Mathematics for Engineering Technology III (PQT213/3)

This market leading text is known for its comprehensive coverage, careful and correct mathematics, outstanding exercises and self contained subject matter parts for maximum flexibility. Thoroughly updated and streamlined to reflect new developments in the field, the ninth edition of this bestselling text features modern engineering applications and the uses of technology. Kreyszig introduces engineers and computer scientists to advanced math topics as they relate to practical problems. The material is arranged into seven independent parts: ODE; Linear Algebra, Vector Calculus; Fourier Analysis and Partial Differential Equations; Complex Analysis; Numerical methods; Optimization, graphs; and Probability and Statistics.

Through previous editions, Peter O'Neil has made rigorous engineering mathematics topics accessible to thousands of students by emphasizing visuals, numerous examples, and interesting mathematical models. Now, ADVANCED ENGINEERING MATHEMATICS features revised examples and problems as well as newly added content that has been fine-tuned throughout to improve the clear flow of ideas. The computer plays a more prominent role than ever in generating computer graphics used to display concepts and problem sets. In this new edition, computational assistance in the form of a self contained Maple Primer has been included to encourage students to make use of such computational tools. The content has been reorganized into six parts and covers a wide spectrum of topics including Ordinary Differential Equations, Vectors and Linear Algebra, Systems of Differential Equations and Qualitative Methods, Vector Analysis, Fourier Analysis, Orthogonal Expansions, and Wavelets, and much more.

A groundbreaking and comprehensive reference with over 500,000 copies sold since it first debuted in 1970, the new sixth edition of Engineering Mathematics has been thoroughly revised and expanded. An interactive Personal Tutor CD-ROM is included with every book. Providing a broad mathematical survey, this innovative volume covers a full range of topics from the very basic to the advanced. Whether you're an engineer looking for a useful on-the-job reference or want to improve your mathematical skills, or you are a student who needs an in-depth self-study guide, Engineering Mathematics is sure to come in handy time and time again. Offers a unique programmed approach that takes users through the mathematics in a step-by-step fashion with a wealth of worked examples and exercises. Contains Quizzes, Learning Outcomes and Can You? Checklists that guide readers through each topic and focus understanding. Ideal as reference or a self-learning manual. Extra Bonus! Visit Personal Tutor Online at www.palgrave.com/stroud, the companion website maintained by this book's British publisher, where you'll find hundreds of interactive practice questions and engineering applications questions putting the mathematics in context.

Engineering Mathematics is a comprehensive textbook for vocational courses and foundation modules at degree level. John Bird's approach, based on numerous worked examples supported by problems, is ideal for students of a wide range of abilities, and can be worked through at the student's own pace. Theory is kept to a minimum, placing a firm emphasis on problem-solving skills, and making this a thoroughly practical introduction to the core mathematics needed for engineering studies and practice. The book presents a logical topic progression, rather than following the structure of a particular syllabus. However, coverage has been carefully matched to the two mathematics units within the new BTEC National specifications, and AVCE specifications. New sections on Boolean algebra, logic circuits matrices and determinants have been added to ensure full syllabus match. Includes: 900 worked examples, 1700 further problems, 234 multiple choice questions (answers provided), and 16 assessment papers - ideal for use as tests or homework. These are the only problems where answers are not provided in the book.

A revision of the market leader, Kreyszig is known for its comprehensive coverage, careful and correct mathematics, outstanding exercises, helpful worked examples, and self-contained subject-matter parts for maximum teaching flexibility. The new edition provides invitations - not requirements - to use technology, as well as new conceptual problems, and new projects that focus on writing and working in teams.