Heat Transfer (PDT 202/3)

With complete coverage of the basic principles of heat transfer along with a broad range of applications in a flexible format, Heat Transfer: A Practical Approach, provides the perfect blend of fundamentals and applications. The text provides a highly intuitive and practical understanding of the material by emphasizing the physics and the underlying physical phenomena involved. Using a reader-friendly approach and a conversational writing style, the book is self-instructive and entertains while it teaches. It shows that highly technical matter can be communicated effectively in a simple yet precise language.

A core task of engineers is to analyse energy related problems. The analytical treatment is usually based on principles of thermodynamics, fluid mechanics and heat transfer, but is increasingly being handled computationally. This unique resource presents a practical textbook, written for both undergraduates and professionals, with a series of over 60 computer workbooks on an accompanying CD. The book emphasizes how complex problems can be deconstructed into a series of simple steps. All thermophysical property computations are illustrated using diagrams within text and on the companion CD.

Relates introductory heat transfer concepts to other disciplines, namely thermodynamics and fluid mechanics. Reflects changes currently taking place in the research community as well as engineering education. Emphasizes that real applications tend to be interdisciplinary and require a solid foundation in all areas of the thermal sciences. Emphasizes design, or the synthesizing of two or more issues into an answer with practical meaning. Design questions are drawn from many diverse areas and each question is presented in a fundamental way. Makes a strong case regarding the use of simple and approximate analyses, focusing on order-of-magnitude calculations or ``scale analysis''. Applications are interdisciplinary.

Mass Transferis a derivative version of the mass transfer chapters contained inHeat and Mass Transfer, 1995.New sections have been added dealing with transport in multicomponent systems and the conservation equations for multicomponent gas mixtures.Elementary Mass Transfer, High Mass Transfer Rate Theory, Mass Exchangers, Property Data.

Heat Transfer is a comprehensive textbook aimed at undergraduate students of mechanical, chemical, metallurgical, and aerospace engineering. It will also serve as a useful text to postgraduate students specialising in thermal sciences, practising engineers, and researchers. The book provides an exhaustive coverage of two- and three-dimensional heat conduction, forced and free convection, boiling heat transfer, computer methods in heat transfer, and heat exchangers. The main emphasis is on the understanding of fundamental concepts and their application to complex problems. Its treatment of topics such as solar radiation and the greenhouse effect and the application of computational heat transfer to medical surgery makes it contemporary as well as informative. Written in a lucid style, the book contains a large number of solved and unsolved problems to make for a student-friendly book. A large number of illustrations aid the explanations provided in the text. Emphasises the fundamental concepts with easy-to-understand mathematics Provides detailed solution methodologies Includes a detailed coverage of the computer methods in heat transfer Reinforces theoretical concepts through numerous solved examples Includes a CD-ROM containing programs for computer methods

Covering many topics, this book contains the proceedings of the Seventh International Conference on Advanced Computational Methods in Heat Transfer.

Most of the texts on heat transfer available in recent years have focused on the mathematics of the subject, typically at an advanced level. Engineering students and engineers who have not moved immediately into graduate school need a reference that provides a strong, practical foundation in heat transfer-one that emphasizes real-world problems and helps develop their problem-solving skills. Engineering Heat Transfer fills that need. Extensively revised and thoroughly updated, the Second Edition of this popular text continues to de-emphasize high level mathematics in favor of effective, accurate modeling. A generous number of real-world examples amplify the theory and show how to use derived equations to model physical problems. Exercises that parallel the examples build readers' confidence and prepare them to effectively confront the more complex situations they encounter as professionals. Concise and user-friendly, Engineering Heat Transfer covers conduction, convection, and radiation heat transfer in a manner that does not overwhelm the reader and is uniquely suited to the actual practice of engineering.