It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The demand for functional foods and neutraceuticals is on the rise, leaving product development companies racing to improve bioactive compound extraction methods – a key component of functional foods and neutraceuticals development. From established processes such as steam distillation to emerging techniques like supercritical fluid technology, Extracting Bioactive Compounds for Food Products: Theory and Applicationsdetails the engineering aspects of the processes used to extract bioactive compounds from their food sources. Covers Bioactive Compounds Found in Foods, Cosmetics, and Pharmaceuticals Each well-developed chapter provides the fundamentals of transport phenomena and thermodynamics as they relate to the process described, a state-of-the-art literature review, and replicable case studies of extraction processes. This authoritative reference examines a variety of established and groundbreaking extraction processes including: Steam distillation Low-pressure solvent extraction Liquid-liquid extraction Supercritical and pressurized fluid extraction Adsorption and desorption The acute view of thermodynamic, mass transfer, and economical engineering provided in this book builds a foundation in the processes used to obtain high-quality bioactive extracts and purified compounds. Going beyond the information traditionally found in unit operations reference books, Extracting Bioactive Compounds for Food Products: Theory and Applications demonstrates how to successfully optimize bioactive compound extraction methods and use them to create new and better natural food options.
This brand new comprehensive text and reference book is designed to cover all the essential elements of food science and technology, including all core aspects of major food science and technology degree programs being taught worldwide. Food Science and Technology , supported by the International Union of Food Science and Technology comprises 21 chapters, carefully written in a user-friendly style by 30 eminent industry experts, teachers and researchers from across the world. All authors are recognised experts in their respective fields, and together represent some of the world’s leading universities and international food science and technology organisations. Expertly drawn together, produced and edited, Food Science and Technology provides the following: Coverage of all the elements of food science and technology degree programs internationally Essential information for all professionals in the food industry worldwide Chapters written by authoritative, internationally respected contributing authors A must-have reference book for libraries in every university, food science and technology research institute, and food company globally Additional resources published on the book′s web site: www.wiley.com/go/campbellplatt About IUFoST The International Union of Food Science and Technology (IUFoST) is a country-membership organisation representing some 65 member countries, and around 200,000 food scientists and technologists worldwide. IUFoST is the global voice of food science and technology, dedicated to promoting the sharing of knowledge and good practice in food science and technology internationally. IUFoST organises World Congresses of Food Science and Technology, and has established the International Academy of Food Science and Technology (IAFoST) to which eminent food scientists can be elected by peer review. For further information about IUFoST and its activities, visit: www.iufost.org
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Written for the upper level undergraduate, Fundamentals of Food Process Engineering is also a solid reference for the graduate food engineering student and professional. The new edition of this classic text features the addition of sections on freezing, pumps, the use of chemical reaction kinetic date for thermal process optimization, and vacuum belt drying. New sections on accurate temperature measurements, microbiological inactivation curves, inactivation of microorganisms and enzymes, pasteurization, and entrainment are included, as are non-linear curve fitting and processes dependent on fluid film thickness. The sections on BASIC, pressure driven membrane separation processes, and supercritical fluid extraction have been re-vamped and expanded.
Widely regarded as a standard work in its field, this book introduces the range of processing techniques that are used in food manufacturing. It explains the principles of each process, the processing equipment used, operating conditions and the effects of processing on micro-organisms that contaminate foods, the biochemical properties of foods and their sensory and nutritional qualities. The third edition is divided into five parts. Part one describes some important basic concepts. Part two describes unit operations that take place at ambient temperature or involve minimum heating of foods. Part three includes operations that heat foods to preserve them or to alter their eating quality. Part four describes operations that remove heat from foods to extend their shelf life with minimal changes in nutritional quality or sensory characteristics. Part five describes post-processing operations, including packaging and distribution logistics. The third edition has been substantially rewritten, updated and extended to include the many developments in food technology that have taken place since the second edition was published in 2000. Nearly all unit operations have undergone significant developments, and these are reflected in the large amount of additional material in each chapter. In particular, advances in microprocessor control of equipment, "minimal" processing technologies, genetic modification of foods, functional foods, developments in "active" or "intelligent" packaging, and storage and distribution logistics are described. Developments in technologies that relate to cost savings, environmental improvement or enhanced product quality are highlighted. Additionally, sections in each chapter on the impact of processing on food-borne micro-organisms are included for the first time.
A unique and interdisciplinary field, food processing must meet basic process engineering considerations such as material and energy balances, as well as the more specialized requirements of food acceptance, human nutrition, and food safety. Food engineering, therefore, is a field of major concern to university departments of food science, and chemical and biological engineering as well as engineers and scientists working in various food processing industries. Part of the notable CRC Press Contemporary Food Engineeringseries, Food Process Engineering Operationsfocuses on the application of chemical engineering unit operations to the handling, processing, packaging, and distribution of food products. Chapters 1 through 5 open the text with a review of the fundamentals of process engineering and food processing technology, with typical examples of food process applications. The body of the book then covers food process engineering operations in detail, including theory, process equipment, engineering operations, and application examples and problems. Based on the authors " long teaching and research experience both in the US and Greece, this highly accessible textbook employs simple diagrams to illustrate the mechanism of each operation and the main components of the process equipment. It uses simplified calculations requiring only elementary calculus and offers realistic values of food engineering properties taken from the published literature and the authors " experience. The appendix contains useful engineering data for process calculations, such as steam tables, engineering properties, engineering diagrams, and suppliers of process equipment. Designed as a one or two semester textbook for food science students, Food Process Engineering Operationsexamines the applications of process engineering fundamentals to food processing technology making it an important reference for students of chemical and biological engineering interested in food engineering, and for scientists, engineers, and technologists working in food processing industries.
The fourth edition of this leading textbook presents the engineering concepts and unit operations used in food processing in a classroom-proven and unique blend of principles with applications. Describing the application of a particular principle followed by the quantitative relationships that define the related processes, each chapter also includes solved examples and problems to evaluate reader comprehension. Authors Singh and Heldman use their many years of teaching to present food engineering concepts in a logical progression that covers the standard course curriculum making it easily adaptable for each classroom. WHY ADOPT THIS NEW EDITION? * NEW CHAPTERS ON: - Supplemental Processes - Filtration - Sedimentation - Centrifugation - Mixing - Extrusion Processes for Foods - Packaging Concepts - Shelf Life of Foods * EXPANDED INFORMATION ON: - Transport of granular foods and powders - Process controls and measurements - Emerging technologies such as high pressure and pulsed - Electric field Design of plate heat exchangers - Impact of fouling in heat transfer processes - Use of dimensional analysis in solving problems * Author Web site with animated versions of figures * Examples throughout each chapter, presented in "Given - Approach - Solution" format for clear presentation of key concepts * End of Chapter Problems to assess comprehension * List of Symbols * "Advanced" level questions called out in a separate section Key equations highlighted * Written to follow the typical Food Engineering course, making it easily adaptable for each classroom