Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected electronic books
Electric Power Quality by Surajit Chattopadhyay; Madhuchhanda Mitra; Samarjit Sengupta
In the present day deregulated power market electric power quality issues have become great concerns of utilities, end users and manufacturers. Worldwide researches are going on to address those issues. Electric Power Quality has evolved from the researches carried out by the authors. The key features of the book can be highlighted as follows: the contents focuses, on one hand, different power quality issues, their sources and effects and different related standards, which are required for students, researchers and practising engineers and, on the other hand, measurement techniques for different power quality parameters, the content level is designed in such a way that the concepts of different power quality issues in modern power system are built up first, followed by some existing and new measurement methods. This content should attract the students, researchers and practising engineers, the predominant features are Lucid but concise description of the subject, detailed new measurement techniques and Electric Power Quality is intended for graduate, postgraduate and researchers as well as for professionals in the related fields. At the end, a chapter has been added which deals with a concept of generation of harmonics in a power system and its components.
ISBN: 9789400706347
Publication Date: 2011-03-28
Power Quality in Power Systems and Electrical Machines by Ewald Fuchs; Mohammad A. S. Masoum
The second edition of this must-have reference covers power quality issues in four parts, including new discussions related to renewable energy systems. The first part of the book provides background on causes, effects, standards, and measurements of power quality and harmonics. Once the basics are established the authors move on to harmonic modeling of power systems, including components and apparatus (electric machines). The final part of the book is devoted to power quality mitigation approaches and devices, and the fourth part extends the analysis to power quality solutions for renewable energy systems. Throughout the book worked examples and exercises provide practical applications, and tables, charts, and graphs offer useful data for the modeling and analysis of power quality issues.
ISBN: 9780128007822
Publication Date: 2015-08-05
Power Quality Problems and Mitigation Techniques by Bhim Singh; Kamal Al-Haddad; Ambrish Chandra
Maintaining a stable level of power quality in the distribution network is a growing challenge due to increased use of power electronics converters in domestic, commercial and industrial sectors. Power quality deterioration is manifested in increased losses; poor utilization of distribution systems; mal-operation of sensitive equipment and disturbances to nearby consumers, protective devices, and communication systems. However, as the energy-saving benefits will result in increased AC power processed through power electronics converters, there is a compelling need for improved understanding of mitigation techniques for power quality problems. This timely book comprehensively identifies, classifies, analyses and quantifies all associated power quality problems, including the direct integration of renewable energy sources in the distribution system, and systematically delivers mitigation techniques to overcome these problems. Key features: * Emphasis on in-depth learning of the latest topics in power quality extensively illustrated with waveforms and phasor diagrams. * Essential theory supported by solved numerical examples, review questions, and unsolved numerical problems to reinforce understanding. * Companion website contains solutions to unsolved numerical problems, providing hands-on experience. Senior undergraduate and graduate electrical engineering students and instructors will find this an invaluable resource for education in the field of power quality. It will also support continuing professional development for practicing engineers in distribution and transmission system operators.
ISBN: 9781118922057
Publication Date: 2015-02-16
Power Quality by Antonio Moreno-Muñoz (Editor)
This book presents a solid theoretical foundation of the modern mitigation technologies employed in the power quality arena, and provides an overview of the most recent challenges in this field. The book introduces the advanced concepts associated with power quality to engineers and students. It will make an excellent reference for facility electrical power engineers and maintenance technicians.
