Machines & Electrical Drives (ENT 223/3)

This best-selling book employs a theoretical, practical, multidisciplinary approach to provide introductory users with a broad understanding of modern electric power. The scope of the book reflects the rapid changes that have occurred in power technology over the past few years–allowing the entrance of power electronics into every facet of industrial drives, and expanding the field to open more career opportunities.The author covers thefundamentals of electricity, magnetism and circuits, mechanics and heat, electrical machines and transformers, electrical and electronic drives, and electric utility power systems.For managers of electrical utilities, electricians, electrical contractors and electrical maintenance personnel.

Electric Machinery Fundamentalscontinues to be a best-selling machinery text due to its accessible, student-friendly coverage of the important topics in the field. In the fifth edition, the use of MATLAB® continues to be incorporated in examples and problems, where applicable. The targeted and thought-provoking problems you've come to appreciate have been retained in this edition. Chapman continues to share his up-to-date knowledge and experiences in the field in an engaging and understandable style.

The astounding technological developments of our age depend on a safe, reliable, and economical supply of electric power. It stands central to continued innovations and particularly to the future of developing countries. Therefore, the importance of electric power engineering cannot be overstated, nor can the importance of this handbook to the power engineer. Until now, however, power engineers have had no comprehensive reference to help answer their questions quickly, concisely, and authoritatively-A one-stop reference written by electric power engineers specifically for electric power engineers.

Technical Writing: Principles, Strategies, and Readings offers a flexible combination of instructional chapters and readings that reflect the variety of emphases in today's technical writing classroom. The fifteen instructional chapters offer a general introduction to technical communication, while 24 articles from professional journals and Web sites which constitute about one-fourth of the text offer insight and advice on specific communication topics, including writing for the Web. Strategy Boxes in each chapter also introduce students to important subjects related to technical communication, such as voice mail and videoconferencing. Each concise and self-contained instructional unit includes extended models and exercises which can be used in class or for collaborative or homework assignments. Students who study technical writing as part of their career preparation in science, business, engineering, social services, and technical fields will find this text particularly useful.

A unique, integrative, team-centered approach to writing and formatting technical documents Technical Professionals: Do you have difficulty producing high-quality documents with multiple contributors when faced with a tight deadline? Do you need a process that enables global team members to collaborate online as they produce sophisticated documents? Do you prefer the ease of a WYSIWG desktop publishing tool like Microsoft Word rather than more complex software like LaTeX? Professors and Graduate Students: Do you want to streamline the process of writing multi-investigator papers, reports, proposals, and books? Do you spend a lot of time formatting documents instead of thinking and writing? Do you write research papers in Microsoft Word and then need to convert them to LaTeX for your thesis? Do you write research papers in LaTeX and then need to convert them to Microsoft Word when embarking on collaborations with your colleagues from industry? Undergraduate Students: Do you need to write a research paper and don't know where to start? Do you need to collaborate with classmates on a long paper and find yourself lost in organizational details rather than immersed in the content? If you answered "yes" to any of these questions, Technical Writing for Teams: The STREAM Tools Handbook is for you. It provides an easy-to-learn system that streamlines individual and collaborative writing, allowing you and your teams to instantly become more productive and create the highest quality documents in a minimum amount of time. Introduced here are the STREAM Tools-Scientific and Technical wRiting, Editing, And file Management Tools-which unlock your collaborators' potential and addresses team dynamics, separation of duties, and workflow. You'll see how to ensure compatibility among multiple writers, achieve consistent formatting, organize content, integrate bibliographic databases, automate the process of document preparation, and move content between Microsoft Word and LaTeX. Checklists, guidelines, and success stories are also included to help you operate as efficiently as possible. From planning and editing documents to solving common team writing problems to managing workflow, Technical Writing for Teams: The STREAM Tools Handbook is the one-stop reference that allows teams to collaborate successfully and create unified, effective documents.