Design of Machinery (ENT 267/3)

Robert L. Norton's fifth edition of DESIGN OF MACHINERY continues the tradition of this best-selling book through its balanced coverage of analysis and design and outstanding use of realistic engineering examples. Through its reader-friendly style of writing, clear exposition of complex topics, and emphasis on synthesis and design, the text succeeds in conveying the art of design as well as the use of modern tools needed for analysis of the kinematics and dynamics of machinery. Topics are explained verbally and visually, often through the use of software, to enhance student understanding. Accompanying each copy of the book is an updated DVD that includes the LINKAGES software package, updated DYNACAM, as well as ENGINE and MATRIX programs. A six-month license for the Working Model program is available for a nominal charge from the website. Additionally, the DVD contains many videos and classroom resources to help instructors and students.

For courses in Mechanism Design and Kinematics in Departments of Engineering Technology, this up-to-date text is an introduction to kinematic analysis that uses actual machines and mechanisms. It provides the techniques necessary to study the motion of machines while emphasizing the application of kinematic theories to real-world problems.

The eighth edition of Shigley's Mechanical Engineering Design maintains the basic approaches that have made this book the standard in machine design for over 40 years. At the same time it combines the straightforward focus on fundamentals instructors have come to expect with a modern emphasis on design and new applications. Overall coverage of basic concepts are clear and concise so that readers can easily navigate key topics. Problem sets have been improved, with new problems added to help students progressively work through them. The book has included ARIS, which will have algorithmic problems. All standards have been updated, which will make this the most current text Also a new chapter on finite elements has been added.

Using contemporary information, this book provides a practical approach to designing machine elements in the context of complete mechanical design. It covers some of the primary machine elements such as belt drives, chain drives, gears, shafts, keys, couplings, seals and rolling contact bearings. It also covers plain surface bearings, linear motion elements, fasteners, springs, machine frames, bolted connections, welded joints, electric motors, controls, clutches and brakes.

The text is designed for undergraduate Mechanical Engineering courses in Kinematics and Dynamics of Machinery. It is a tool for professors who wish to develop the ability of students to formulate and solve problems involving linkages, cams, gears, robotic manipulators and other mechanisms.

Designed for allied health learners with little or no biology knowledge, this full-color book is a comprehensive introduction to anatomy & physiology. It is organized according to body systems, and focuses on the body working together to promote homeostasis. Chapters are self-contained so instructors can teach in any order preferred. Essential laboratory exercises included at the end of chapters provide hands-on lab experience. Key terms with phonetic pronunciations help build vocabulary. Free interactive CD-ROM encourages mastery of content through quizzes, games, and animations.

Designed for the one-semester course,Seeley's Essentials of Anatomy and Physiologyis written to allow instructors the ability to accomplish one overall goal: to teach the basics of AAndP while fostering the skill of problem solving. Through learning how to solve problems and think critically, students learn AAndP based on two themes: the relationship between structure and function, and homeostasis. .