It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Similar to its predecessor, this edition presents a clear, comprehensive introduction to signals and linear systems. The book emphasises physical appreciation of concepts through heuristic reasoning, metaphors, analogies, and creative explanations. Such an approach is different from a purely deductive technique that uses mere mathematical manipulation of symbols and ignores the physical meaning behind various derivations, which deprives a student of the enjoyable experience of logically uncovering the subject matter. Here the author uses mathematics not so much to prove axio-matic theory as to support and enhance physical and intuitive understanding. Wherever possible, theoretical results are interpreted heuristically and are enhanced by carefully chosen examples and analogies. The organization of the text allows for a great deal of flexibility in teaching continuous-time and discrete-time concepts. The natural order of the chapters in the book integrates the two; however, the book can also be tailored to teach these concepts sequentially. Its thorough content, practical approach, and structural adaptability make Linear Systems and Signals 2e, ideal for undergraduate courses in linear systems or signals and systems.Covers new topics such as:Fourier applications to communication systemsBode plotsBandpass systemsConvergence of an infinite seriesGroup and phase delayImpulse invariance method of designing analog systems using digital filtersOffers MATLAB focus sessions at the end of each chapterIncludes more than 200 worked examples and end-of-chapter problemsProvides updated and revised illustrations throughoutPresents historical background notes to stimulate interest in the field
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
A clear, comprehensive presentation of both the theory and applications in signals, systems, and transforms, this book presents the mathematical background of signals and systems in relation to practical theory. Well-written and well-organized, it contains many examples and problems for reinforcement of the concepts presented.This book presents the mathematical background of signals and systems, including the Fourier transform, the Fourier series, the Laplace transform, the discrete-time and the discrete Fourier transforms, and the z-transform.For electrical and computer engineers.
This text presents a comprehensive treatment of signal processing and linear systems suitable for advanced undergraduate courses in electrical engineering. Based on B. P. Lathi's widely used book, Linear Systems and Signals, it features additional applications to communications, controls, and filtering as well as new chapters on analog and digital filters and digital signal processing. Lathi emphasizes the physical appreciation of concepts rather than the mere mathematical manipulation of symbols.Avoiding the tendency to treat engineering as a branch of applied mathematics, he uses mathematics to enhance physical and intuitive understanding of concepts, instead of employing it only to prove axiomatic theory. Theoretical results are supported by carefully chosen examples and analogies, allowing students to intuitively discover meaning for themselves.Ancillary material:Instructor's Manual CD (019515214X)
***Book is published and available as of 6/03!!! Signals and Systemsby M.J. Roberts offers a student-centered, pedagogically driven approach to teaching Signals and Systems. The author has a clear understanding of the issues students face in learning the material and does a superior job of addressing these issues. The book is intended to cover a two-semester sequence in Signals and Systems for Juniors in engineering.
For sophomore/junior-level signals and systems courses in Electrical and Computer Engineering departments. Signals, Systems, and Transforms, Fourth Edition is ideal for electrical and computer engineers. The text provides a clear, comprehensive presentation of both the theory and applications in signals, systems, and transforms. It presents the mathematical background of signals and systems, including the Fourier transform, the Fourier series, the Laplace transform, the discrete-time and the discrete Fourier transforms, and the z-transform. The text integrates MATLAB examples into the presentation of signal and system theory and applications.
Technical Writing: Principles, Strategies, and Readings offers a flexible combination of instructional chapters and readings that reflect the variety of emphases in today's technical writing classroom. The fifteen instructional chapters offer a general introduction to technical communication, while 24 articles from professional journals and Web sites which constitute about one-fourth of the text offer insight and advice on specific communication topics, including writing for the Web. Strategy Boxes in each chapter also introduce students to important subjects related to technical communication, such as voice mail and videoconferencing. Each concise and self-contained instructional unit includes extended models and exercises which can be used in class or for collaborative or homework assignments. Students who study technical writing as part of their career preparation in science, business, engineering, social services, and technical fields will find this text particularly useful.
A unique, integrative, team-centered approach to writing and formatting technical documents Technical Professionals: Do you have difficulty producing high-quality documents with multiple contributors when faced with a tight deadline? Do you need a process that enables global team members to collaborate online as they produce sophisticated documents? Do you prefer the ease of a WYSIWG desktop publishing tool like Microsoft Word rather than more complex software like LaTeX? Professors and Graduate Students: Do you want to streamline the process of writing multi-investigator papers, reports, proposals, and books? Do you spend a lot of time formatting documents instead of thinking and writing? Do you write research papers in Microsoft Word and then need to convert them to LaTeX for your thesis? Do you write research papers in LaTeX and then need to convert them to Microsoft Word when embarking on collaborations with your colleagues from industry? Undergraduate Students: Do you need to write a research paper and don't know where to start? Do you need to collaborate with classmates on a long paper and find yourself lost in organizational details rather than immersed in the content? If you answered "yes" to any of these questions, Technical Writing for Teams: The STREAM Tools Handbook is for you. It provides an easy-to-learn system that streamlines individual and collaborative writing, allowing you and your teams to instantly become more productive and create the highest quality documents in a minimum amount of time. Introduced here are the STREAM Tools-Scientific and Technical wRiting, Editing, And file Management Tools-which unlock your collaborators' potential and addresses team dynamics, separation of duties, and workflow. You'll see how to ensure compatibility among multiple writers, achieve consistent formatting, organize content, integrate bibliographic databases, automate the process of document preparation, and move content between Microsoft Word and LaTeX. Checklists, guidelines, and success stories are also included to help you operate as efficiently as possible. From planning and editing documents to solving common team writing problems to managing workflow, Technical Writing for Teams: The STREAM Tools Handbook is the one-stop reference that allows teams to collaborate successfully and create unified, effective documents.