E-Textbook Lists: FKTM - BACHELOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY (MATERIAL PROCESSING) WITH HONOURS

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Whether you are a beginning C programmer or a seasoned pro, the answers to all your C questions can be found in this one-stop resource Another gem from Herb Schildt--best-selling programming author with more than 2.5 million books sold! C: The Complete Reference, Fourth Edition gives you full details on C99, the New ANSI/ISO Standard for C. You'll get in-depth coverage of the C language and function libraries as well as all the newest C features, including restricted pointers, inline functions, variable-length arrays, and complex math. This jam-packed resource includes hundreds of examples and sample applications.

This textbook is an ideal introduction in college courses or self-study for learning computer programming using the C language. Written for those with minimal or no programming experience, Computer Programming in C for Beginners offers a heavily guided, hands-on approach that enables the reader to quickly start programming, and then progresses to cover the major concepts of C programming that are critical for an early stage programmer to know and understand. While the progression of topics is conventional, their treatment is innovative and designed for rapid understanding of the many concepts in C that have traditionally proven difficult for beginners, such as variable typing and scope, function definition, passing by value, pointers, passing by reference, arrays, structures, basic memory management, dynamic memory allocation, and linked lists, as well as an introductory treatment of searching and sorting algorithms.  Written in an informal but clear narrative, the book uses extensive examples throughout and provides detailed guidance on how to write the C code to achieve the objectives of the example problems. Derived from the author's many years of teaching hands-on college courses, it encourages the reader to follow along by programming the progressively more complex exercise programs presented. In some sections, errors are purposely inserted into the code to teach the reader about the common pitfalls of programming in general, and the C language in particular.

An Introduction to Object-Oriented Programming in C++ with applications in Computer Graphics introduces the reader to programming in C++ step by step from the simplest of C++ programs, through features such as classes and templates to namespaces. Emphasis is placed on developing a good programming technique and demonstrating when and how to use the more advanced features of C++ through the development of realistic programming tools and classes. This revised and extended 2nd edition includes: - the Standard Template Library (STL), a major addition to the ANSI C++ standard - full coverage of all the major topics of C++, such as Templates; exception handling; RTTI - practical tools developed for object-oriented computer graphics programming All code program files and exercises are ANSI C++ compatible and have been compiled on both Borland C++ v5.5 and GNU/Linux g++ v2.91 compilers.

Optimize Designs in Less TimeAn essential element of equipment and system design, computer aided design (CAD) is commonly used to simulate potential engineering problems in order to help gauge the magnitude of their effects. Useful for producing 3D models or drawings with the selection of predefined objects, Computer Aided Design: A Conceptual Appr

This book provides a key understanding of CATIA which is a solid modeling software. By using screen shots of step-by-step training, the reader will obtain comprehensive knowledge of all tools provided in CATIA for use in a variety of engineering fields. The book introduces CATIA basics, covers part design, discusses sheet metal design, talks about assembly, presents drawings and shows modeling of an engineered component. The primary aim of this book is to assist in learning the use of CATIA software through examples taken from various areas of engineering. The content and treatment of the subject matter is most appropriate for university students studying engineering and practicing engineers who wish to learn the use of CATIA.

This expanded new edition is specifically designed to meet the needs of the process industry, and  closes the gap between theory and practice. Back-to-basics approach, with a focus on techniques that have an immediate practical application, and heavy maths relegated to the end of the book Written by an experienced practitioner, highly regarded by major corporations, with 25 years of teaching industry courses Supports the increasing expectations for Universities to teach more practical process control (supported by IChemE)

As a mature topic in chemical engineering, the book provides methods, problems and tools used in process control engineering. It discusses: process knowledge, sensor system technology, actuators, communication technology, and logistics, design and construction of control systems and their operation. The knowledge goes beyond the traditional process engineering field by applying the same principles, to biomedical processes, energy production and management of environmental issues. The book explains all the determinations in the "chemical systems" or "process systems", starting from the beginning of the processes, going through the intricate interdependency of the process stages, analyzing the hardware components of a control system and ending with the design of an appropriate control system for a process parameter or a whole process. The book is first addressed to the students and graduates of the departments of Chemical or Process Engineering. Second, to the chemical or process engineers in all industries or research and development centers, because they will notice the resemblance in approach from the system and control point of view, between different fields which might seem far from each other, but share the same control philosophy.

