Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Elements of Chemical Reaction Engineering 5th ed
by
For decades, H. Scott Fogler's Elements of Chemical Reaction Engineering has been the world's dominant text for courses in chemical reaction engineering. Now, Fogler has created a new, completely updated fifth edition of his internationally respected book. The result is a refined book that contains new examples and problems, as well as an updated companion Web site. More than ever, Fogler has successfully integrated text, visuals, and computer simulations to help both undergraduate and graduate students master all of the field's fundamentals. As always, he links theory to practice through many relevant examples, ranging from standard isothermal and non-isothermal reactor design to applications, such as solar energy, blood clotting, and drug delivery, and computer chip manufacturing.
Fundamentals of chemical reaction engineering
by
The basics of reaction kinetics for chemical reaction engineering -- Rate constants of elementary reactions -- Reactors for measuring reaction rates -- The steady-state approximation : catalysis -- Heterogeneous catalysis -- Effects of transport limitations on rates of solid-catalyzed reactions -- Microkinetic analysis of catalytic reactions -- Nonideal flow in reactors -- Nonisothermal reactors -- Reactors accomplishing heterogeneous reactions.
Essentials of Chemical Reaction Engineering
by
For 30 years, H. Scott Fogler's Elements of Chemical Reaction Engineering has been the #1 selling text for courses in chemical reaction engineering worldwide. Now, in Essentials of Chemical Reaction Engineering, Second Edition, Fogler has distilled this classic into a modern, introductory-level guide specifically for undergraduates. This is the ideal resource for today's students: learners who demand instantaneous access to information and want to enjoy learning as they deepen their critical thinking and creative problem-solving skills. Fogler successfully integrates text, visuals, and computer simulations, and links theory to practice through many relevant examples. This updated second edition covers mole balances, conversion and reactor sizing, rate laws and stoichiometry, isothermal reactor design, rate data collection/analysis, multiple reactions, reaction mechanisms, pathways, bioreactions and bioreactors, catalysis, catalytic reactors, nonisothermal reactor designs, and more. Its multiple improvements include a new discussion of activation energy, molecular simulation, and stochastic modeling, and a significantly revamped chapter on heat effects in chemical reactors. To promote the transfer of key skills to real-life settings, Fogler presents three styles of problems: Straightforward problems that reinforce the principles of chemical reaction engineering Living Example Problems (LEPs) that allow students to rapidly explore the issues and look for optimal solutions Open-ended problems that encourage students to use inquiry-based learning to practice creative problem-solving skills
Chemical Reaction Engineering
by
Filling a longstanding gap for graduate courses in the field, Chemical Reaction Engineering: Beyond the Fundamentalscovers basic concepts as well as complexities of chemical reaction engineering, including novel techniques for process intensification. The book is divided into three parts: Fundamentals Revisited, Building on Fundamentals, and Beyond the Fundamentals. Part I: Fundamentals Revisitedreviews the salient features of an undergraduate course, introducing concepts essential to reactor design, such as mixing, unsteady-state operations, multiple steady states, and complex reactions. Part II: Building on Fundamentalsis devoted to "skill building," particularly in the area of catalysis and catalytic reactions. It covers chemical thermodynamics, emphasizing the thermodynamics of adsorption and complex reactions; the fundamentals of chemical kinetics, with special emphasis on microkinetic analysis; and heat and mass transfer effects in catalysis, including transport between phases, transfer across interfaces, and effects of external heat and mass transfer. It also contains a chapter that provides readers with tools for making accurate kinetic measurements and analyzing the data obtained. Part III: Beyond the Fundamentalspresents material not commonly covered in textbooks, addressing aspects of reactors involving more than one phase. It discusses solid catalyzed fluid-phase reactions in fixed-bed and fluidized-bed reactors, gas-solid noncatalytic reactions, reactions involving at least one liquid phase (gas-liquid and liquid-liquid), and multiphase reactions. This section also describes membrane-assisted reactor engineering, combo reactors, homogeneous catalysis, and phase-transfer catalysis. The final chapter provides a perspective on future trends in reaction engineering.
Chemical Reaction Engineering
by
Chemical reaction engineering is concerned with the exploitation of chemical reactions on a commercial scale. It's goal is the successful design and operation of chemical reactors. This text emphasizes qualitative arguments, simple design methods, graphical procedures, and frequent comparison of capabilities of the major reactor types. Simple ideas are treated first, and are then extended to the more complex.
Chemical Reactor Design, Optimization, and Scaleup
by
The classic reference, now expanded and updated Chemical Reactor Design, Optimization, and Scaleup is the authoritative sourcebook on chemical reactors. This new Second Edition consolidates the latest information on current optimization and scaleup methodologies, numerical methods, and biochemical and polymer reactions. It provides the comprehensive tools and information to help readers design and specify chemical reactors confidently, with state-of-the-art skills. This authoritative guide: Covers the fundamentals and principles of chemical reactor design, along with advanced topics and applications Presents techniques for dealing with varying physical properties in reactors of all types and purposes Includes a completely new chapter on meso-, micro-, and nano-scale reactors that addresses such topics as axial diffusion in micro-scale reactors and self-assembly of nano-scale structures Explains the method of false transients, a numerical solution technique Includes suggestions for further reading, problems, and, when appropriate, scaleup or scaledown considerations at the end of each chapter to illustrate industrial applications Serves as a ready reference for explained formulas, principles, and data This is the definitive hands-on reference for practicing professionals and an excellent textbook for courses in chemical reactor design. It is an essential resource for chemical engineers in the process industries, including petrochemicals, biochemicals, microelectronics, and water treatment.
