Concise Encyclopedia of the Mechanical Properties of Materials by J. W. Martin
The Concise Encyclopedia of the Mechanical Properties of Materials draws its material from the award-winning Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology, and includes updates and revisions not available in the original set. Mechanical properties describe the response of a material to an applied strain. Elastic behaviour is encountered at small strains, followed by plastic strain which is usually followed by fracture. If the magnitude of the applied strain fluctuates with time, fatigue failure may take place. Again, at relatively high temperatures (with respect to their melting point) materials subjected to a constant stress may exhibit progressive creep deformation over a period of time which may lead to ultimate failure. Articles have been selected which discuss this wide range of properties, both generally and also specifically with reference to metals and alloys, polymeric materials, ceramics and glasses, composite materials, as well as some miscellaneous materials such as wood, paper and textiles. The majority of contributions contain quantitative data, the others are predominantly descriptive in nature where it is more appropriate for the type of material in question. The compilation provides the reader with an up-to-date understanding of the mechanical properties of a wide range of materials.
Call Number: TA405 C744 2007 r
ISBN: 9780080465258
Publication Date: 2007-05-08
Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering by
This illustrated dictionary provides coverage of terms used in mechanical and manufacturing engineering. This edition is extensively cross-referenced and contains over 4500 new terms.
Dictionary of Scientists by
From Archimedes and Copernicus to Stephen Hawking and Stephen Jay Gould, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date biography dictionary of scientists currently available. Compact yet comprehensive, it will be invaluable reference for scientists, students, and anyone with a generalinterest in science. Over 1,300 entries, spanning over 2,500 years International range covers all areas of science, from physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology Clear explanations of the science itself and its historical significance. Includes all Nobel Laureates in physics, chemistry, physiology, and medicine Comprehensive index of topics, and extensive network of cross-references to related entries
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology by
This resource provides in-depth coverage of major scientific and technological developments. It offers illustrated, detailed coverage of the discoveries, advances and milestones that continue to shape our lives.
Concise Encyclopedia of the Mechanical Properties of Materials by
The Concise Encyclopedia of the Mechanical Properties of Materials draws its material from the award-winning Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology, and includes updates and revisions not available in the original set. Mechanical properties describe the response of a material to an applied strain. Elastic behaviour is encountered at small strains, followed by plastic strain which is usually followed by fracture. If the magnitude of the applied strain fluctuates with time, fatigue failure may take place. Again, at relatively high temperatures (with respect to their melting point) materials subjected to a constant stress may exhibit progressive creep deformation over a period of time which may lead to ultimate failure. Articles have been selected which discuss this wide range of properties, both generally and also specifically with reference to metals and alloys, polymeric materials, ceramics and glasses, composite materials, as well as some miscellaneous materials such as wood, paper and textiles. The majority of contributions contain quantitative data, the others are predominantly descriptive in nature where it is more appropriate for the type of material in question. The compilation provides the reader with an up-to-date understanding of the mechanical properties of a wide range of materials.