This book presents the most important methods used for the design of digital controls implemented in industrial applications. The best modelling  and identification techniques for dynamical systems are presented as well as the algorithms for the implementation of the modern solutions of process control. The proposed described methods are illustrated by various case studies for the main industrial sectors There exist a number of books related each one to a single type of control, yet usually without comparisons for various industrial sectors. Some other books present modelling and identification methods or signal processing. This book presents the methods to solve all the problems linked to the design of a process control without the need to find additional information.

Essential MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists, Sixth Edition, provides a concise, balanced overview of MATLAB's functionality that facilitates independent learning, with coverage of both the fundamentals and applications. The essentials of MATLAB are illustrated throughout, featuring complete coverage of the software's windows and menus. Program design and algorithm development are presented clearly and intuitively, along with many examples from a wide range of familiar scientific and engineering areas. This updated edition includes the latest MATLAB versions through 2016a, and is an ideal book for a first course on MATLAB, or for an engineering problem-solving course using MATLAB, as well as a self-learning tutorial for professionals and students expected to learn and apply MATLAB.

Incorporating Chinese, European, and International standards and units of measurement, this book presents a classic subject in an up-to-date manner with a strong emphasis on failure analysis and prevention-based machine element design. It presents concepts, principles, data, analyses, procedures, and decision-making techniques necessary to design safe, efficient, and workable machine elements. Design-centric and focused, the book will help students develop the ability to conceptualize designs from written requirements and to translate these design concepts into models and detailed manufacturing drawings. Presents a consistent approach to the design of different machine elements from failure analysis through strength analysis and structural design, which facilitates students' understanding, learning, and integration of analysis with design Fundamental theoretical topics such as mechanics, friction, wear and lubrication, and fluid mechanics are embedded in each chapter to illustrate design in practice Includes examples, exercises, review questions, design and practice problems, and CAD examples in each self-contained chapter to enhance learning  Analysis and Design of Machine Elements is a design-centric textbook for advanced undergraduates majoring in Mechanical Engineering. Advanced students and engineers specializing in product design, vehicle engineering, power machinery, and engineering will also find it a useful reference and practical guide.

Modern Machining Technology: Advanced, Hybrid, Micro Machining and Super Finishing Technology explores complex and precise components with challenging shapes that are increasing in demand in industry. As the first book to cover all major technologies in this field, readers will find the latest technical developments and research in one place, allowing for easy comparison of specifications. Technologies covered include mechanical, thermal, chemical, micro and hybrid machining processes, as well as the latest advanced finishing technologies. Each topic is accompanied by a basic overview, examples of typical applications and studies of performance criteria. In addition, readers will find comparative advantages, model questions and solutions.

This book provides a step-by-step guide to writing the different chapters of a PhD dissertation, which will benefit aspiring, beginner and mid-track PhD students and candidates in the Social Sciences. Based on the authors'combined experience of working with both Masters and PhD students through the dissertation writing process, it offers helpful writing guidelines, from the conceptualization and problematization of the dissertation through to the literature review, methodological issues, writing up results and, finally, to the discussion, conclusions and abstract writing process. With chapters dedicated to offering guidelines, suggestions and pitfalls to watch out for, this book will assist PhD students and candidates in the fields of the various Social Sciences with exercises and pointers on successfully navigating the writing of a PhD dissertation. It takes the PhD student in the Social Sciences through the maze of writing a dissertation, and provides a step-by-step train of thought throughout the entire writing process

