in this area. Dr. Teik-Cheng Lim, a highly regarded expert in novel materials and nanosensors crosses disciplines to bring together 17 pioneering experts who address the fundamental principles of nanosensors and their diverse applications. Serving to stimulate a convergence of information across otherwise isolated disciplines, this volume covers -- Carbon-nanotube (CNT)-based sensors and their uses with a range of analytes, including gaseous molecules, organic charge transfer complexes, proteins, DNA, and antibodies CNT-based fluidic sensors for studying the shear stress of blood vessels and cells, useful in diagnosing many diseases Nanomechanical cantilever sensors, which offer low cost, fast response, and high specificity without the need for pre-analysis labeling Layer-by-layer (LbL) self-assembly and the Langmuir- Blodgett (LB) technique, highly efficient approaches when working with expensive biological compounds Fluorescence resonance energy for intracellular glucose monitoring Noble metal nanoparticles with their unique optical properties as colorimetric probes for biological analysis Optical capillary sensors as an affordable tool for classifying liquid samples Nanosensors in bioinformatics and their role in a much needed systems approach to healthcare With so much activity occurring in so many fields, further progress in the area of nanosensors is certain. Through the convergence of findings across many fields, as exemplified by this book, that progress can be accelerated.

Synergy is the key to creating more intelligent biosensors. Engineers develop smaller, more integrated technologies; biologists and chemists develop increasingly selective and sensitive sensor elements; material scientists develop ways to bring it all together. However, most books focus only on the chemistry aspects of biosensor technologies. With a multidisciplinary perspective, Smart Biosensor Technology examines the design, applications, and future directions of this rapidly evolving field. This book collects contributions from leading specialists in a variety of scientific and engineering disciplines involved in different aspects of biosensor design and technology. Five broad sections provide a systematic structure that builds progressively from key concepts to emerging technologies and future directions. Following an introduction to the fundamental characteristics and functions of the underlying technologies, two sections explore the role materials play in developing smart biosensors. Next, the editors devote an entire section to bioelectronics with a focus on a biophotonic material called bacteriorhodopsin and its application to photoelectric biosensing, chemical sensing, and color imaging. They also present design and fabrication of new bioelectronic sensing arrays on flexible substrates. The final section explores a variety of smart biosensor applications in detecting food pathogens, monitoring toxicity, and detecting allergens and viruses. Building a solid background in the underlying technologies and demonstrating how to apply this knowledge to solve real problems, Smart Biosensor Technology is a comprehensive, interdisciplinary guide to extending the capabilities of biosensors for a broad range of fields.. Next, the editors devote an entire section to bioelectronics with a focus on a biophotonic material called bacteriorhodopsin and its application to photoelectric biosensing, chemical sensing, and color imaging. They also present design and fabrication of new bioelectronic sensing arrays on flexible substrates. The final section explores a variety of smart biosensor applications in detecting food pathogens, monitoring toxicity, and detecting allergens and viruses. Building a solid background in the underlying technologies and demonstrating how to apply this knowledge to solve real problems, Smart Biosensor Technology is a comprehensive, interdisciplinary guide to extending the capabilities of biosensors for a broad range of fields.

Nanotechnology and Biosensors shows how nanotechnology is used to create affordable, mass-produced, portable, small sized biosensors to directly monitor environmental pollutants. In addition, it provides information on their integration into components and systems for mass market applications in food analysis, environmental monitoring and health diagnostics. Nanotechnology has led to a dramatic improvement in the performance, sensitivity and selectivity of biosensors. As metal-oxide and carbon nanostructures, gold and magnetite nanoparticles, and the integration of dendrimers in biosensors using nanotechnology have contributed greatly in making biosensors more effective and affordable on a mass-market level, this book presents a timely resource on the topic. Highlights nanotechnology-based approaches to the detection of enzyme inhibitors, direct enzymatic and microbial detection of metabolites, and nutrients using biosensors Includes examples on how nanotechnology has lead to improvements in the construction of portable, selective and sensitive biosensing devices Offers thorough coverage of biomarker/biosensor interaction for the rapid detection of toxicants and pollutants

Biosensors are essential to an ever-expanding range of applications, including healthcare; drug design; detection of biological, chemical, and toxic agents; environmental monitoring; biotechnology; aviation; physics; oceanography; and the protection of civilian and engineering infrastructures. This book, like the previous five books on biosensors by this author (and one by the co-author), addresses the neglected areas of analyte-receptor binding and dissociation kinetics occurring on biosensor surfaces. Topics are covered in a comprehensive fashion, with homogeneous presentation for the benefit of the reader. The contributors address the economic aspects of biosensors and incorporate coverage of biosensor fabrication and nanobiosensors, among other topics. The comments, comparison, and discussion presented provides a better perspective of where the field of biosensors is heading. Serves as a comprehensive resource on biosensor analysis Examines timely topics such as biosensor fabrication and nanobiosensors Covers economic aspects and medical applications (e.g., the role of analytes in controlling diabetes)

The Encyclopedia of Nanotechnology provides a comprehensive and multi-disciplinary reference to the many fields relevant to the general field of nanotechnology. It aims to be a comprehensive and genuinely international reference work and will be aimed at graduate students, researchers, and practitioners. The Encyclopedia of Nanotechnology introduces a large number of terms, devices and processes which are related to the multi-disciplinary field of Nanotechnology. For each entry in this 4 volume set a 4-10 page description is provided by an expert in the field. Contributions are made by experts from the US, Europe and Asia, making this a comprehensive and truly international Reference Work. The authors are typically from academia, however one quarter of all entries were written by persons from industry. Topics covered in the Reference Work include: - Nano- Microfabrication Processes and Materials for Fabrication - Nanoscale Measurement Techniques