Chemical Reactor Design and Control by
Chemical Reactor Design and Control uses process simulators like Matlab#65533;, Aspen Plus, and Aspen Dynamics to study the design of chemical reactors and their dynamic control. There are numerous books that focus on steady-state reactor design. There are no books that consider practical control systems for real industrial reactors. This unique reference addresses the simultaneous design and control of chemical reactors. After a discussion of reactor basics, it: Covers three types of classical reactors: continuous stirred tank (CSTR), batch, and tubular plug flow Emphasizes temperature control and the critical impact of steady-state design on the dynamics and stability of reactors Covers chemical reactors and control problems in a plantwide environment Incorporates numerous tables and shows step-by-step calculations with equations Discusses how to use process simulators to address diverse issues and types of operations This is a practical reference for chemical engineering professionals in the process industries, professionals who work with chemical reactors, and students in undergraduate and graduate reactor design, process control, and plant design courses.
Chemical Reactor Modeling by
Chemical Reactor Modeling closes the gap between Chemical Reaction Engineering and Fluid Mechanics.nbsp;The second edition consists of two volumes: Volume 1: Fundamentals. Volume 2: Chemical Engineering Applications In volume 1 most of the fundamental theory is presented. A few numerical model simulation application examples are given to elucidate the link between theory and applications. In volume 2 the chemical reactor equipment to be modeled are described. Several engineering models are introduced and discussed. A survey of the frequently used numerical methods, algorithms and schemes is provided. A few practical engineering applications of the modeling tools are presented and discussed. The working principles of several experimental techniques employed in order to get data for model validation are outlined. The monograph isnbsp;based on lectures regularly taught in the fourth and fifth years graduate courses in transport phenomena and chemical reactor modeling and in a post graduate course in modern reactor modeling at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Department of Chemical Engineering, Trondheim, Norway. The objective of the book is to present the fundamentals of the single-fluid and multi-fluid models for the analysis of single and multiphase reactive flows in chemical reactors with a chemical reactor engineering rather than mathematical bias. Organized into 13 chapters, it combines theoretical aspects and practical applications and covers some of the recent research in several areas of chemical reactor engineering. This book contains a survey of the modern literature in the field of chemical reactor modeling.
Computational Flow Modeling for Chemical Reactor Engineering by
This book describes how modeling fluid flow in chemical reactors may offer solutions that improve design, operation, and performance of reactors. Chemical reactors are any vessels, tubes, pipes, or tanks in which chemical reactions take place. Computational Flow Modeling for Chemical Reactor Engineering will show the reactor engineer how to define the specific roles of computational flow modeling, select appropriate tools, and apply these tools to link reactor hardware to reactor performance. Overall methodology is illustrated with numerous case studies. Industry has invested substantial funds in computational flow modeling which will pay off only if it can be used to realize significant performance enhancement in chemical reactors. No other single source exists which provides the information contained in this book.
Chemical Reactor Analysis and Applications for the Practicing Engineer by
This books format follows an applications-oriented text and serves as a training tool for individuals in education and industry involved directly, or indirectly, with chemical reactors. It addresses both technical and calculational problems in this field. While this text can be complimented with texts on chemical kinetics and/or reactor design, it also stands alone as a self-teaching aid. The first part serves as an introduction to the subject title and contains chapters dealing with history, process variables, basic operations, kinetic principles, and conversion variables. The second part of the book addresses traditional reactor analysis; chapter topics include batch, CSTRs, tubular flow reactors, plus a comparison of these classes of reactors. Part 3 keys on reactor applications that include non-ideal reactors: thermal effects, interpretation of kinetic data, and reactor design. The book concludes with other reactor topics; chapter titles include catalysis, catalytic reactors, other reactions and reactors, and ABET-related topics. An extensive Appendix is also included
Fundamentals of Chemical Reaction Engineering by
Appropriate for a one-semester undergraduate or first-year graduate course, this text introduces the quantitative treatment of chemical reaction engineering. It covers both homogeneous and heterogeneous reacting systems and examines chemical reaction engineering as well as chemical reactor engineering. The authors take a chemical approach, helping students develop an intuitive feeling for concepts, rather than an engineering approach, which tends to overlook the inner workings of systems and objects. Each chapter contains numerous worked-out problems and real-world vignettes involving commercial applications. Topics include the basics of reaction kinetics and rate constants of elementary reactions, reactors for measuring reaction rates and the steady-state approximation, and heterogeneous catalysis. Additional subjects include the effects of transport limitations on rates of solid-catalyzed reactions, microkinetic analysis of catalytic reactions, nonideal flow in reactors, nonisothermal reactors, and reactors accomplishing heterogeneous reactions. Excellent illustrations complement the text, which concludes with three helpful appendices.
Chemical Reaction Technology by
The book discusses the sciences of operations, converting raw materials into desired products on an industrial scale by applying chemical transformations and other industrial technologies. Basics of chemical technology combining chemistry, physical transport, unit operations and chemical reactors are thoroughly prepared for an easy understanding.