This book provides a step-by-step guide to writing the different chapters of a PhD dissertation, which will benefit aspiring, beginner and mid-track PhD students and candidates in the Social Sciences. Based on the authors'combined experience of working with both Masters and PhD students through the dissertation writing process, it offers helpful writing guidelines, from the conceptualization and problematization of the dissertation through to the literature review, methodological issues, writing up results and, finally, to the discussion, conclusions and abstract writing process. With chapters dedicated to offering guidelines, suggestions and pitfalls to watch out for, this book will assist PhD students and candidates in the fields of the various Social Sciences with exercises and pointers on successfully navigating the writing of a PhD dissertation. It takes the PhD student in the Social Sciences through the maze of writing a dissertation, and provides a step-by-step train of thought throughout the entire writing process

Modern Machining Technology: Advanced, Hybrid, Micro Machining and Super Finishing Technology explores complex and precise components with challenging shapes that are increasing in demand in industry. As the first book to cover all major technologies in this field, readers will find the latest technical developments and research in one place, allowing for easy comparison of specifications. Technologies covered include mechanical, thermal, chemical, micro and hybrid machining processes, as well as the latest advanced finishing technologies. Each topic is accompanied by a basic overview, examples of typical applications and studies of performance criteria. In addition, readers will find comparative advantages, model questions and solutions.

Incorporating Chinese, European, and International standards and units of measurement, this book presents a classic subject in an up-to-date manner with a strong emphasis on failure analysis and prevention-based machine element design. It presents concepts, principles, data, analyses, procedures, and decision-making techniques necessary to design safe, efficient, and workable machine elements. Design-centric and focused, the book will help students develop the ability to conceptualize designs from written requirements and to translate these design concepts into models and detailed manufacturing drawings. Presents a consistent approach to the design of different machine elements from failure analysis through strength analysis and structural design, which facilitates students' understanding, learning, and integration of analysis with design Fundamental theoretical topics such as mechanics, friction, wear and lubrication, and fluid mechanics are embedded in each chapter to illustrate design in practice Includes examples, exercises, review questions, design and practice problems, and CAD examples in each self-contained chapter to enhance learning  Analysis and Design of Machine Elements is a design-centric textbook for advanced undergraduates majoring in Mechanical Engineering. Advanced students and engineers specializing in product design, vehicle engineering, power machinery, and engineering will also find it a useful reference and practical guide.

Every day we interact with thousands of consumer products. We not only expect them to perform their functions safely, reliably, and efficiently, but also to do it so seamlessly that we don't even think about it. However, with the many factors involved in consumer product design, from the application of human factors and ergonomics principles to reducing risks of malfunction and the total life cycle cost, well, the process just seems to get more complex. Edited by well-known and well-respected experts, the two-volumes of Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics in Consumer Product Design simplify this process. The first volume, Human Factors and Ergonomics in Consumer Product Design: Methods and Techniques, outlines the how to incorporate Human Factors and Ergonomics (HF/E) principles and knowledge into the design of consumer products in a variety of applications. It discusses the user-centered design process, starting with how mental workload affects every day interactions with consumer products and what lessons may be applied to product design. The book then highlights the ever-increasing role of information technology, including digital imaging, video and other media, and virtual reality applications in consumer product design. It also explores user-centered aspect of consumer product development with discussions of user-centered vs. task-based approach, articulation and assessment of user requirements and needs, interaction with design models, and eco design. With contributions from a team of researchers from 21 countries, the book covers the current state of the art methods and techniques of product ergonomics. It provides an increased knowledge of how to apply the HF/E principles that ultimately leads to better product design.

