Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected electronic books
Kinematics, Dynamics, and Design of Machinery by Kenneth J. Waldron; Gary L. Kinzel; Sunil K. Agrawal
Kinematics, Dynamics, and Design of Machinery, Third Edition, presents a fresh approach to kinematic design and analysis and is an ideal textbook for senior undergraduates and graduates in mechanical, automotive and production engineering Presents the traditional approach to the design and analysis of kinematic problems and shows how GCP can be used to solve the same problems more simply Provides a new and simpler approach to cam design Includes an increased number of exercise problems Accompanied by a website hosting a solutions manual, teaching slides and MATLAB® programs
ISBN: 9781118933282
Publication Date: 2016-04-25
Design of Machine Elements by Merhyle Franklin Spotts; Terry E. Shoup; L. E. Hornberger; M. F. Spotts
For a one or two-term introductory Machine Design course in Mechanical Engineering Departments, or Mechanical Engineering Technology. Considered a classic in its field, this new edition of Design of Machine Elements represents the over 80 years of combined classroom and industry experience of its three authors. The text presents a comprehensive survey of machine elements and analytical design methods and gives students the tools and techniques necessary to facilitate design calculations for the most frequently encountered mechanical elements.
ISBN: 9780130489890
Publication Date: 2003-10-14
Electric Machinery and Transformers by Bhag S. Guru; Hüseyin R. Hiziroglu
Designed for junior- and senior-level courses in electromechanical energy conversion, Electric Machinery and Transformers, 3/e, continues the strong pedagogical tradition established by its successful previous editions. It begins with a review of the fundamentals of circuit theory andelectromagnetics and then introduces the concept of electromechanical energy conversion. The text not only provides a systematic development of a model for each electric machine based upon established principles and basic laws, but also introduces students to applications and advanced topics. Italso includes information on the construction of each electric machine.Electric Machinery and Transformers, 3/e, enhances student learning of the basic operating principles of electric machines by using numerous supporting examples, review questions, illustrations, exercises, and chapter summaries. It encourages intuitive reasoning for problem-solving over therote memorization of equations and procedures.This third edition covers the following main topics: principles of electromechanical energy conversion; transformers; direct-current generators and motors; synchronous generators and motors; polyphase induction motors and single-phase motors; the dynamics of electric machines; andspecial-purpose machines.
ISBN: 9780195138900
Publication Date: 2000-07-20
Mechanical Design by Peter R. N. Childs; T. Obikawa; Y. Yamane; K. Maekawa
This book introduces the subject of total design, and introduces the design and selection of various common mechanical engineering components and machine elements. These provide "building blocks", with which the engineer can practice his or her art. The approach adopted for defining design follows that developed by the SEED (Sharing Experience in Engineering Design) programme where design is viewed as "the total activity necessary to provide a product or process to meet a market need." Within this framework the book concentrates on developing detailed mechanical design skills in the areas of bearings, shafts, gears, seals, belt and chain drives, clutches and brakes, springs and fasteners. Where standard components are available from manufacturers, the steps necessary for their specification and selection are developed. The framework used within the text has been to provide descriptive and illustrative information to introduce principles and individual components and to expose the reader to the detailed methods and calculations necessary to specify and design or select a component. To provide the reader with sufficient information to develop the necessary skills to repeat calculations and selection processes, detailed examples and worked solutions are supplied throughout the text. This book is principally a Year/Level 1 and 2 undergraduate text. Pre-requisite skills include some year one undergraduate mathematics, fluid mechanics and heat transfer, principles of materials, statics and dynamics. However, as the subjects are introduced in a descriptive and illustrative format and as full worked solutions are provided, it is possible for readers without this formal level of education to benefit from this book. The text is specifically aimed at automotive and mechanical engineering degree programmes and would be of value for modules in design, mechanical engineering design, design and manufacture, design studies, automotive power-train and transmission and tribology, as well as modules and project work incorporating a design element requiring knowledge about any of the content described. The aims and objectives described are achieved by a short introductory chapters on total design, mechanical engineering and machine elements followed by ten chapters on machine elements covering: bearings, shafts, gears, seals, chain and belt drives, clutches and brakes, springs, fasteners and miscellaneous mechanisms. Chapters 14 and 15 introduce casings and enclosures and sensors and actuators, key features of most forms of mechanical technology. The subject of tolerancing from a component to a process level is introduced in Chapter 16. The last chapter serves to present an integrated design using the detailed design aspects covered within the book. The design methods where appropriate are developed to national and international standards (e.g. ANSI, ASME, AGMA, BSI, DIN, ISO). The first edition of this text introduced a variety of machine elements as building blocks with which design of mechanical devices can be undertaken. The approach adopted of introducing and explaining the aspects of technology by means of text, photographs, diagrams and step-by-step procedures has been maintained. A number of important machine elements have been included in the new edition, fasteners, springs, sensors and actuators. They are included here. Chapters on total design, the scope of mechanical engineering and machine elements have been completely revised and updated. New chapters are included on casings and enclosures and miscellaneous mechanisms and the final chapter has been rewritten to provide an integrated approach. Multiple worked examples and completed solutions are included.
