Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected electronic books
Molecular Biology and Biotechnology by Martin Fussenegger (Contribution by); Stuart Harbron (Contribution by); Karl-Henning Kalland (Contribution by); James Marks (Contribution by); Niall McMullan (Contribution by); Mark Smales (Contribution by); Ralph Rapley (Editor); Tetsuya Osaka (Editor);
One of the exciting aspects of being involved in the field of molecular biology is the ever-accelerating rate of progress, both in the development of new methodologies and the practical applications of these methodologies. This popular textbook has been completely revised and updated to provide a comprehensive overview and to reflect key developments in this rapidly expanding area. Chapters on the impact of molecular biology in the development of biotechnology have been fully updated and include the applications of molecular biology in the areas of diagnostics, biosensors and biomarkers, therapeutics, agricultural biotechnology and vaccines. The first six chapters deal with the technology used in current molecular biology and biotechnology. These primarily deal with core nucleic acid techniques, genomics, proteomics and recombinant protein production. Further chapters address major advances in the applications of molecular biotechnology. By presenting information in an easily assimilated form, this book makes an ideal undergraduate text. Molecular Biology and Biotechnology 6th Edition will be of particular interest to students of biology and chemistry, as well as to postgraduates and other scientific workers who need a sound introduction to this ever rapidly advancing and expanding area.
ISBN: 9780854041251
Publication Date: 2009-03-24
Gene Cloning and DNA Analysis by T. A. Brown
Known world-wide as the standard introductory text to this important and exciting area, the sixth edition of Gene Cloning and DNA Analysis addresses new and growing areas of research whilst retaining the philosophy of the previous editions. Assuming the reader has little prior knowledge of the subject, its importance, the principles of the techniques used and their applications are all carefully laid out, with over 250 clearly presented four-colour illustrations. In addition to a number of informative changes to the text throughout the book, the final four chapters have been significantly updated and extended to reflect the striking advances made in recent years in the applications of gene cloning and DNA analysis in biotechnology. Gene Cloning and DNA Analysis remains an essential introductory text to a wide range of biological sciences students; including genetics and genomics, molecular biology, biochemistry, immunology and applied biology. It is also a perfect introductory text for any professional needing to learn the basics of the subject. All libraries in universities where medical, life and biological sciences are studied and taught should have copies available on their shelves. "? the book content is elegantly illustrated and well organized in clear-cut chapters and subsections? there is a Further Reading section after each chapter that contains several key references? What is extremely useful, almost every reference is furnished with the short but distinct author's remark." ?Journal of Heredity, 2007 (on the previous edition)
ISBN: 9781405181730
Publication Date: 2010-04-12
Molecular Biology of the Cell by Hunt
Molecular Biology of the Cellis the classic in-depth text reference in cell biology. By extracting the fundamental concepts from this enormous and ever-growing field, the authors tell the story of cell biology, and create a coherent framework through which non-expert readers may approach the subject. Written in clear and concise language, and beautifully illustrated, the book is enjoyable to read, and it provides a clear sense of the excitement of modern biology.Molecular Biology of the Cellsets forth the current understanding of cell biology (completely updated as of Autumn 2001), and it explores the intriguing implications and possibilities of the great deal that remains unknown. The hallmark features of previous editions continue in the Fourth Edition. The book is designed with a clean and open, single-column layout. The art program maintains a completely consistent format and style, and includes over 1,600 photographs, electron micrographs, and original drawings by the authors. Clearand concise concept headings introduce each section. Every chapter contains extensive references. Most important, every chapter has been subjected to a rigorous, collaborative revision process where, in addition to incorporating comments from expert reviewers, each co-author reads and reviews the other authors' prose. The result is a truly integrated work with a single authorial voice.
ISBN: 0815332181
Publication Date: 2002-03-01
In Pursuit of the Gene by James Schwartz
The mystery of inheritance has captivated thinkers since antiquity, and the unlocking of this mystery--the development of classical genetics--is one of humanity's greatest achievements. This great scientific and human drama is the story told fully and for the first time in this book. Acclaimed science writer James Schwartz presents the history of genetics through the eyes of a dozen or so central players, beginning with Charles Darwin and ending with Nobel laureate Hermann J. Muller. In tracing the emerging idea of the gene, Schwartz deconstructs many often-told stories that were meant to reflect glory on the participants and finds that the "official" version of discovery often hides a far more complex and illuminating narrative. The discovery of the structure of DNA and the more recent advances in genome science represent the culmination of one hundred years of concentrated inquiry into the nature of the gene. Schwartz's multifaceted training as a mathematician, geneticist, and writer enables him to provide a remarkably lucid account of the development of the central ideas about heredity, and at the same time bring to life the brilliant and often eccentric individuals who shaped these ideas. In the spirit of the late Stephen Jay Gould, this book offers a thoroughly engaging story about one of the oldest and most controversial fields of scientific inquiry. It offers readers the background they need to understand the latest findings in genetics and those still to come in the search for the genetic basis of complex diseases and traits.