ISBN: 9781846287718
Publication Date: 2007-04-27
2015 IEEE Workshop on Power Electronics and Power Quality Applications (PEPQA) by IEEE Staff
Power Electronics and Power Quality Applications (PEPQA) is a workshop which provides a forum for students, academics, and mostly industry professionals to collaborate on meeting the ever increasing power electronics and power quality challenges in the region The workshop covers a range of topics, including 1) Power electronics converters, 2) Adjustable speed drives, 3) PE in transmission and distribution, 4) Power Quality analysis, 5) Power Quality design, and 6) Modeling, simulation & education in PE PQ The second version will be held on June 2 4, 2015 at Universidad de los Andes, Bogot, Colombia A total of 400 attendees will be participating in three days of keynotes, tutorials, hands on, papers and poster presentations among new activities designed to improve the collaboration between industry professionals and the academic community
ISBN: 9781467376532
Publication Date: 2015-06-02
Electric Power Quality by
In the present day deregulated power market electric power quality issues have become great concerns of utilities, end users and manufacturers. Worldwide researches are going on to address those issues. Electric Power Quality has evolved from the researches carried out by the authors. The key features of the book can be highlighted as follows: the contents focuses, on one hand, different power quality issues, their sources and effects and different related standards, which are required for students, researchers and practising engineers and, on the other hand, measurement techniques for different power quality parameters, the content level is designed in such a way that the concepts of different power quality issues in modern power system are built up first, followed by some existing and new measurement methods. This content should attract the students, researchers and practising engineers, the predominant features are Lucid but concise description of the subject, detailed new measurement techniques and Electric Power Quality is intended for graduate, postgraduate and researchers as well as for professionals in the related fields. At the end, a chapter has been added which deals with a concept of generation of harmonics in a power system and its components.
Power Quality in Power Systems and Electrical Machines by
The second edition of this must-have reference covers power quality issues in four parts, including new discussions related to renewable energy systems. The first part of the book provides background on causes, effects, standards, and measurements of power quality and harmonics. Once the basics are established the authors move on to harmonic modeling of power systems, including components and apparatus (electric machines). The final part of the book is devoted to power quality mitigation approaches and devices, and the fourth part extends the analysis to power quality solutions for renewable energy systems. Throughout the book worked examples and exercises provide practical applications, and tables, charts, and graphs offer useful data for the modeling and analysis of power quality issues.
Power Quality Problems and Mitigation Techniques by
Maintaining a stable level of power quality in the distribution network is a growing challenge due to increased use of power electronics converters in domestic, commercial and industrial sectors. Power quality deterioration is manifested in increased losses; poor utilization of distribution systems; mal-operation of sensitive equipment and disturbances to nearby consumers, protective devices, and communication systems. However, as the energy-saving benefits will result in increased AC power processed through power electronics converters, there is a compelling need for improved understanding of mitigation techniques for power quality problems. This timely book comprehensively identifies, classifies, analyses and quantifies all associated power quality problems, including the direct integration of renewable energy sources in the distribution system, and systematically delivers mitigation techniques to overcome these problems. Key features: * Emphasis on in-depth learning of the latest topics in power quality extensively illustrated with waveforms and phasor diagrams. * Essential theory supported by solved numerical examples, review questions, and unsolved numerical problems to reinforce understanding. * Companion website contains solutions to unsolved numerical problems, providing hands-on experience. Senior undergraduate and graduate electrical engineering students and instructors will find this an invaluable resource for education in the field of power quality. It will also support continuing professional development for practicing engineers in distribution and transmission system operators.
Power Quality by
This book presents a solid theoretical foundation of the modern mitigation technologies employed in the power quality arena, and provides an overview of the most recent challenges in this field. The book introduces the advanced concepts associated with power quality to engineers and students. It will make an excellent reference for facility electrical power engineers and maintenance technicians.
2015 IEEE Workshop on Power Electronics and Power Quality Applications (PEPQA) by
Power Electronics and Power Quality Applications (PEPQA) is a workshop which provides a forum for students, academics, and mostly industry professionals to collaborate on meeting the ever increasing power electronics and power quality challenges in the region The workshop covers a range of topics, including 1) Power electronics converters, 2) Adjustable speed drives, 3) PE in transmission and distribution, 4) Power Quality analysis, 5) Power Quality design, and 6) Modeling, simulation & education in PE PQ The second version will be held on June 2 4, 2015 at Universidad de los Andes, Bogot, Colombia A total of 400 attendees will be participating in three days of keynotes, tutorials, hands on, papers and poster presentations among new activities designed to improve the collaboration between industry professionals and the academic community