Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mechanical Vibration by
Call Number: TA355 P171 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Model, analyze, and solve vibration problems, using modern computer tools. Featuring clear explanations, worked examples, applications, and modern computer tools, William Palm's Mechanical Vibration provides a firm foundation in vibratory systems. You'll learn how to apply knowledge of mathematics and science to model and analyze systems ranging from a single degree of freedom to complex systems with two and more degrees of freedom. Separate MATLAB sections at the end of most chapters show how to use the most recent features of this standard engineering tool, in the context of solving vibration problems. The text introduces Simulink where solutions may be difficult to program in MATLAB, such as modeling Coulomb friction effects and simulating systems that contain non-linearities. Ample problems throughout the text provide opportunities to practice identifying, formulating, and solving vibration problems. Key Features * Strong pedagogical approach, including chapter objectives and summaries * Extensive worked examples illustrating applications * Numerous realistic homework problems * Up-to-date MATLAB coverage * The first vibration textbook to cover Simulink * Self-contained introduction to MATLAB in Appendix A * Special section dealing with active vibration control in sports equipment * Special sections devoted to obtaining parameter values from experimental data
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Fundamentals of Vibrations by
Call Number: TA355 M514 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Intended for introductory vibrations courses, Meirovitch offers a masterfully crafted textbook that covers all basic concepts at a level appropriate for undergraduate students. The book contains a chapter on the use of Finite Element Methods in vibrational analysis. Meirovitch uses selective worked examples to show the application of MATLAB software in this course. The author's approach challenges students with a precise and thoughtful explanations and motivates them through use of physical explanations, plentiful problems, worked-out examples, and illustrations.
Engineering Vibration by
Call Number: TA355 I57 2001
Publication Date: 2001
For one/two-semester introductory courses in vibration for undergraduates in Mechanical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics. Serving as both text and reference manual, this book connects traditional design-oriented topics, the introduction of modal analysis, and the use of MATLAB®, Mathcad®, or Mathematica®. the author provides an unequaled combination of the study of conventional vibration with the use of vibration design, computation, analysis and testing in various engineering applications.
Fundamentals of Mechanical Vibrations by
Call Number: TA355 K29 2000
Publication Date: 2000
With a successful first edition, the popularity of the book will continue in its revision as it incorporates a chapter on Finite Elements, and new problems including Matlab and Mathcad problems.
OTHER RECOMMENDED TITLES
Call Number: TA355 D278 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Maintaining the outstanding features and practical approach that led the bestselling first edition to become a standard textbook in engineering classrooms worldwide, Clarence de Silva's Vibration: Fundamentals and Practice, Second Edition remains a solid instructional tool for modeling, analyzing, simulating, measuring, monitoring, testing, controlling, and designing for vibration in engineering systems. It condenses the author's distinguished and extensive experience into an easy-to-use, highly practical text that prepares students for real problems in a variety of engineering fields. What's New in the Second Edition? A new chapter on human response to vibration, with practical considerations Expanded and updated material on vibration monitoring and diagnosis Enhanced section on vibration control, updated with the latest techniques and methodologies New worked examples and end-of-chapter problems. Incorporates software tools, including LabVIEW™, SIMULINK®, MATLAB®, the LabVIEW Sound and Vibration Toolbox, and the MATLAB Control Systems Toolbox Enhanced worked examples and new solutions using MATLAB and SIMULINK The new chapter on human response to vibration examines representation of vibration detection and perception by humans as well as specifications and regulatory guidelines for human vibration environments. Remaining an indispensable text for advanced undergraduate and graduate students, Vibration: Fundamentals and Practice, Second Edition builds a unique and in-depth understanding of vibration on a sound framework of practical tools and applications.
Mechanical Vibrations by
Call Number: TA355 R215 2004
Publication Date: 2003
With an emphasis on computer techniques of analysis, this book presents the theory, computational aspects, and applications of vibrations in as simple a manner as possible.This text gives expanded explanations of the fundamentals of vibration including history of vibration, degree of freedom systems, vibration control, vibration measurement, and more.For engineers and other professionals who want a clear introduction to vibration engineering.