It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to Optimum Design is intended for use in a first course on engineering design and optimization. Virtually any problem for which specific parameters need to be determined to satisfy constraints can be formulated as a design optimization problem. The concepts and methods described in the text are quite general and applicable to all such formulations. Inasmuch, the range of application of the optimum design methodology is almost limitless, constrained only by the imagination and ingenuity of the user. Throughout the text, simple design problems involving two to three design variables and three to four constraints are solved in detail to illustrate fundamental concepts and basic ideas. The necessary results from optimization theory are stated and their implications are studied through application to engineering design problems. Theory and concepts of optimum design are explained only through examples and simple engineering applications. Several of the numerical procedures and concepts described in the text are useful in many other engineering courses and applications. * Allows engineers involved in the design process to adapt optimum design concepts in their work using the material in the text. * Basic concepts of optimality conditions and numerical methods are described with simple examples, making the material high teachable and learnable. * Classroom-tested for many years to attain optimum pedagogical effectiveness.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
The classic introduction to engineering optimization theory and practice--now expanded and updated Engineering optimization helps engineers zero in on the most effective, efficient solutions to problems. This text provides a practical, real-world understanding of engineering optimization. Rather than belaboring underlying proofs and mathematical derivations, it emphasizes optimization methodology, focusing on techniques and stratagems relevant to engineering applications in design, operations, and analysis. It surveys diverse optimization methods, ranging from those applicable to the minimization of a single-variable function to those most suitable for large-scale, nonlinear constrained problems. New material covered includes the duality theory, interior point methods for solving LP problems, the generalized Lagrange multiplier method and generalization of convex functions, and goal programming for solving multi-objective optimization problems. A practical, hands-on reference and text, Engineering Optimization, Second Edition covers: * Practical issues, such as model formulation, implementation, starting point generation, and more * Current, state-of-the-art optimization software * Three engineering case studies plus numerous examples from chemical, industrial, and mechanical engineering * Both classical methods and new techniques, such as successive quadratic programming, interior point methods, and goal programming Excellent for self-study and as a reference for engineering professionals, this Second Edition is also ideal for senior and graduate courses on engineering optimization, including television and online instruction, as well as for in-plant training.
Technical Writing: Principles, Strategies, and Readings offers a flexible combination of instructional chapters and readings that reflect the variety of emphases in today's technical writing classroom. The fifteen instructional chapters offer a general introduction to technical communication, while 24 articles from professional journals and Web sites which constitute about one-fourth of the text offer insight and advice on specific communication topics, including writing for the Web. Strategy Boxes in each chapter also introduce students to important subjects related to technical communication, such as voice mail and videoconferencing. Each concise and self-contained instructional unit includes extended models and exercises which can be used in class or for collaborative or homework assignments. Students who study technical writing as part of their career preparation in science, business, engineering, social services, and technical fields will find this text particularly useful.
A unique, integrative, team-centered approach to writing and formatting technical documents Technical Professionals: Do you have difficulty producing high-quality documents with multiple contributors when faced with a tight deadline? Do you need a process that enables global team members to collaborate online as they produce sophisticated documents? Do you prefer the ease of a WYSIWG desktop publishing tool like Microsoft Word rather than more complex software like LaTeX? Professors and Graduate Students: Do you want to streamline the process of writing multi-investigator papers, reports, proposals, and books? Do you spend a lot of time formatting documents instead of thinking and writing? Do you write research papers in Microsoft Word and then need to convert them to LaTeX for your thesis? Do you write research papers in LaTeX and then need to convert them to Microsoft Word when embarking on collaborations with your colleagues from industry? Undergraduate Students: Do you need to write a research paper and don't know where to start? Do you need to collaborate with classmates on a long paper and find yourself lost in organizational details rather than immersed in the content? If you answered "yes" to any of these questions, Technical Writing for Teams: The STREAM Tools Handbook is for you. It provides an easy-to-learn system that streamlines individual and collaborative writing, allowing you and your teams to instantly become more productive and create the highest quality documents in a minimum amount of time. Introduced here are the STREAM Tools-Scientific and Technical wRiting, Editing, And file Management Tools-which unlock your collaborators' potential and addresses team dynamics, separation of duties, and workflow. You'll see how to ensure compatibility among multiple writers, achieve consistent formatting, organize content, integrate bibliographic databases, automate the process of document preparation, and move content between Microsoft Word and LaTeX. Checklists, guidelines, and success stories are also included to help you operate as efficiently as possible. From planning and editing documents to solving common team writing problems to managing workflow, Technical Writing for Teams: The STREAM Tools Handbook is the one-stop reference that allows teams to collaborate successfully and create unified, effective documents.