It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Power Quality in Electrical Systems by Alexander Kusko; Marc T. ThompsonPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Identify and Solve Key Electric-Power-Quality Problems and Ensure Reliable Power Delivery to All Customers Power Quality in Electrical Systems equips you with the latest engineering techniques for providing power quality to all customers, and includes vital information on manufacturing, data processing, and healthcare facilities. Based on an IEEE Professional Education course, the book is a practice-oriented engineering tutorial for solving key electric-power-quality problems. This skills-building resource is designed to improve job performance by taking you step-by-step through voltage distortion...harmonic current sources...power capacitors...corrections for power-quality problems ...switched-mode power supplies...uninterruptible power supplies...standby power systems...power-quality measurements...and more. Filled with 100 detailed illustrations, Power Quality in Electrical Systems enables you to: Spot and correct key electric-power-quality problems Achieve full compliance with IEEE standards Examine switched-mode power supplies, rectifiers, and other loads that produce interference Catch up on the latest standby power systems Get vital information on power quality for manufacturing, data processing, and healthcare facilities Explore power-quality case studies with problems and worked solutions Inside This Comprehensive Power-Quality Guide * Power-quality standards * Voltage distortion * Harmonics * Harmonic current sources * Power harmonic filters * Switched-mode power supplies * Corrections for power-quality problems * Uninterruptible power supplies * Power-quality events * Standby power systems * Power-quality measurements
Publication Date: 2007-06-21
Electrical Power Systems Quality by Roger Dugan; Surya Santoso; Mark F. McGranaghan; H. Wayne BeatyPoor power quality can damage computers, phone systems and other microelectronic devices. This book provides a non-mathematical guide to basic power-quality strategies and methods used to protect electronic systems. Changes in both the nature of microelectronic devices (their increasing sensitivity) and the power grid (the increasing stress upon it) are reflected in this new edition, which features over 200 pages of new material and is nearly twice the size of the first edition.
Call Number: TK1010 E38 2003
Publication Date: 2002-11-26
Power Quality Primer by Barry W. KennedyGives power engineers and electric utility technicians the solutions to power quality problems. This book covers aspects of power quality including standards, economics, simulation, and customer services. It offers methods on anticipating and improving problems with power transmission and distribution efficiency - and fulfilling customer needs.
Publication Date: 2000-09-26
Electrical Power and Controls by Timothy L. Skvarenina; William E. DeWittBroad in scope, yet deep in content, this book offers unique, single-volume coverage of machines, transformers, controls, and electrical power distribution. The focus throughout is on topics that engineers and technologists today—and in the future—will encounter in the workplace—e.g., the principles of operation and application of motors, motor controls, power quality, power electronics, motor circuit design, programmable logic controllers, etc. For electrical engineers, computer technology employees, mechanical engineers, and others in production or marketing fields.
Call Number: TK1001 S629 2004
Publication Date: 2004-03-19
Electric Power Systems by Ned MohanAuthor Ned Mohan has been a leader in EES education and research for decades. His three-book series on Power Electronics focuses on three essential topics in the power sequence based on applications relevant to this age of sustainable energy such as wind turbines and hybrid electric vehicles. The three topics include power electronics, power systems and electric machines. Key features in the first Edition build on Mohan's successful MNPERE texts; his systems approach which puts dry technical detail in the context of applications; and substantial pedagogical support including PPT's, video clips, animations, clicker questions and a lab manual. It follows a top-down systems-level approach to power electronics to highlight interrelationships between these sub-fields. It's intended to cover fundamental and practical design. This book also follows a building-block approach to power electronics that allows an in-depth discussion of several important topics that are usually left. Topics are carefully sequenced to maintain continuity and interest.
Call Number: TK1001 M697 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-18
Handbook of Power Quality by Angelo BagginiDue to the complexity of power systems combined with other factors such as increasing susceptibility of equipment, power quality (PQ) is apt to waver. With electricity in growing demand, low PQ is on the rise and becoming notoriously difficult to remedy. It is an issue that confronts professionals on a daily basis, but few have the required knowledge to diagnose and solve these problems. Handbook of Power Quality examines of the full panorama of PQ disturbances, with background theory and guidelines on measurement procedures and problem solving. It uses the perspectives of both power suppliers and electricity users, with contributions from experts in all aspects of PQ supplying a vital balance of scientific and practical information on the following: frequency variations; the characteristics of voltage, including dips, fluctuations and flicker; the continuity and reliability of electricity supply, its structure, appliances and equipment; the relationship of PQ with power systems, distributed generation, and the electricity market; the monitoring and cost of poor PQ; rational use of energy. An accompanying website hosts case studies for each chapter, demonstrating PQ practice; how problems are identified, analysed and resolved. The website also includes extensive appendices listing the current standards, mathematical formulas, and principles of electrical circuits that are critical for the optimization of solutions. This comprehensive handbook explains PQ methodology with a hands-on approach that makes it essential for all practising power systems engineers and researchers. It simultaneously acts as a reference for electrical engineers and technical managers who meet with power quality issues and would like to further their knowledge in this area.