It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This book provides a vision and structure to finally synergize all the engineering disciplines that converge in the mold design process. The topics are presented in a top-down manner, beginning with introductory definitions and the "big picture" before proceeding to layout and detailed design of molds. The book provides very pragmatic analysis with worked examples that can be readily adapted to "real world" mold design applications. It should help students and practitioners to understand the inner workings of injection molds and encourage them to think "outside the box" in developing innovative and highly functional mold designs.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
This book presents in a single volume the basic essentials of the properties and processing behaviour of plastics and composites. The aim is to give engineers and technologists a sound understanding of basic principles without the introduction of unduly complex levels of mathematics or chemistry and thereby set plastics in their proper context as engineering materials. This textbook pioneered the approach whereby both properties and processing of reinforced and unreinforced plastics are covered in a single volume. It assumes no prior knowledge of plastics, and emphasises the practical aspects of the subject. In this third edition over half the book has been re-written and the remainder has been updated and re-organised. Early chapters give an introduction to the types of plastics which are currently available and describe how a designer goes about the selection of a plastic for a particular application. Later chapters lead the reader into more advanced aspects of mechanical design and analysis of polymer melt flow. All techniques developed are illustrated by numerous worked examples, and problems are given at the end of each chapter - the solutions to which form one of the appendices.
Written by one of the foremost authorities in the field, Mechanical Tolerance Stackup and Analysis presents proven and easy-to-use methods for determining whether selected dimensioning and tolerancing schemes will yield functional parts and assemblies and the most practical procedure to communicate the results. Using a variety of examples and real-world design challenges that stress the importance of a standardized approach to tolerance stackups, the book helps readers develop effective problem-solving and analytical skills. Demonstrates how to perform "what-if" scenarios to evaluate the effects of changing tolerancing schemes, tolerance values, and assembly sequences. Mechanical Tolerance Stackup and Analysis is an outstanding and must-have reference for all mechanical, manufacturing, design, quality control, project, process, industrial, automation, and assembly engineers and managers; and upper-level undergraduate, graduate, and continuing-education students in these disciplines.
This book is based on the authors' many years of experience in the practice and teaching of mould design. It contains the solutions to the most interesting problems they have encountered during their work. Books on this subject are not very numerous as designers are often reluctant to publish the results of their experiences. This work, however, offers a broad survey of constructional designs which have proved feasible in practice. Through studying these examples designers may find useful ideas for solving other problems. The reader will find with each design a short description of the mould or die and an explanatory list of its most important parts. The descriptions give the characteristics of the moulds while the lists make the designs more understandable. Before the detailed presentation of the designs for plastic moulds and extruders, there is a short theoretical summary which will help the designer select the correct dimensions to save material, energy and time. This part of the book will also help the designer make dimensioning programmes for computers and so perform complicated calculations quickly and accurately. The clear presentation of theory, examples and explanations make the book a useful aid in practical work as well as for study purposes.
The Geometric Dimensioning and Tolerancing: Workbook and Answerbook offers a host of effective examples that utilize the concepts discussed in the reference/text -covering all facets of geometric dimensioning and tolerancing, measurement, inspection, and gaging applicable in any on-the-job situation. Also of interest by James Meadows: Geometric Dimensioning and Tolerancing Applications and Techniques for Use in Design, Manufacturing, and Inspection Measurement of Geometric Tolerances in Manufacturing
Building on the outstanding success of the previous editions, this new edition reinforces its original three-part structure: Part I provides an introduction to design, Part II presents design methods as the core feature of the book and finally, Part III puts the methods into a wider context of managing the overall design within the business process of planning and developing new products. Substantially revised and updated, this text also contains two completely new chapters: * Design Ability, which takes advantage of the new knowledge about design cognition and designers' activities, and * Product Development, which also covers the most recent thinking, including the broader business context of design activity. This third edition will remain at the forefront of engineering and industrial design as as essential text for students and lecturers, as well as practitioners.
For the first time in a single volume, quality control, reliability, and design engineers have a comprehensive overview of how each of their disciplines interact to achieve optimum product and/or project success. Thoroughly covering every stage of each phase, this outstanding reference provides detailed discussions of techniques and methods, ensuring cost-effective and time-saving procedures ... contains over 80 solved problems -- as well as numerous end-of-chapter exercises -- for reinforcement of essential material ... presents a complete, relevant mathematics chapter that eliminates the need to refer to other math texts ... offers self-contained chapters with introductions, summaries, and extensive references for quick, easy reading and additional study. Quality Control, Reliability, and Engineering Design is a key, on-the-job source for quality control, reliability, and design engineers and managers; system engineers and managers; and mechanical, electrical and electronic, industrial, and project engineers and managers. The book also serves as an ideal reference for professional seminars and in-house training programs, as well as for upper-level undergraduate and graduate courses in Quality Control, Reliability, Quality Control and Reliability, and Quality Control of Engineering Design. Book jacket.
This book is for the industrial designer interested in the applications of plastics in products and industry. It explains how different plastics are processed, and it contains extensive examples of common and unusual plastic components and products with an explanation of how they are manufactured. Every year, more products are being replaced or augmented by the same product made from plastic, and this trend has resulted in much debate about the effectiveness of plastic replacements. Today's plastics can be designed to operate in all weather conditions and chemical surroundings. They can be economically produced for short run part production or readily adapted to high quantity production, and they can be cut, glued, tapped, or machined by traditional methods to suit design needs. Explains how to choose the best processing method, what fastening or joining methods can be used, and how to use the characteristics of a plastic to judge its suitability for an application. Covers all major contemporary molding processes. Discusses, in detail, important topics such as surface finish and special effects.