E-Textbook Lists: FKTM - BACHELOR OF TECHNOLOGY IN INDUSTRIAL MACHINING WITH HONOURS

Machinability of Advanced Materials addresses the level of difficulty involved in machining a material, or multiple materials, with the appropriate tooling and cutting parameters.  A variety of factors determine a material's machinability, including tool life rate, cutting forces and power consumption, surface integrity, limiting rate of metal removal, and chip shape. These topics, among others, and multiple examples comprise this research resource for engineering students, academics, and practitioners.

This textbook is aimed at providing an introduction to the subject for undergraduate students studying mechanical and manufacturing engineering at most universities. Many of the universities prescribe a syllabus that contains both Design of Jigs and Fixtures, and Design of Press Tools in a single semester course. Keeping the above in mind, this book is designed in two parts. Part-I deals with Jigs and Fixtures and Part-II is earmarked exclusively for the study of Press Tools. Both these subjects are built progressively in successive chapters. A separate appendix, in each part, provides short answer questions with answers, which will help the students in clarifying doubts and strengthen their knowledge. The explanatory notes and illustrations provided in the book will serve as an aid for learning. End-of-chapter questions and answers will prove useful for self study. This textbook will be extremely useful for the students and practicing engineers studying mechanical, manufacturing, and production engineering.

The book gives an overview of environmental friendly gaseous and vapour, refrigerated compressed gas, solid lubricant, mist lubrication, minimum quantity lubrication (MQL) and vegetable oils that can be used as lubricants and additives in industrial machining applications. This book introduces vegetable oils as viable and good alternative resources because of their environmental friendly, non-toxic and readily biodegradable nature.  The effectiveness of various types of vegetables oils as lubricants and additives in reducing wear and friction is discussed in this book. Engineers and scientist working in the field of lubrication and machining will find this book useful.

Machinability of Advanced Materials addresses the level of difficulty involved in machining a material, or multiple materials, with the appropriate tooling and cutting parameters.  A variety of factors determine a material's machinability, including tool life rate, cutting forces and power consumption, surface integrity, limiting rate of metal removal, and chip shape. These topics, among others, and multiple examples comprise this research resource for engineering students, academics, and practitioners.

In the manufacturing industries, despite the development and improvement of metal forming processes, a great deal of reliance is still placed on metal cutting processes and this will continue into the foreseeable future. Thus, there will continue to be a requirement for the development of improved cutting tool materials, workpiece materials, cutting fluids and testing methods; collectively this activity can be described as improving machinability. Machinability is a parameter which in many ways is vague, sometimes qualitative and very often misunderstood. The purpose of this text is to give a broad understanding of the concept, methods of assessment and ways of improving machinability to the manufacturing engineer, the metallurgist and the materials scientist. The text should also be of interest to those engaged in research in manufacturing engineering and metal cutting. The text, of necessity, does not attempt to give detailed information about the machining characteristics of a wide range of tool and workpiece materials. It is felt that this is beyond the scope of the book and is best left to other sources, such as machinability data banks and the Machining Handbook*, whose main objective is to present this kind of information. It is hoped that the reader will be able to progress logically from the fundamental aspects of the metal cutting process to the sections on the more specific topics of machinability including machinability testing and the properties of tool and workpiece materials which affect their machining performance.

Find the Fault in the Machines Drawing on the author's more than two decades of experience with machinery condition monitoring and consulting for industries in India and abroad, Machinery Condition Monitoring: Principles and Practices introduces the practicing engineer to the techniques used to effectively detect and diagnose faults in machines. Providing the working principle behind the instruments, the important elements of machines as well as the technique to understand their conditions, this text presents every available method of machine fault detection occurring in machines in general, and rotating machines in particular. A Single-Source Solution for Practice Machinery Conditioning Monitoring Since vibration is one of the most widely used fault detection techniques, the book offers an assessment of vibration analysis and rotor-dynamics. It also covers the techniques of wear and debris analysis, and motor current signature analysis to detect faults in rotating mechanical systems as well as thermography, the nondestructive test NDT techniques (ultrasonics and radiography), and additional methods. The author includes relevant case studies from his own experience spanning over the past 20 years, and detailing practical fault diagnosis exercises involving various industries ranging from steel and cement plants to gas turbine driven frigates. While mathematics is kept to a minimum, he also provides worked examples and MATLAB® codes. This book contains 15 chapters and provides topical information that includes: A brief overview of the maintenance techniques Fundamentals of machinery vibration and rotor dynamics Basics of signal processing and instrumentation, which are essential for monitoring the health of machines Requirements of vibration monitoring and noise monitoring Electrical machinery faults Thermography for condition monitoring Techniques of wear debris analysis and some of the nondestructive test (NDT) techniques for condition monitoring like ultrasonics and radiography Machine tool condition monitoring Engineering failure analysis Several case studies, mostly on failure analysis, from the author's consulting experience Machinery Condition Monitoring: Principles and Practices presents the latest techniques in fault diagnosis and prognosis, provides many real-life practical examples, and empowers you to diagnose the faults in machines all on your own.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Practical CNC design, construction, and operation techniques Gain a thorough understanding of computerbasednumerical control systems, components, and technologies. Featuring hundreds of color images and schematic diagrams, CNC Handbook explains machining fundamentals and shows you how to build and safely operate fully automated,technically sophisticated mechatronic equipment. Learn how to work with position controllers, accomplish rapid and precise machine motions, use CAD and CAM systems, and integrate CNC into IT networks. The latest CNC programming languages, flexible manufacturing systems, and troubleshooting methods are also discussed in this hands-on guide. CNC HANDBOOK COVERS: Open- and closed-loop control systems Programmable logic controllers and switches Machine tools and machining centers Turning, milling, and grinding equipment Industrial robots and robot controllers Additive and flexible manufacturing systems Direct and distributed numerical control CNC programming platforms and languages Close-to-process production measurement