Discover the latest developments in ergonomics and human factors with the newest edition of this market leading reference In the newly revised Fifth Edition of Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics, Drs. Gavriel Salvendy and Waldemar Karwowski deliver a comprehensive exploration of workplace environment design, human-machine interfaces, and cutting-edge research on the reduction of health and safety risks. The editors have compiled practical material from an international team of leading experts in ergonomics and human factors that will benefit specialists in the area, as well as safety engineers and human-computer interaction specialists. The Handbook includes information culled from over 7500 sources and features brand new coverage in areas like artificial intelligence, social media, information technology and cybersecurity, and data analytics. Numerous case studies demonstrate the real-world application of the concepts and methods discussed within and showcase the extraordinary developments in the field since the publication of the Fourth Edition in 2012. Readers will also benefit from the inclusion of: A thorough introduction to the human factors function, including the discipline of human factors and ergonomics and human systems design and integration An exploration of the fundamentals of human factors, including sensation and perception, selection and action control, information processing, and mental workload Discussions of the design of equipment, tasks, jobs, and environments, including workplace design, task analysis and design, and training systems An in-depth treatment of design for health, safety, and comfort, including low-back and upper extremity musculoskeletal disorders and the use of personal protective equipment Perfect for ergonomics and human factors engineers at any level of their careers, Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics will also earn a place in the libraries of design engineers, applied psychologists, human-computer interaction specialists, engineering and technology managers, and safety professionals and industrial hygienists.

Materials and the Environment, Third Edition, discusses the history of our increasing dependence on materials and energy. The book explains where materials come from and how they are used in a variety of industries, along with their lifecycle and relationship to energy and carbon. In addition, it covers the controls and economic instruments that hinder the use of engineering materials, considers sustainability from a materials perspective, and highlights the importance of low-carbon power and material efficiency. Further sections cover the mechanical, thermal and electrical properties of engineering metals, polymers, ceramics, composites and natural materials and their relationship to environmental issues. This book is intended for instructors and students of Engineering, Materials Science and Industrial/Product Design, as well as for materials engineers and product designers who need to consider the environmental implications of materials in their designs.

Global demand for low cost, efficient and sustainable energy production is ever increasing. Driven by recent discoveries and innovation in the science and technology of materials, applications based on functional materials are becoming increasingly important. Functional materials for sustainable energy applications provides an essential guide to the development and application of these materials in sustainable energy production. Part one reviews functional materials for solar power, including silicon-based, thin-film, and dye sensitized photovoltaic solar cells, thermophotovoltaic device modelling and photoelectrochemical cells. Part two focuses on functional materials for hydrogen production and storage. Functional materials for fuel cells are then explored in part three where developments in membranes, catalysts and membrane electrode assemblies for polymer electrolyte and direct methanol fuel cells are discussed, alongside electrolytes and ion conductors, novel cathodes, anodes, thin films and proton conductors for solid oxide fuel cells. Part four considers functional materials for demand reduction and energy storage, before the book concludes in part five with an investigation into computer simulation studies of functional materials. With its distinguished editors and international team of expert contributors, Functional materials for sustainable energy applications is an indispensable tool for anyone involved in the research, development, manufacture and application of materials for sustainable energy production, including materials engineers, scientists and academics in the rapidly developing, interdisciplinary field of sustainable energy.

How will we meet rising energy demands? What are our options? Are there viable long-term solutions for the future? Learn the fundamental physical, chemical and materials science at the heart of renewable/non-renewable energy sources, future transportation systems, energy efficiency and energy storage. Whether you are a student taking an energy course or a newcomer to the field, this textbook will help you understand critical relationships between the environment, energy and sustainability. Leading experts provide comprehensive coverage of each topic, bringing together diverse subject matter by integrating theory with engaging insights. Each chapter includes helpful features to aid understanding, including a historical overview to provide context, suggested further reading and questions for discussion. Every subject is beautifully illustrated and brought to life with full color images and color-coded sections for easy browsing, making this a complete educational package. Fundamentals of Materials for Energy and Environmental Sustainability will enable today's scientists and educate future generations.

Manual of Engineering Drawing: British and International Standards, Fifth Edition, chronicles ISO and British Standards in engineering drawings, providing many examples that will help readers understand how to translate engineering specifications into a visual medium. The book includes 6 introductory chapters which provide foundational theory and contextual information regarding the broader context of engineering drawing and design. The concepts enclosed will help readers gain the most out of their drawing skills. As the standards referred to in this book change every few years, this new edition presents an important update.

