It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
This clear, comprehensive presentation discusses both the theory and applications of mechanics of materials. It examines the physical behavior of materials under load, then proceeds to model this behavior to development theory.Containing Hibbeler’s hallmark student-oriented features, this book is in four-color with a photorealistic art program designed to help students/readers visualize difficult concepts. A clear, concise writing style and more examples than any other book further contribute to students’ /readers ability to master the material. A useful, thorough reference for engineers and students.
MECHANICS OF MATERIALS - an extensive revision of STRENGTH OF MATERIALS, Fourth Edition, by Pytel and Singer - covers all the material found in other Mechanics of Materials texts. What's unique is that Pytel and Kiusalaas separate coverage of basic principles from that of special topics. The authors also apply their time-tested problem solving methodology, which incorporates outlines of procedures and numerous sample problems to help ease students' transition from theory to problem analysis. The result? Your students get the broad introduction to the field that they need along with the problem-solving skills and understanding that will help them in their subsequent studies. To demonstrate, the authors introduce the topic of beams using ideal model as being perfectly elastic, straight bar with a symmetric cross section in ch. 4. They also defer the general transformation equations for stress and strain (including Mohr's Circle) until the students have gained experience with the basics of simplestress and strain. Later, more complicated applications of the principles such as energy methods, inelastic behavior, stress concentrations, and unsymmetrical bending are discussed in ch. 11 - 13 eliminating the need to skip over material when teaching the basics.
An intuition-fostering overview of the engineering design implications of advanced strength of materials. Links concepts and theories of mechanics with realistic applications taken directly from day-to-day civil aerospace, and mechanical engineering practice. Filled with numerous applied engineering examples that give readers an insider's feel for mechanical concepts--includes coverage of Finite Element Methods.
Applications of the principles of mechanics of materials have increased considerably over the last 25 years. Today's routine industrial practices and techniques were only esoteric research topics just a few years ago. That research is now relevant to such diverse but commonplace applications as electronic packaging, medical implantation, geology (seismic prediction), and engineered wood products. It is in this rapidly changing world that Madhukar Vable'sMechanics of Materialstakes its place as a standard text for civil, mechanical, and aerospace engineering majors, as well as for any other engineering discipline that includes mechanics of materials as a basic course. Vable's distinct pedagogical approach translates into exceptional features that enhance student participation in learning. It assumes a complementary connection between intuition, experimental observation, and mathematical generalization, suggesting that intuitive development and understanding need not be at odds with mathematical logic, rigor, and generalization. This approach also emphasizes engineering practice without distracting from the main point of the text. With strong practical examples and real-life engineering problems praised by reviewers,Mechanics of Materialspromises to provide the skills and principles that students need to organize, integrate, and make sense of the flood of information emerging in the world of modern engineering. Pedagogical Features Overview:Each chapter begins with a conciseOverviewthat describes the motivation and major learning objective behind the chapter. Points and Formulas to Remember:Each chapter ends with a convenient one-page synopsis of essential topics. Plans and Comments:Every example starts with aPlanfor solving the problem and ends withCommentsthat connect the example with previous and future concepts in the text, putting examples firmly into context within the field of mechanics. Quick Tests:Quick Testshelp students effectively diagnose their own understanding of text material. Consolidate Your Knowledge:These boxes follow major topics and prompt students to write a synopsis of or derive a formula for material just covered, encouraging development of personal reasoning skills. General Information:These intriguing sections connect historical development and advanced topics to material in each chapter. "Stretch Yourself":Problems labeled "Stretch Yourself" contain important reference material that will be useful to students as future engineers. Closure:Every chapter closes with helpful links to topics in subsequent chapters. Formula Sheet:These useful sheets are found inside the back cover of the book for easy reference. They list equations of essential topics but include no explanations of variables and equations, making them perfect for use during exams.
This book provides a systematic, modern introduction to solid mechanics that is carefully motivated by realistic Engineering applications. Based on 25 years of teaching experience, Raymond Parnes uses a wealth of examples and a rich set of problems to build the reader's understanding of the scientific principles, without requiring 'higher mathematics'. Highlights of the book include The use of modern SI units throughout A thorough presentation of the subject stressing basic unifying concepts Comprehensive coverage, including topics such as the behaviour of materials on a phenomenological level Over 600 problems, many of which are designed for solving with MATLAB, MAPLE or MATHEMATICA. Solid Mechanics in Engineering is designed for 2-semester courses in Solid Mechanics or Strength of Materials taken by students in Mechanical, Civil or Aeronautical Engineering and Materials Science and may also be used for a first-year graduate program.
Technical Writing: Principles, Strategies, and Readings offers a flexible combination of instructional chapters and readings that reflect the variety of emphases in today's technical writing classroom. The fifteen instructional chapters offer a general introduction to technical communication, while 24 articles from professional journals and Web sites which constitute about one-fourth of the text offer insight and advice on specific communication topics, including writing for the Web. Strategy Boxes in each chapter also introduce students to important subjects related to technical communication, such as voice mail and videoconferencing. Each concise and self-contained instructional unit includes extended models and exercises which can be used in class or for collaborative or homework assignments. Students who study technical writing as part of their career preparation in science, business, engineering, social services, and technical fields will find this text particularly useful.
A unique, integrative, team-centered approach to writing and formatting technical documents Technical Professionals: Do you have difficulty producing high-quality documents with multiple contributors when faced with a tight deadline? Do you need a process that enables global team members to collaborate online as they produce sophisticated documents? Do you prefer the ease of a WYSIWG desktop publishing tool like Microsoft Word rather than more complex software like LaTeX? Professors and Graduate Students: Do you want to streamline the process of writing multi-investigator papers, reports, proposals, and books? Do you spend a lot of time formatting documents instead of thinking and writing? Do you write research papers in Microsoft Word and then need to convert them to LaTeX for your thesis? Do you write research papers in LaTeX and then need to convert them to Microsoft Word when embarking on collaborations with your colleagues from industry? Undergraduate Students: Do you need to write a research paper and don't know where to start? Do you need to collaborate with classmates on a long paper and find yourself lost in organizational details rather than immersed in the content? If you answered "yes" to any of these questions, Technical Writing for Teams: The STREAM Tools Handbook is for you. It provides an easy-to-learn system that streamlines individual and collaborative writing, allowing you and your teams to instantly become more productive and create the highest quality documents in a minimum amount of time. Introduced here are the STREAM Tools-Scientific and Technical wRiting, Editing, And file Management Tools-which unlock your collaborators' potential and addresses team dynamics, separation of duties, and workflow. You'll see how to ensure compatibility among multiple writers, achieve consistent formatting, organize content, integrate bibliographic databases, automate the process of document preparation, and move content between Microsoft Word and LaTeX. Checklists, guidelines, and success stories are also included to help you operate as efficiently as possible. From planning and editing documents to solving common team writing problems to managing workflow, Technical Writing for Teams: The STREAM Tools Handbook is the one-stop reference that allows teams to collaborate successfully and create unified, effective documents.