Quenching is one of the most fundamentally complex processes in the heat treatment of metals, and it is something on which mechanical properties and distortion of engineering components depend. With chapters written by the most respected international experts in the field, Quenching Theory and Technology, Second Edition presents the most authoritat

This thorough reference work discusses various causes of failure with integrated coverage of process metallurgy of steels by forging, casting, welding, and various heat treatment processes. The breadth of coverage and the numerous examples provide an invaluable resource for the designer, engineer, metallurgist, mechanical and materials engineers, quality control technicians, and heat treaters. Potential failures of heat treated steel are detailed to help identify cause in preventing future occurrence and improving reliability of heat treating process and part performance. With a detailed focus on steel failures, this work can help identify root causes of failure, even if a thermal process is not specifically being considered as cause. Potential failures are covered with respect to design, material composition, component production, and thermal processing. Beginning with design aspects of component failure, chapters are devoted to several aspects of steel manufacturing including casting, forging or powder metallurgy in addition to heat treating operations. Topics include production problems such as porosity, flaws, and surface defect that may influence failures occurring during subsequent heat treatment or during use. Many examples of heat treatment failures are provided with special focus on the demands of tool steels and aerospace materials.

One of two self-contained volumes belonging to the newly revised Steel Heat Treatment Handbook, Second Edition, this book examines the behavior and processes involved in modern steel heat treatment applications. Steel Heat Treatment: Metallurgy and Technologies presents the principles that form the basis of heat treatment processes while inc

Navigate equity investments and asset valuation with confidence Equity Asset Valuation, Fourth Edition blends theory and practice to paint an accurate, informative picture of the equity asset world. The most comprehensive resource on the market, this text supplements your studies for the third step in the three-level CFA certification program by integrating both accounting and finance concepts to explore a collection of valuation models and challenge you to determine which models are most appropriate for certain companies and circumstances. Detailed learning outcome statements help you navigate your way through the content, which covers a wide range of topics, including how an analyst approaches the equity valuation process, the basic DDM, the derivation of the required rate of return within the context of Markowitz and Sharpe's modern portfolio theory, and more.

Startup money is moving online, and this guide shows you how it works. The Art of Startup Fundraising takes a fresh look at raising money for startups, with a focus on the changing face of startup finance. New regulations are making the old go-to advice less relevant, as startup money is increasingly moving online. These new waters are all but uncharted--and founders need an accessible guide. This book helps you navigate the online world of startup fundraising with easy-to-follow explanations and expert perspective on the new digital world of finance. You'll find tips and tricks on raising money and investing in startups from early stage to growth stage, and develop a clear strategy based on the new realities surrounding today's startup landscape. The finance world is in a massive state of flux. Changes are occurring at an increasing pace in all sectors, but few more intensely than the startup sphere. When the paradigm changes, your processes must change with it. This book shows you how startup funding works, with expert coaching toward the new rules on the field. Learn how the JOBS Act impacts the fundraising model Gain insight on startups from early stage to growth stage Find the money you need to get your venture going Craft your pitch and optimize the strategy Build momentum Identify the right investors Avoid the common mistakes Don't rely on the "how we did it" tales from superstar startups, as these stories are unique and applied to exceptional scenarios. The game has changed, and playing by the old rules only gets you left behind. Whether you're founding a startup or looking to invest, The Art of Startup Fundraising provides the up-to-the-minute guidance you need.

Hailed as a groundbreaking and important textbook upon its initial publication, the latest iteration of Product Design for Manufacture and Assembly does not rest on those laurels. In addition to the expected updating of data in all chapters, this third edition has been revised to provide a top-notch textbook for university-level courses in product design and manufacturing design. The authors have added a comprehensive set of problems and student assignments to each chapter, making the new edition substantially more useful. See what's in the Third Edition: Updated case studies on the application of DFMA techniques Extended versions of the classification schemes of the features of products that influence the difficulty of handling and insertion for manual, high-speed automatic, and robot assembly Discussions of changes in the industry such as increased emphasis on the use of surface mount devices New data on basic manufacturing processes Coverage of powder injection molding Recognized as international experts on the re-engineering of electro-mechanical products, the methods and guidelines developed by Boothroyd, Dewhurst, and Knight have been documented to provide significant savings in the product development process. Often attributed with creating a revolution in product design, the authors have been working in product design manufacture and assembly for more than 25 years. Based on theory yet highly practical, their text defines the factors that influence the ease of assembly and manufacture of products for a wide range of the basic processes used in industry. It demonstrates how to develop competitive products that are simpler in configuration and easier to manufacture with reduced overall costs.