Covering the principles and techniques you need to successfully manage an engineering or technical project from start to finish, Project Management, Planning and Control is an established and widely recommended project management handbook. Building on its clear and detailed coverage of planning, scheduling and control, this eighth edition includes new case studies from industries including petrochemical and construction, as well as updates throughout to account for changes and best practice in governance and adjudication. It also now includes expanded coverage of AI, Big Data and sustainability. Ideal for those studying for Project Management Professional (PMP) qualifications, Project Management, Planning and Control is aligned with the latest Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK) for both the Project Management Institute (PMI) and the Association of Project Management (APM) and includes questions and answers to help you test your understanding.

The primary purpose of this book is to help you pass the Project Management Professional (PMP) exam administered by the Project Management Institute (PMI). Because the book has a laser-sharp focus on the exam objectives, expert project managers who want to pass the PMP exam can use this book to ensure that they do not miss any objective. Yet this is not simply an exam-cram book. The chapters and the sections within each chapter are presented in a logical learning sequence: A topic and a chapter only depend upon the previously covered topics and chapters, and there is no hopping from topic to topic. The concepts and topics, both simple and complex, are clearly explained when they appear for the first time. No prior knowledge of project management is assumed. This facilitates stepwise learning, prevents confusion, and makes this book useful for anyone who wants to get up to speed quickly to learn the fundamentals of project management, pass the PMP exam, or both, even if they are new to the discipline of project management. A fulllength practice exam with fully explained answers is also included.

PROJECT MANAGEMENT THE #1 GUIDE FOR STUDENTS AND PROFESSIONALS, NOW UPDATED FOR THE LATEST TRENDS AND EMERGING ISSUES Project Management, or the "Project Management bible" as it's widely known, provides practical guidance on all aspects of project management. It features a streamlined approach to PM functions--in full alignment with the concepts and standards outlined in PMI's latest A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge, (PMBOK® Guide)--without stinting on detailed coverage of the tools and methods used at all stages of a project. This 12th Edition has been updated to reflect recent changes to the PMBOK® Guide--Sixth Edition, and features in-depth coverage of emerging topics, including global stakeholder management, causes of failure, agile project management, project governance failure, customer approval milestones, classifying project metrics, and more. Also, supplementary materials are available for students, professionals, and instructors. Understand organizational structures and project management functions Learn how to control costs, manage risk, and analyze trade-offs Examine different methods used for planning, scheduling, QA, and more Work effectively with customers and stakeholders from around the globe As projects increase in scope and complexity, managing them across time zones, language barriers, and technology platforms requires a systematic approach that accounts for every detail. All the more reason to keep Project Management, 12th Edition within arm's reach throughout all stages of the projects you manage.

Boost your performance with improved project management tactics Project Management ToolBox: Tools and Techniques for the Practicing Project Manager, Second Edition offers a succinct explanation of when, where, and how to use project management resources to enhance your work. With updated content that reflects key advances in the project management field, including planning, implementation, control, cost, and scheduling, this revised text offers added material that covers relevant topics, such as agility, change management, governance, reporting, and risk management. This comprehensive resource provides a contemporary set of tools, explaining each tool's purpose and intention, development, customization and variations, and benefits and disadvantages. Additionally, examples, tips, and milestone checks guide you through the application of these tools, helping you practically apply the information you learn. Effective project management can support a company in increasing market share, improving the quality of products, and enhancing customer service. With so many aspects of project management changing as the business world continues to evolve, it is critical that you stay up to date on the latest topics in this field. Explore emerging topics within the world of project management, keeping up to date on the latest, most relevant subject areas Leverage templates, exercises, and PowerPoint presentations to enhance your project management skills Discuss tips, reporting, implementation, documentation, and other essentials of the project management field Consider how project management fits into various industries, including technology, construction, healthcare, and product development Project Management ToolBox: Tools and Techniques for the Practicing Project Manager, Second Edition is an essential resource for experienced project managers and project management students alike.

