It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Engineering Thermofluids is a unique textbook, which brings the three pillars of thermal sciences; thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, and heat transfer under one umbrella. These three distinct, yet intertwined subjects are treated in an integrated manner. The primary audiences for this book are senior undergraduate, graduate, and practicing engineers in the fields of aeronautical, chemical industrial, mechanical, and nuclear engineering. Topics are discussed in detail while still using a simple and easy to follow approach. Numerous walk-through examples are solved and illustrations are provided to guide the reader through more subtle topics. Each chapter starts with a section for the introduction of various terminologies used. The chapter on thermodynamics covers the first law, the second law, the power cycles, and the mixture of gases. The chapter on fluid mechanics covers both steady-state and transient single phase-flow as well as two-phase flow. The chapter on heat transfer covers conduction, convection, radiation, boiling, and condensation. These chapters are followed by the chapter on applications of the engineering thermofluid, which covers the design and operations of various heat exchangers, turbomachines, and flowmeters. Many practical design problems are either solved or provided as homework. Practicing engineers will find this book a useful text to have around for the many practical problems and solutions, illustrations, definitions, methods, tables, and figures provided. The preference throughout the text is on obtaining analytical solutions of a closed form. Numerical solutions as well as experimental results are presented when analytical solutions cannot be found.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Biofliudics has gained in importance in recent years, forcing engineers to redefine mechanical engineering theories and apply them to biological functions. To date, no book has successfully done this. Biofliud Mechanics in Cardiovascular Systems is one of the first books to take an interdisciplinary approach to the subject. Written by a professor and researcher, this book will combine engineering principles with human biology to deliver a text specifically designed for biomedical engineering professionals and students.
The best-selling Fundamentals of Thermal-Fluid Sciences is designed for the non-mechanical engineering student who needs exposure to key concepts in the thermal sciences in order to pass the Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) Exam. This lavishly illustrated text provides a highly intuitive and practical understanding of the material by emphasizing the physics and the underlying physical phenomena involved. Using a reader-friendly approach and a conversational writing style, the book is self-instructive and entertains while it teaches. It shows that highly technical matter can be communicated effectively using simple yet precise language. The text is made up of Thermodynamics, Heat Transfer and Fluids. The laws that govern these three subjects are all the same. Like all the other Cengel texts, it uses a similar pedagogical approach, by using familiar everyday examples.
Technical Writing: Principles, Strategies, and Readings offers a flexible combination of instructional chapters and readings that reflect the variety of emphases in today's technical writing classroom. The fifteen instructional chapters offer a general introduction to technical communication, while 24 articles from professional journals and Web sites which constitute about one-fourth of the text offer insight and advice on specific communication topics, including writing for the Web. Strategy Boxes in each chapter also introduce students to important subjects related to technical communication, such as voice mail and videoconferencing. Each concise and self-contained instructional unit includes extended models and exercises which can be used in class or for collaborative or homework assignments. Students who study technical writing as part of their career preparation in science, business, engineering, social services, and technical fields will find this text particularly useful.
A unique, integrative, team-centered approach to writing and formatting technical documents Technical Professionals: Do you have difficulty producing high-quality documents with multiple contributors when faced with a tight deadline? Do you need a process that enables global team members to collaborate online as they produce sophisticated documents? Do you prefer the ease of a WYSIWG desktop publishing tool like Microsoft Word rather than more complex software like LaTeX? Professors and Graduate Students: Do you want to streamline the process of writing multi-investigator papers, reports, proposals, and books? Do you spend a lot of time formatting documents instead of thinking and writing? Do you write research papers in Microsoft Word and then need to convert them to LaTeX for your thesis? Do you write research papers in LaTeX and then need to convert them to Microsoft Word when embarking on collaborations with your colleagues from industry? Undergraduate Students: Do you need to write a research paper and don't know where to start? Do you need to collaborate with classmates on a long paper and find yourself lost in organizational details rather than immersed in the content? If you answered "yes" to any of these questions, Technical Writing for Teams: The STREAM Tools Handbook is for you. It provides an easy-to-learn system that streamlines individual and collaborative writing, allowing you and your teams to instantly become more productive and create the highest quality documents in a minimum amount of time. Introduced here are the STREAM Tools-Scientific and Technical wRiting, Editing, And file Management Tools-which unlock your collaborators' potential and addresses team dynamics, separation of duties, and workflow. You'll see how to ensure compatibility among multiple writers, achieve consistent formatting, organize content, integrate bibliographic databases, automate the process of document preparation, and move content between Microsoft Word and LaTeX. Checklists, guidelines, and success stories are also included to help you operate as efficiently as possible. From planning and editing documents to solving common team writing problems to managing workflow, Technical Writing for Teams: The STREAM Tools Handbook is the one-stop reference that allows teams to collaborate successfully and create unified, effective documents.