Technology Entrepreneurship: Taking Innovation to the Marketplace, Third Edition provides a practical toolkit for potential entrepreneurs with technology backgrounds that will help them navigate complex issues such as raising capital, IP protection, product development, and more. The book's structure follows the entrepreneurial process in a step-by-step way, defining key terms and helping readers without business qualifications engage with the activities addressed. In addition, it covers a discussion of current trends and developments relevant for tomorrow's entrepreneurs. In-depth information on the practicalities of technology entrepreneurship are combined with experience from academics to provide a unique resource on how to approach this crucial subject. Presents an intense focus on product design and development, with customers and markets in mind Includes extensive discussions on intellectual property development, management and protection Provides potent insights into marketing and selling technology products to the global marketplace Covers techniques for forecasting financials, raising funds, establishing venture valuation, and exit strategies

Startup money is moving online, and this guide shows you how it works. The Art of Startup Fundraising takes a fresh look at raising money for startups, with a focus on the changing face of startup finance. New regulations are making the old go-to advice less relevant, as startup money is increasingly moving online. These new waters are all but uncharted--and founders need an accessible guide. This book helps you navigate the online world of startup fundraising with easy-to-follow explanations and expert perspective on the new digital world of finance. You'll find tips and tricks on raising money and investing in startups from early stage to growth stage, and develop a clear strategy based on the new realities surrounding today's startup landscape. The finance world is in a massive state of flux. Changes are occurring at an increasing pace in all sectors, but few more intensely than the startup sphere. When the paradigm changes, your processes must change with it. This book shows you how startup funding works, with expert coaching toward the new rules on the field. Learn how the JOBS Act impacts the fundraising model Gain insight on startups from early stage to growth stage Find the money you need to get your venture going Craft your pitch and optimize the strategy Build momentum Identify the right investors Avoid the common mistakes Don't rely on the "how we did it" tales from superstar startups, as these stories are unique and applied to exceptional scenarios. The game has changed, and playing by the old rules only gets you left behind. Whether you're founding a startup or looking to invest, The Art of Startup Fundraising provides the up-to-the-minute guidance you need.

**Improving Product Reliability and Software Quality, 2nd Edition** provides a comprehensive guide to designing and producing reliable technology products. It addresses challenges in hardware reliability, software quality, and security, offering tools and strategies for effective implementation. This updated edition includes new chapters on software tools, quality processes, and security, along with expanded sections on FMEA, predictive maintenance, and Prognostics and Health Management (PHM). It introduces reliability modeling updates, hiring practices, and strategies to mitigate risks like counterfeit components. Designed for engineers, managers, and consultants, the book equips readers with practical tools and multidisciplinary insights for enhancing product reliability throughout the lifecycle.

Practical Machinery Safety aims to provide you with the knowledge to tackle machinery safety control problems at a practical level whilst achieving compliance with national and international standards.The book highlights the major international standards that are used to support compliance with EU regulations and uses these standards as a basis for the design procedures. It looks at the risk assessment processes used to identify hazards and to quantify the risks inherent in a machine. It introduces the concepts of safety categories as defined by standard EN954-1 (Safety of Machinery) and illustrates the principles of failsafe design, fault tolerance and self-testing.It also provides an introduction to machinery protection devices such as guards, enclosures with interlocks and guard-monitoring relays, locking systems, safety mats, photo-electric and electro-sensitive principles and the application of light curtains, a study of Safety Control System techniques, and introduces the principles of safety-certified PLCs.- Plan and implement safety systems that deliver a safe working environment and compliance with national and international standards- Apply simple risk assessments and hazard design methods to your own projects- Identify hazards that occur with machinery and know how to deal with them

Assembly is the process by which parts become products that do useful things. It is therefore fundamental to the work of every mechanical engineer. Yet the design of assemblies and the process of assembling them are rarely taught in universities. In Mechanical Assemblies: Their Design, Manufacture, and Role in Product Development, author Daniel E. Whitney draws on more than thirty years of academic and industry experience to fill this significant gap in the mechanical engineering curriculum. The first book to develop a systematic approach to the modeling and design of assemblies, this text addresses the subject on two levels. Assembly in the Small develops a systematic theory for the design of assemblies with their functions in mind, starting from the basic principles of mechanical constraint and including methods for representing assemblies mathematically. In addition, important assembly analysis techniques such as predicting variation and generating assembly sequences are covered using a consistent mathematical formulation. Assembly in the Large deals with the role of assemblies in product development, including product architecture, design for assembly, and manufacturing strategy, as well as design and evaluation of assembly processes and systems. Mechanical Assemblies: Their Design, Manufacture, and Role in Product Development is ideal for advanced undergraduate or graduate courses in design, production, or manufacturing systems. Engineering professionals will find a new way to view the relationship between design and manufacturing and theoretical support for their experience.