Designed for use in a standard two-semester engineering thermodynamics course sequence. The first half of the text contains material suitable for a basic thermodynamics course taken by engineers from all majors. The second half of the text is suitable for an applied thermodynamics course in mechanical engineering programs.

This book is a step-by-step guide to die design for tubes and pipes. It offers unique coverage of the topic from a highly practical perspective. Written for plastics processing and design engineers, technical and manufacturing managers, die designers and manufacturers.This comprehensive guide includes worked examples to illustrate problem solving and detailed drawings of complete dies for various applications. It covers mono- and multilayers pipes, as well as important melt flow variables (e.g., pressure drop, shear stress, shear rate, temperature variations, distribution variations) of key materials determined using FEM software.

This book provides a structured methodology and scientific basis for engineering injection molds. The topics are presented in a top-down manner, beginning with introductory definitions and the big picture before proceeding to layout and detailed design of molds. The book provides very pragmatic analysis with worked examples that can be readily adapted to real-world product design applications. It will help students and practitioners to understand the inner workings of injection molds and encourage them to think outside the box in developing innovative and highly functional mold designs. This new edition has been extensively revised with new content that includes more than 80 new and revised figures and tables, coverage of development strategy, 3D printing, in-mold sensors, and practical worksheets, as well as a completely new chapter on the mold commissioning process, part approval, and mold maintenance.

This practice-oriented book describes the construction of an injection mould from the ground up.*Explanation of the particular types of moulds, components, and technical terms*Procedure for design*Techniques, tips, and tricks for the construction of an injection mould*Advantages and disadvantages of various problem-solving approachesUsing as a basis a plastic part (container with cover) that was specially designed for this book, the necessary knowledge for practical implementation is developed through easily understandable text and many descriptive pictures and diagrams. Step by step, the plastic part is modified and extended. The technologies and implementations on the injection mould that are required to achieve this are described by engineering drawings. Maintenance and repair, as well as the essential production techniques, are also discussed.

Materials Selection in Mechanical Design, Fifth Edition, winner of a 2018 Textbook Excellence Award (Texty), describes the procedures for material selection in mechanical design in order to ensure that the most suitable materials for a given application are identified from the full range of materials and section shapes available. Extensively revised for this fifth edition, the book is recognized as one of the leading materials selection texts, providing a unique and innovative resource for students, engineers, and product/industrial designers.

Infrared and Raman Spectroscopy, Principles and Spectral Interpretation, Second Edition provides a solid introduction to vibrational spectroscopy with an emphasis on developing critical interpretation skills. This book fully integrates the use of both IR and Raman spectroscopy as spectral interpretation tools, enabling the user to utilize the strength of both techniques while also recognizing their weaknesses. This second edition more than doubles the amount of interpreted IR and Raman spectra standards and spectral unknowns. The chapter on characteristic group frequencies is expanded to include increased discussions of sulphur and phosphorus organics, aromatic and heteroaromatics as well as inorganic compounds. New topics include a discussion of crystal lattice vibrations (low frequency/THz), confocal Raman microscopy, spatial resolution in IR and Raman microscopy, as well as criteria for selecting Raman excitation wavelengths. These additions accommodate the growing use of vibrational spectroscopy for process analytical monitoring, nanomaterial investigations, and structural and identity determinations to an increasing user base in both industry and academia.

Electrical and instrumentation engineering is changing rapidly, and it is important for the veteran engineer in the field not only to have a valuable and reliable reference work which he or she can consult for basic concepts, but also to be up to date on any changes to basic equipment or processes that might have occurred in the field. Covering all of the basic concepts, from three-phase power supply and its various types of connection and conversion, to power equation and discussions of the protection of power system, to transformers, voltage regulation, and many other concepts, this volume is the one-stop, "go to" for all of the engineer's questions on basic electrical and instrumentation engineering. There are chapters covering the construction and working principle of the DC machine, all varieties of motors, fundamental concepts and operating principles of measuring, and instrumentation, both from a "high end" point of view and the point of view of developing countries, emphasizing low-cost methods. A valuable reference for engineers, scientists, chemists, and students, this volume is applicable to many different fields, across many different industries, at all levels.  It is a must-have for any library.

