It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"This fourth edition of Introduction to Robotics in CIM Systems by James Rehg includes not only robots as the primary focus of the text; emphasis is also placed on the hardware and software that support the implementation of automated work cells and manufacturing systems. This text has been thoroughly updated to include the latest developments in the field. Further, it has been expanded significantly - with quantitative problems described in detail, a large problem set at the end of each chapter, work cell design problems, additional case studies, new safety information, an appendix containing links to internet sites for numerous automation hardware vendors, and a comprehensive glossary of terms."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Here, the modeling of dynamic biological engineering processes is presented in a highly understandable way using a unique combination of simplified fundamental theory and direct hands-on computer simulation. Throughout, the mathematics is kept to a minimum, yet the 60 simulation examples supplied on a CD-ROM with this second edition illustrate almost every aspect of biological engineering science. Many of the examples are taken from the authors' own research, and each is described in detail, including the model equations. The programs are written in the modern user-friendly simulation language Berkeley Madonna, which runs on both Windows PC and Power-Macintosh computers. Madonna solves models comprising many ordinary differential equations using very simple programming, yet is so powerful that the model parameters may be defined as "sliders", which allow the effect of their change on the model behavior to be seen almost immediately. Users may include data for curve fitting, and perform sensitivity or multiple runs. The results can be seen simultaneously on multiple-graph windows or by using overlays - resulting in a tremendous learning effect. The authors' extensive experience, both in university teaching and international courses, is reflected in this well-balanced presentation, which is suitable for teachers, students, biochemists and engineers. The result is a greater understanding of the formulation and use of mass balances and kinetics for biological reaction engineering, written in a most stimulating manner.
This book provides the most advanced, comprehensive, and balanced coverage on the market of the technical and engineering aspects of automated production systems. It covers all the major cutting-edge technologies of production automation and material handling, and how these technologies are used to construct modern manufacturing systems.Manufacturing Operations; Industrial Control Systems; Sensors, Actuators, and Other Control System Components; Numerical Control; Industrial Robotics; Discrete Control Using Programmable Logic Controllers and Personal Computers; Material Transport Systems; Storage Systems; Automatic Data Capture; Single Station Manufacturing Cells; Group Technology and Cellular Manufacturing; Flexible Manufacturing Systems; Manual Assembly Lines; Transfer Lines and Similar Automated Manufacturing Systems; Automated Assembly Systems; Statistical Process Control; Inspection Principles and Practices; Inspection Technologies; Product Design and CAD/CAM in the Production System; Process Planning and Concurrent Engineering; Production Planning and Control Systems; and Lean Production and Agile Manufacturing.For anyone interested in Automation, Production Systems, and Computer-Integrated Manufacturing.
NEW ORGANIZATION. The second edition consists of five parts, following two introductory chapters: I. Automation and control technologies: industrial computer control, control system components, numerical control, industrial robotics, programmable logic controllers. II. Material handling technologies: conveyor systems, automated guided vehicle systems, automated storage systems, automatic identification and data capture. III. Manufacturing systems: single station cells, group technology, flexible manufacturing systems, assembly lines, transfer lines. IV. Quality control systems: statistical process control, inspection principles and technologies. V. Manufacturing support systems: CAD/CAM, process planning, production planning, production planning and control, lean production and agile manufacturing. TEXT FEATURES Expanded coverage of automation fundamentals, numerical control programming, group technology, flexible manufacturing systems, material handling and storage, quality control and inspection, inspection technologies, programmable logic controllers. New chapters or sections on manufacturing systems, single station manufacturing systems, mixed-model assembly line analysis, quality assurance and statistical process control, Taguchi methods, inspection principles and technologies, concurrent engineering, automatic identification and data collection, lean and agile manufacturing. Higher quantitative and engineering content in the text with more equations and example problems More quantitative problems on more topics: 385 problems in the new edition, 125 more than the 1987edition. Historical notes describing the development and historical background of many of the automation technologies.