ISBN: 9780750657716
Publication Date: 2003-12-04
The Grouting Handbook- A Step-by-Step Guide for Foundation Design and Machinery Installation (2nd Edition) by Donald M. Harrison
Minimize loss of revenue and the downtime of critical assets by avoiding foundation cracking, poor bonds, and initial alignment changes. After their successful introduction as a maintenance material, machinery grouts are now being used for equipment placement in new construction. While certainly suitable for both markets and applications, a successful installation depends on proper grout selection, application, foundation preparation, and forming methods. Therefore, guidelines on their uses and limitations are needed for engineers and maintenance personnel. Based on 45 years of field experience, The Grouting Handbook collects a vast amount of information into a practical and user-friendly reference for mechanical and civil engineers. The book focuses on four basic elements of grouting: The soil and its load-carrying capability; The foundation and its mass, design, concrete mix, installation and curing procedures; Anchor bolt technology, design and installation; Epoxy grout comparison, material selection and installation. From the ground up, The Grouting Handbook takes you step by step through the grouting process. Clear, straightforward directions give you details on preparing the foundation and surface and selecting the best material and method. Comprehensive yet concise, this is a convenient handbook for veteran and rookie engineers alike.
ISBN: 9780124165854
Publication Date: 2013-06-07
Kinematics, Dynamics, and Design of Machinery by
Kinematics, Dynamics, and Design of Machinery, Third Edition, presents a fresh approach to kinematic design and analysis and is an ideal textbook for senior undergraduates and graduates in mechanical, automotive and production engineering Presents the traditional approach to the design and analysis of kinematic problems and shows how GCP can be used to solve the same problems more simply Provides a new and simpler approach to cam design Includes an increased number of exercise problems Accompanied by a website hosting a solutions manual, teaching slides and MATLAB® programs
Design of Machine Elements by
For a one or two-term introductory Machine Design course in Mechanical Engineering Departments, or Mechanical Engineering Technology. Considered a classic in its field, this new edition of Design of Machine Elements represents the over 80 years of combined classroom and industry experience of its three authors. The text presents a comprehensive survey of machine elements and analytical design methods and gives students the tools and techniques necessary to facilitate design calculations for the most frequently encountered mechanical elements.
Electric Machinery and Transformers by
Designed for junior- and senior-level courses in electromechanical energy conversion, Electric Machinery and Transformers, 3/e, continues the strong pedagogical tradition established by its successful previous editions. It begins with a review of the fundamentals of circuit theory andelectromagnetics and then introduces the concept of electromechanical energy conversion. The text not only provides a systematic development of a model for each electric machine based upon established principles and basic laws, but also introduces students to applications and advanced topics. Italso includes information on the construction of each electric machine.Electric Machinery and Transformers, 3/e, enhances student learning of the basic operating principles of electric machines by using numerous supporting examples, review questions, illustrations, exercises, and chapter summaries. It encourages intuitive reasoning for problem-solving over therote memorization of equations and procedures.This third edition covers the following main topics: principles of electromechanical energy conversion; transformers; direct-current generators and motors; synchronous generators and motors; polyphase induction motors and single-phase motors; the dynamics of electric machines; andspecial-purpose machines.