This practical resource introduces electrical and electronic principles and technology covering theory through detailed examples, enabling students to develop a sound understanding of the knowledge required by technicians in fields such as electrical engineering, electronics and telecommunications. No previous background in engineering is assumed, making this an ideal text for vocational courses at Levels 2 and 3, foundation degrees and introductory courses for undergraduates.

Provides an in-depth understanding of the fundamentals of a wide range of state-of-the-art materials manufacturing processes Modern manufacturing is at the core of industrial production from base materials to semi-finished goods and final products. Over the last decade, a variety of innovative methods have been developed that allow for manufacturing processes that are more versatile, less energy-consuming, and more environmentally friendly. This book provides readers with everything they need to know about the many manufacturing processes of today. Presented in three parts, Modern Manufacturing Processes starts by covering advanced manufacturing forming processes such as sheet forming, powder forming, and injection molding. The second part deals with thermal and energy-assisted manufacturing processes, including warm and hot hydrostamping. It also covers high speed forming (electromagnetic, electrohydraulic, and explosive forming). The third part reviews advanced material removal process like advanced grinding, electro-discharge machining, micro milling, and laser machining. It also looks at high speed and hard machining and examines advances in material modeling for manufacturing analysis and simulation. Offers a comprehensive overview of advanced materials manufacturing processes  Provides practice-oriented information to help readers find the right manufacturing methods for the intended applications  Highly relevant for material scientists and engineers in industry Modern Manufacturing Processes is an ideal book for practitioners and researchers in materials and mechanical engineering. 

The explores the cutting-edge technology of polymer coatings. It discusses fundamentals, fabrication strategies, characterization techniques, and allied applications in fields such as corrosion, food, pharmaceutical, biomedical systems and electronics. It also discusses a few new innovative self-healing, antimicrobial and superhydrophobic polymer coatings.  Current industrial applications and possible potential activities are also discussed.

A practical guide to polymer coatings that covers all aspects from materials to applications  Polymer Coatings is a practical resource that offers an overview of the fundamentals to the synthesis, characterization, deposition methods, and recent developments of polymer coatings. The text includes information about the different polymers and polymer networks in use, resins for solvent- and water-based coatings, and a variety of additives. It presents deposition methods that encompass frequently used mechanical and electrochemical approaches, in addition to the physical-chemical aspects of the coating process. The author covers the available characterization methods including spectroscopic, morphological, thermal and mechanical techniques. The comprehensive text also reviews developments in selected technology areas such as electrically conductive, anti-fouling, and self-replenishing coatings. The author includes insight into the present status of the research field, describes systems currently under investigation, and draws our attention to yet to be explored systems. This important text: * Offers a thorough overview of polymer coatings and their applications * Covers different classes of materials, deposition methods, coating processes, and ways of characterization * Contains a text that is designed to be accessible and helps to apply the acquired knowledge immediately * Includes information on selected areas of research with imminent application potential for functional coatings Written for chemists in industry, materials scientists, polymer chemists, and physical chemists, Polymer Coatings offers a text that contains the information needed to gain an understanding of the charaterization and applications of polymer coatings.

Latex products that we use in everyday life have a great impact on health and lifestyle. This book gives a comprehensive overview of how raw materials are prepared for latex manufacture and how they are converted to products by modern latex dipping methods. Tools for how to solve production problems encountered, quality control and how to validate the processes used in the latex industry are thoroughly discussed and described.

