Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
C for engineers and scientists : an interpretive approach by 
C How to Program by
For introductory courses in C Programming. Also for courses in Programming for Engineers, Programming for Business, and Programming for Technology. The Deitels' How to Program series offers unparalleled breadth and depth of object-oriented programming concepts and intermediate-level topics for further study. Using the Deitels' signature "Live-Code(tm) Approach," this complete, authoritative introduction to C programming introduces fundamentals of structured programming, and covers relevant features of C language's C-201X standard. It also includes an updated treatment of C++ for those who want to transition to object-oriented concepts. Finally, new material on security is added to this edition.
Problem Solving and Programming Concepts by
Problem Solving and Programming Concepts, 9/e, is a core or supplementary text for one-semester, freshman/sophomore-level introductory courses taken by programming majors in Problem Solving for Programmers, Problem Solving for Applications, any Computer Language Course, or Introduction to Programming. Revised to reflect the most current issues in the programming industry, this widely adopted text emphasizes that problem solving is the same in all computer languages, regardless of syntax. Sprankle and Hubbard use a generic, non-language-specific approach to present the tools and concepts required when using any programming language to develop computer applications. Designed for students with little or no computer experience -- but useful to programmers at any level -- the text provides step-by-step progression and consistent in-depth coverage of topics, with detailed explanations and many illustrations.
C Program Design for Engineers by
This book presents introductory programming and software development concepts to engineers using a disciplined approach. It provides numerous case studies and programming projects based on real-world examples from a wide range of engineering disciplines, making the material relevant to what students will encounter in their careers. The authors introduce implementations of basic numerical and statistical methods commonly used by engineers. The book focuses on many aspects of software engineering, establishing early the connection between good problem-solving skills and effective software development. The five-phase software development method is presented in Chapter 1 and applied in every subsequent Case Study throughout. C Program Design for Engineers presents material in an order that meets the needs of a beginning programmer, rather than by the structure of the C programming language. For example, the coverage of pointers is simplified by discussing them over several chapters, thus allowing the student to absorb the intricacies of pointer usage a little at a time. This approach makes it possible to present fundamental concepts using traditional high-level terminology--outputparameter, array, array subscript, string--and makes it easier for students without prior assembly-language background to master the many facets of pointer usage.
C by Dissection by
C by Dissection presents a thorough introduction to the programming process by carefully developing working programs to illuminate key features of the C programming language. This book presents the concepts of the programming process using the "dissection" method. Dissection is a unique tool first developed by the authors to point out key features of program code. It is similar to a structured walk-through of the code, with the intention of explaining newly encountered programming elements and idioms as found in working code. Each chapter presents a number of carefully explained programs, which lead the reader in a holistic manner to ever-improving programming skills. Right from the start, the reader is introduced to complete programs, and at an early point in the book is introduced to writing functions as a major feature of structured programming. This edition features expanded treatment of pointers, memory management, and recursion. It also takes into account the fact that many people are learning Java as a first language and then going to C, or vice-versa, and calls out those topics that present a challenge when making such transitions (e.g. i/o, data types). This book assumes no programming background and can be used by first-time computer users or by experienced programmers who are transitioning to C.
Essential C++ for Engineers and Scientists by
Essential C++ for Engineers and Scientists zeros in on the key elements of good programming and C++, using a multitude of interesting and appropriate engineering and scientific examples. This book covers the features of C++ needed for writing engineering programs, including many features of object-oriented programming. Early on, the book makes some simplifying assumptions that allow the use of C++ topics without lengthy explanation, and then later discusses the intricacies of the features. Readers will come away with the confidence needed to solve problems with C++. This book covers the essential features of C++, including control structures, one-dimensional and multidimensional arrays, and file manipulation. It contains over 80 engineering and scientific examples and programming projects drawn from interesting areas such as solar heating, environmentally sound power production, water conservation, automated manufacturing, and pipeline and power grid modeling. The new edition includes material on member operators and more coverage of member functions, as well as expanded coverage of files. Two new case studies demonstrate full algorithm development. All code has been updated to comply with ANSI C++ Standard. An appendix on C is also included for readers who want to use this language. This book is especially appropriate for engineers (but also for scientists, mathematicians, etc.) with no prior programming experience looking for an introduction to C++, focusing on the features of the language that can be applied to their industry.
Java for Engineers and Scientists by
Presenting Java details on a need to know basis, this concise introduction to Java develops and executes practical examples useful for solving problems in an engineering environment. KEY TOPICS Focused on the proper way to write reliable Java programs, it outlines excellent software development practices; uses a top-down design technique to break the program up into logical portions; and demonstrates object re-usability by building later examples on the classes and methods created in earlier examples. The book also includes a number of supporting classes to make it easier for engineers to format numbers in Java, to display data in linear or logarithmic plots, to work with complex numbers, to manipulate arrays, and to perform such common engineering calculations as FFTs, convolutions, correlations, etc. Engineering and Science professionals.
Problem Solving Using C by
This book is suitable for students with little or no programming background. The complete book can easily be covered in a one-semester or one-quarter introductory course on problem solving. The book's main emphasis is problem solving; the C programming language is used as the vehicle for problem solving. To this end, a sufficient subset of the C language is presented in the book. However the book does not attempt to cover the complete C spectrum but stresses only the features essential to problem solving in the first course in computing. Therefore, this book is not a comprehensive C reference book but a textbook for students who want to learn problem solving using computers, structured procedural programming, and the standard C language.