Elements of Chemical Reaction Engineering 4th
by
The Definitive, Fully Updated Guide to Solving Real-World Chemical Reaction Engineering Problems The fourth edition of Elements of Chemical Reaction Engineering is a completely revised version of the worldwide best-selling book. It combines authoritative coverage of the principles of chemical reaction engineering with an unsurpassed focus on critical thinking and creative problem solving, employing open-ended questions and stressing the Socratic method. Clear and superbly organized, it integrates text, visuals, and computer simulations to help readers solve even the most challenging problems through reasoning, rather than by memorizing equations. Thorough coverage of the fundamentals of chemical reaction engineering forms the backbone of this trusted text. To enhance the transfer of core skills to real-life settings, three styles of problems are included for each subject Straightforward problems that reinforce the material Problems that allow students to explore the issues and look for optimum solutions Open-ended problems that encourage students to practice creative problem-solving skills H. Scott Fogler has updated his classic text to provide even more coverage of bioreactions, industrial chemistry with real reactors and reactions, and an even broader range of applications, along with the newest digital techniques, such as FEMLAB. The fourth edition of Elements of Chemical Reaction Engineering contains wide-ranging examples—from smog to blood clotting, ethylene oxide production to tissue engineering, antifreeze to cobra bites, and computer chip manufacturing to chemical plant safety. About the CD-ROM The CD-ROM offers numerous enrichment opportunities for both students and instructors, including the following Learning Resources: Summary Notes: Chapter-specific interactive material to address the different learning styles in the Felder/Solomon learning-style index Learning Resources: Web modules, reactor lab modules, interactive computer modules, solved problems, and problem-solving heuristics Living Example Problems: More than fifty-five interactive simulations in POLYMATH software, which allow students to explore the examples and ask “what-if” questions Professional Reference Shelf: Advanced content, ranging from collision and transition state theory to aerosol reactors, DFT, runaway reactions, and pharmacokinetics Additional Study Materials: Extra homework problems, course syllabi, and Web links to related material Latest Software to Solve “Digital Age” Problems: FEMLAB to solve PDEs for the axial and radial concentration and temperature profiles, and Polymath to do regression, solve nonlinear equations, and solve single and coupled ODEs Throughout the book, icons help readers link concepts and procedures to the material on the CD-ROM for fully integrated learning and reference.
Principles of Chemical Reactor Analysis and Design
by
An innovative approach that helps students move from the classroom to professional practice This text offers a comprehensive, unified methodology to analyze and design chemical reactors, using a reaction-based design formulation rather than the common species-based design formulation. The book's acclaimed approach addresses the weaknesses of current pedagogy by giving readers the knowledge and tools needed to address the technical challenges they will face in practice. Principles of Chemical Reactor Analysis and Design prepares readers to design and operate real chemical reactors and to troubleshoot any technical problems that may arise. The text's unified methodology is applicable to both single and multiple chemical reactions, to all reactor configurations, and to all forms of rate expression. This text also . . . Describes reactor operations in terms of dimensionless design equations, generating dimensionless operating curves that depict the progress of individual chemical reactions, the composition of species, and the temperature. Combines all parameters that affect heat transfer into a single dimensionless number that can be estimated a priori. Accounts for all variations in the heat capacity of the reacting fluid. Develops a complete framework for economic-based optimization of reactor operations. Problems at the end of each chapter are categorized by their level of difficulty from one to four, giving readers the opportunity to test and develop their skills. Graduate and advanced undergraduate chemical engineering students will find that this text's unified approach better prepares them for professional practice by teaching them the actual skills needed to design and analyze chemical reactors.
Chemical Reaction Engineering and Reactor Technology
by
The role of the chemical reactor is crucial for the industrial conversion of raw materials into products and numerous factors must be considered when selecting an appropriate and efficient chemical reactor. Chemical Reaction Engineering and Reactor Technologydefines the qualitative aspects that affect the selection of an industrial chemical reactor and couples various reactor models to case-specific kinetic expressions for chemical processes. Offering a systematic development of the chemical reaction engineering concept, this volume explores: Essential stoichiometric, kinetic, and thermodynamic terms needed in the analysis of chemical reactors Homogeneous and heterogeneous reactors Residence time distributions and non-ideal flow conditions in industrial reactors Solutions of algebraic and ordinary differential equation systems Gas- and liquid-phase diffusion coefficients and gas-film coefficients Correlations for gas-liquid systems Solubilities of gases in liquids Guidelines for laboratory reactors and the estimation of kinetic parameters The authors pay special attention to the exact formulations and derivations of mass energy balances and their numerical solutions. Richly illustrated and containing exercises and solutions covering a number of processes, from oil refining to the development of specialty and fine chemicals, the text provides a clear understanding of chemical reactor analysis and design.
Chemical Reactions and Chemical Reactors
by
Focused on the undergraduate audience, Chemical Reaction Engineering provides students with complete coverage of the fundamentals, including in-depth coverage of chemical kinetics. By introducing heterogeneous chemistry early in the book, the text gives students the knowledge they need to solve real chemistry and industrial problems. An emphasis on problem-solving and numerical techniques ensures students learn and practice the skills they will need later on, whether for industry or graduate work.