It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
The World's #1 Guide to Power Supply Design Now Updated! Recognized worldwide as the definitive guide to power supply design for over 25 years,Switching Power Supply Designhas been updated to cover the latest innovations in technology, materials, and components. This Third Edition presents the basic principles of the most commonly used topologies, providing you with the essential information required to design cutting-edge power supplies. Using a tutorial, how-and-why approach, this expert resource is filled with design examples, equations, and charts. The Third Edition ofSwitching Power Supply Designfeatures: Designs for many of the most useful switching power supply topologies The core principles required to solve day-to-day design problems A strong focus on the essential basics of transformer and magnetics design New to this edition: a full chapter on choke design and optimum drive conditions for modern fast IGBTs Get Everything You Need to Design a Complete Switching Power Supply: Fundamental Switching Regulators * Push-Pull and Forward Converter Topologies * Half- and Full-Bridge Converter Topologies * Flyback Converter Topologies * Current-Mode and Current-Fed Topologies * Miscellaneous Topologies * Transformer and Magnetics Design * High-Frequency Choke Design * Optimum Drive Conditions for Bipolar Power Transistors, MOSFETs, Power Transistors, and IGBTs * Drive Circuits for Magnetic Amplifiers * Postregulators * Turn-on, Turn-off Switching Losses and Low Loss Snubbers * Feedback-Loop Stabilization * Resonant Converter Waveforms * Power Factor and Power Factor Correction * High-Frequency Power Sources for Fluorescent Lamps, and Low-Input-Voltage Regulators for Laptop Computers and Portable Equipment
This book is the most comprehensive study available of the theoretical and practical aspects of controlling and measuring Electromagnetic Interference in switching power supplies, including input filter instability considerations. The new edition is thoroughly revised with six completely new chapters, while the existing EMI chapters are expanded to include many more step-by-step numerical examples and key derivations and EMI mitigation techniques. New topics cover the length and breadth of modern switching power conversion techniques, lucidly explained in simple but thorough terms, now with uniquely detailed "wall-reference charts" providing easy access to even complex topics. Step-by-step and iterative approach for calculating high-frequency losses in forward converter transformers, including Proximity losses based on Dowell's equations Thorough, yet uniquely simple design flow-chart for building DC-DC converters and their magnetic components under typical wide-input supply conditions Step-by-step, solved examples for stabilizing control loops of all three major topologies, using either transconductance or conventional operational amplifiers, and either current-mode or voltage-mode control
This state-of-the-art book covers the basics of emerging areas in power electronics and a broad range of topics such as power switching devices, conversion methods, analysis and techniques, and applications. Its unique approach covers the characteristics of semiconductor devices first, and then discusses the applications of these devices for power conversions. Well-written and easy-to-follow, the book features numerous worked-out examples that demonstrate the applications of conversion techniques in design and analysis of converter circuits.Chapter topics include power semiconductor diodes and circuits, diode rectifiers, power transistors, DC-DC converters, pulse-width modulated inverters, thyristors, resonant pulse inverters, multilevel inverters, controlled rectifiers, AC voltage controllers, static switches, flexible ac transmission systems, power supplies. DC and AC drives, gate drive circuits, and protection of devices and circuits.For individuals in interested in the fields of electrical and electronic engineering.
Offering step-by-step, in-depth coverage, the new Third Edition of Power Electronics: Converters, Applications, and Design provides a cohesive presentation of power electronics fundamentals for applications and design in the power range of 500 kW or less. The text describes a variety of practical and emerging power electronic converters made feasible by the new generation of power semiconductor devices. The new edition is now enhanced with a new CD-ROM, complete with PSpice-based examples, a new magnetics design program, and PowerPoint slides.
Fundamentals of Power Electronics, Second Edition, is an up-to-date and authoritative text and reference book on power electronics. This new edition retains the original objective and philosophy of focusing on the fundamental principles, models, and technical requirements needed for designing practical power electronic systems while adding a wealth of new material. Improved features of this new edition include: A new chapter on input filters, showing how to design single and multiple section filters; Major revisions of material on averaged switch modeling, low-harmonic rectifiers, and the chapter on AC modeling of the discontinuous conduction mode; New material on soft switching, active-clamp snubbers, zero-voltage transition full-bridge converter, and auxiliary resonant commutated pole. Also, new sections on design of multiple-winding magnetic and resonant inverter design; Additional appendices on Computer Simulation of Converters using averaged switch modeling, and Middlebrook's Extra Element Theorem, including four tutorial examples; and Expanded treatment of current programmed control with complete results for basic converters, and much more. This edition includes many new examples, illustrations, and exercises to guide students and professionals through the intricacies of power electronics design. Fundamentals of Power Electronics, Second Edition, is intended for use in introductory power electronics courses and related fields for both senior undergraduates and first-year graduate students interested in converter circuits and electronics, control systems, and magnetic and power systems. It will also be an invaluable reference for professionals working in power electronics, power conversion, and analog and digital electronics.
This textbook, designed for undergraduate students of electrical engineering, offers a comprehensive and accessible introduction to state-of-the-art power semiconductor devices and power electronic converters with an emphasis on design, analysis and realization of numerous types of systems. Each topic is discussed in sufficient depth to expose the fundamental principles, concepts, techniques, methods and circuits, necessary to thoroughly understand power electronic systems.
"Power Electronics is intended as an introduction to the basic theory and practice of modern power electronics and in particular with the application of power electronics theory for d.c and a.c motor control." "This book not only contains teaching material on physical principles of electronic devices, but also the circuit applications of controlled rectifiers, inverters, d.c. choppers, cycloconverters, switch-mode power supply along with practical aspects relating to application of power electronics to d.c motor and a.c motor speed control." "This text is suitable for UG and postgraduate programmes in power electronics and drives in the disciplines of Electrical Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering and Instrumentation and Control Engineering." --Book Jacket.
This concise text on Power Electronics, designed for undergraduate students of Electrical and Electronics engineering, provides an accessible and practical treatment of semiconductor power switching Devices and their use in several types of static power converters. The Book emphasizes the fundamental principles and offers an easy-to-understand explanation of the operation of practical circuits. Beginning with the Study of the characteristics of power switching devices, the text offers a thorough treatment of ac-ac converters, ac-dc converters, dc-dc converters and inverters, helping students understand how switching converters can be made to generate almost any Wave shape and frequency, and how power converters are used in conjunction with electric drives, HVDC Transmission systems, and so forth. A unique feature of the book is the chapter on microcontroller-based applications for the protection and control of power converters. It offers an in-depth analysis of the Intel 8051 microcontroller, its architecture, instruction set, and interfacing techniques. Besides, the utility of digital Signal processors in high performance electric drives is discussed.