Mechanical Design by
This book introduces the subject of total design, and introduces the design and selection of various common mechanical engineering components and machine elements. These provide "building blocks", with which the engineer can practice his or her art. The approach adopted for defining design follows that developed by the SEED (Sharing Experience in Engineering Design) programme where design is viewed as "the total activity necessary to provide a product or process to meet a market need." Within this framework the book concentrates on developing detailed mechanical design skills in the areas of bearings, shafts, gears, seals, belt and chain drives, clutches and brakes, springs and fasteners. Where standard components are available from manufacturers, the steps necessary for their specification and selection are developed. The framework used within the text has been to provide descriptive and illustrative information to introduce principles and individual components and to expose the reader to the detailed methods and calculations necessary to specify and design or select a component. To provide the reader with sufficient information to develop the necessary skills to repeat calculations and selection processes, detailed examples and worked solutions are supplied throughout the text. This book is principally a Year/Level 1 and 2 undergraduate text. Pre-requisite skills include some year one undergraduate mathematics, fluid mechanics and heat transfer, principles of materials, statics and dynamics. However, as the subjects are introduced in a descriptive and illustrative format and as full worked solutions are provided, it is possible for readers without this formal level of education to benefit from this book. The text is specifically aimed at automotive and mechanical engineering degree programmes and would be of value for modules in design, mechanical engineering design, design and manufacture, design studies, automotive power-train and transmission and tribology, as well as modules and project work incorporating a design element requiring knowledge about any of the content described. The aims and objectives described are achieved by a short introductory chapters on total design, mechanical engineering and machine elements followed by ten chapters on machine elements covering: bearings, shafts, gears, seals, chain and belt drives, clutches and brakes, springs, fasteners and miscellaneous mechanisms. Chapters 14 and 15 introduce casings and enclosures and sensors and actuators, key features of most forms of mechanical technology. The subject of tolerancing from a component to a process level is introduced in Chapter 16. The last chapter serves to present an integrated design using the detailed design aspects covered within the book. The design methods where appropriate are developed to national and international standards (e.g. ANSI, ASME, AGMA, BSI, DIN, ISO). The first edition of this text introduced a variety of machine elements as building blocks with which design of mechanical devices can be undertaken. The approach adopted of introducing and explaining the aspects of technology by means of text, photographs, diagrams and step-by-step procedures has been maintained. A number of important machine elements have been included in the new edition, fasteners, springs, sensors and actuators. They are included here. Chapters on total design, the scope of mechanical engineering and machine elements have been completely revised and updated. New chapters are included on casings and enclosures and miscellaneous mechanisms and the final chapter has been rewritten to provide an integrated approach. Multiple worked examples and completed solutions are included.
The Grouting Handbook- A Step-by-Step Guide for Foundation Design and Machinery Installation (2nd Edition) by
Minimize loss of revenue and the downtime of critical assets by avoiding foundation cracking, poor bonds, and initial alignment changes. After their successful introduction as a maintenance material, machinery grouts are now being used for equipment placement in new construction. While certainly suitable for both markets and applications, a successful installation depends on proper grout selection, application, foundation preparation, and forming methods. Therefore, guidelines on their uses and limitations are needed for engineers and maintenance personnel. Based on 45 years of field experience, The Grouting Handbook collects a vast amount of information into a practical and user-friendly reference for mechanical and civil engineers. The book focuses on four basic elements of grouting: The soil and its load-carrying capability; The foundation and its mass, design, concrete mix, installation and curing procedures; Anchor bolt technology, design and installation; Epoxy grout comparison, material selection and installation. From the ground up, The Grouting Handbook takes you step by step through the grouting process. Clear, straightforward directions give you details on preparing the foundation and surface and selecting the best material and method. Comprehensive yet concise, this is a convenient handbook for veteran and rookie engineers alike.