Network Security Essentials
by
As we enter the age of universal electronic connectivity in which viruses, hackers, electronic eavesdropping, and electronic fraud can threaten the prosperity and productivity of corporations and individuals, security is increasingly important. Fortunately, the discipline of network security has matured, leading to the development of practical, available applications to enforce network security. This book provides an integrated, comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of internet-based security tools and applications vital to any treatment of data communications or networking. Best-selling author and four-time winner of the TEXTY Award for the best computer science and engineering text, William Stallings provides a practical survey of both the principles and practice of network security. Well organized to provide the optimal sequence for classroom instruction and self-study, this text includes these key features. *Covers important network security tools and applications, including Kerberos, X.509v3, PGP, S/MIME, IP security, SSL/TLS, and SET. *Chapters on Web security and network management security (SNMPv3). *Looks at system-level security issues, including the threat of and countermea
Cryptography and network security : principles and practices
by
In this age of viruses and hackers, of electronic eavesdropping and electronic fraud, security is paramount. This solid, up-to-date tutorial is a comprehensive treatment of cryptography and network security is ideal for self-study. Explores the basic issues to be addressed by a network security capability through a tutorial and survey of cryptography and network security technology. Examines the practice of network security via practical applications that have been implemented and are in use today. Provides a simplified AES (Advanced Encryption Standard) that enables readers to grasp the essentials of AES more easily. Features block cipher modes of operation, including the CMAC mode for authentication and the CCM mode for authenticated encryption. Includes an expanded, updated treatment of intruders and malicious software. A useful reference for system engineers, programmers, system managers, network managers, product marketing personnel, and system support specialists.
CEH Certified Ethical Hacker Study Guide
by
Full Coverage of All Exam Objectives for the CEH Exams 312-50 and EC0-350 Thoroughly prepare for the challenging CEH Certified Ethical Hackers exam with this comprehensive study guide. The book provides full coverage of exam topics, real-world examples, and includes a CD with chapter review questions, two full-length practice exams, electronic flashcards, a glossary of key terms, and the entire book in a searchable pdf e-book. What's Inside: Covers ethics and legal issues, footprinting, scanning, enumeration, system hacking, trojans and backdoors, sniffers, denial of service, social engineering, session hijacking, hacking Web servers, Web application vulnerabilities, and more Walks you through exam topics and includes plenty of real-world scenarios to help reinforce concepts Includes a CD with an assessment test, review questions, practice exams, electronic flashcards, and the entire book in a searchable pdf
OTHER SUGGESTED TITLE
CISSP(R) All-in-One Exam Guide
by
The Manager's Guide to Cybersecurity Law
by
In today's litigious business world, cyber-related matters could land you in court. As a computer security professional, you are protecting your data, but are you protecting your company? While you know industry standards and regulations, you may not be a legal expert. Fortunately, in a few hours of reading, rather than months of classroom study, Tari Schreider's The Manager's Guide to Cybersecurity Law: Essentials for Today's Business, lets you integrate legal issues into your security program. Tari Schreider, a board-certified information security practitioner with a criminal justice administration background, has written a much-needed book that bridges the gap between cybersecurity programs and cybersecurity law. He says, "My nearly 40 years in the fields of cybersecurity, risk management, and disaster recovery have taught me some immutable truths. One of these truths is that failure to consider the law when developing a cybersecurity program results in a protective façade or false sense of security." In a friendly style, offering real-world business examples from his own experience supported by a wealth of court cases, Schreider covers the range of practical information you will need as you explore - and prepare to apply - cybersecurity law. His practical, easy-to-understand explanations help you to: Understand your legal duty to act reasonably and responsibly to protect assets and information. Identify which cybersecurity laws have the potential to impact your cybersecurity program. Upgrade cybersecurity policies to comply with state, federal, and regulatory statutes. Communicate effectively about cybersecurity law with corporate legal department and counsel. Understand the implications of emerging legislation for your cybersecurity program. Know how to avoid losing a cybersecurity court case on procedure - and develop strategies to handle a dispute out of court. Develop an international view of cybersecurity and data privacy - and international legal frameworks. Schreider takes you beyond security standards and regulatory controls to ensure that your current or future cybersecurity program complies with all laws and legal jurisdictions. Hundreds of citations and references allow you to dig deeper as you explore specific topics relevant to your organization or your studies. This book needs to be required reading before your next discussion with your corporate legal department.