ISBN: 9780674034914
Publication Date: 2010-03-30
Molecular Biology of the Parathyroid by Tally Naveh-Many
The unraveling of the biology and disease mechanisms of the parathyroid has taken great strides in the recent few years. Parathyroid Molecular Biology is the first book to describe recent studies and discoveries in the field in detail. Key topics addressed include: the study of the molecular biology of the parathyroid hormone gene and its regulation by calcium, phosphate, and vitamin; the generation of mice with genetic deletions of the parathyroid, as well as mice which fail to develop the parathyroid gland; the parathyroid's connection to the calcium receptor and its effects, such as regulation of PTH secretion, gene expression, and proliferation; the genetic mutations leading to diseases of decreased or excessive activity of the parathyroid; and the mechanisms of actions associated with patients with chronic renal failure and the development of markedly excessive activity of the parathyroid that causes severe bone disease. This book will be essential reading to everyone interested in the latest developments in this burgeoning field.
ISBN: 9781417574575
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Molecular Biology and Biotechnology by J. M. Walker (Editor); R. Rapley (Editor); E. B. Gingold (Editor)
The 3rd Edition of this immensely popular textbook brings readers up to date with the latest advances in this rapidly developing field. It has been thoroughly revised and expanded, combining entirely new chapters on current hot topics with existing chapters that have been rewritten and extended. Molecular Biology and Biotechnology 3rd Edition provides real breadth of coverage, taking account of both molecular biology and industrial applications. It also gives in depth coverage of key areas, resulting in a uniquely comprehensive publication. Highlights of this 3rd Edition include increased coverage of the cloning of yeast and animal cells and plant genetic engineering, and new coverage of polymerase chain reactions, DNA fingerprinting, transgenesis and vaccine development, reflecting the rapid growth of interest in these areas. The book presents the information in an easily assimilated form and makes an ideal undergraduate text. It will be of particular interest to students of biology and chemistry, as well as to scientific workers from outside the field who need a rapid introduction to the subject. Molecular Biology and Biotechnology primarily has a teaching function and as such should prove invaluable.
ISBN: 9780854046065
Publication Date: 2000-11-23
Molecular Biology Techniques by Walt Ream; Katharine G. Field
This manual is designed as an intensive introduction to the various tools of molecular biology. It introduces all the basic methods of molecular biology including cloning, PCR, Southern (DNA) blotting, Northern (RNA) blotting, Western blotting, DNA sequencing, oligo-directed mutagenesis, and protein expression.
ISBN: 9780125839907
Publication Date: 1998-11-17
In Pursuit of the Gene by
The mystery of inheritance has captivated thinkers since antiquity, and the unlocking of this mystery--the development of classical genetics--is one of humanity's greatest achievements. This great scientific and human drama is the story told fully and for the first time in this book. Acclaimed science writer James Schwartz presents the history of genetics through the eyes of a dozen or so central players, beginning with Charles Darwin and ending with Nobel laureate Hermann J. Muller. In tracing the emerging idea of the gene, Schwartz deconstructs many often-told stories that were meant to reflect glory on the participants and finds that the "official" version of discovery often hides a far more complex and illuminating narrative. The discovery of the structure of DNA and the more recent advances in genome science represent the culmination of one hundred years of concentrated inquiry into the nature of the gene. Schwartz's multifaceted training as a mathematician, geneticist, and writer enables him to provide a remarkably lucid account of the development of the central ideas about heredity, and at the same time bring to life the brilliant and often eccentric individuals who shaped these ideas. In the spirit of the late Stephen Jay Gould, this book offers a thoroughly engaging story about one of the oldest and most controversial fields of scientific inquiry. It offers readers the background they need to understand the latest findings in genetics and those still to come in the search for the genetic basis of complex diseases and traits.
Molecular Biology and Biotechnology by
The 3rd Edition of this immensely popular textbook brings readers up to date with the latest advances in this rapidly developing field. It has been thoroughly revised and expanded, combining entirely new chapters on current hot topics with existing chapters that have been rewritten and extended. Molecular Biology and Biotechnology 3rd Edition provides real breadth of coverage, taking account of both molecular biology and industrial applications. It also gives in depth coverage of key areas, resulting in a uniquely comprehensive publication. Highlights of this 3rd Edition include increased coverage of the cloning of yeast and animal cells and plant genetic engineering, and new coverage of polymerase chain reactions, DNA fingerprinting, transgenesis and vaccine development, reflecting the rapid growth of interest in these areas. The book presents the information in an easily assimilated form and makes an ideal undergraduate text. It will be of particular interest to students of biology and chemistry, as well as to scientific workers from outside the field who need a rapid introduction to the subject. Molecular Biology and Biotechnology primarily has a teaching function and as such should prove invaluable.
Molecular Biology Techniques by
This manual is designed as an intensive introduction to the various tools of molecular biology. It introduces all the basic methods of molecular biology including cloning, PCR, Southern (DNA) blotting, Northern (RNA) blotting, Western blotting, DNA sequencing, oligo-directed mutagenesis, and protein expression.