Rubber is used in a vast number of products, from tyres on vehicles to disposable surgical gloves. Increasingly both manufacturers and legislators are realising that recycling is essential for environmental sustainability and can improve the cost of manufacture. The volume of rubber waste produced globally makes it difficult to manage as accumulated waste rubber, especially in the form of tyres, can pose a significant fire risk. Recycling rubber not only prevents this problem but can produce new materials with desirable properties that virgin rubbers lack. This book presents an up-to-date overview of the fundamental and applied aspects of renewability and recyclability of rubber materials, emphasising existing recycling technologies with significant potential for future applications along with a detailed outline of new technology based processing of rubber to reuse and recycle. This book will be of interest to researchers in both academia and industry as well as postgraduate students working in polymer chemistry, materials processing, materials science and engineering.

Collection of selected, peer reviewed papers from the special topic volume with invited peer reviewed papers only. The 23 papers are grouped as follows:Chapter 1: Using of Geopolymers and Pozzolanic MaterialsChapter 2: Polymers and CompositesChapter 3: Green Technologies in Chemical Engineering

Covers core basics and information about the major manufacturing processes. Practical examples, numericals and case studies have been included to elaborate the matter. The subject matter is presented in simple manner with practical approach so that the students need not search references and materials. As most of the interdisciplinary students face difficulties to refer to the existing (elaborated) texts and books in manufacturing since manufacturing is not their core area. This problem has been addressed clearly in the text and the subject has been made interesting and worth reading in a very simple manner. An effort has been made to give a clear picture of existing technologies, their advantages, limitations and applications.

This book provides essential information on metal forming, utilizing a practical distinction between bulk and sheet metal forming. In the field of bulk forming, it examines processes of cold, warm and hot bulk forming, as well as rolling and a new addition, the process of thixoforming. As for the field of sheet metal working, on the one hand it deals with sheet metal forming processes (deep drawing, flange forming, stretch drawing, metal spinning and bending). In terms of special processes, the chapters on internal high-pressure forming and high rate forming have been revised and refined. On the other, the book elucidates and presents the state of the art in sheet metal separation processes (shearing and fineblanking). Furthermore, joining by forming has been added to the new edition as a new chapter describing mechanical methods for joining sheet metals. The new chapter "Basic Principles" addresses both sheet metal and bulk forming, in addition to metal physics, plastomechanics and computational basics; these points are complemented by the newly added topics of metallography and analysis, materials and processes for testing, and tribology and lubrication techniques. The chapters are supplemented by an in-depth description of modern numeric methods such as the finite element method. All chapters have been updated and revised for the new edition, and many practical examples from modern manufacturing processes have been added.

Advanced Composite Materials for Aerospace Engineering: Processing, Properties and Applications predominately focuses on the use of advanced composite materials in aerospace engineering. It discusses both the basic and advanced requirements of these materials for various applications in the aerospace sector, and includes discussions on all the main types of commercial composites that are reviewed and compared to those of metals. Various aspects, including the type of fibre, matrix, structure, properties, modeling, and testing are considered, as well as mechanical and structural behavior, along with recent developments. There are several new types of composite materials that have huge potential for various applications in the aerospace sector, including nanocomposites, multiscale and auxetic composites, and self-sensing and self-healing composites, each of which is discussed in detail. The book's main strength is its coverage of all aspects of the topics, including materials, design, processing, properties, modeling and applications for both existing commercial composites and those currently under research or development. Valuable case studies provide relevant examples of various product designs to enhance learning.

Presenting the fundamental topics in glass science and technology, this concise introduction includes glass formation, crystallization, and phase separation. Glass structure models, with emphasis on the oxygen balance method, are presented in detail. Several chapters discuss the viscosity, density, thermal expansion, and mechanical properties of glasses as well as their optical and magnetic behavior and the diffusion of ions, atoms, and molecules and their effect on electrical conductivity, chemical durability, and other related behavior. In addition to the effects of atomic structure on the properties of glasses, the effects of phase separation, crystallization, and water content, which are neglected in most texts, are discussed extensively. Glass technology is addressed in chapters dealing with the raw materials for producing glasses, batch calculations, and the melting and fining processes. The compositions, properties, and production of commercial glasses are also presented. A chapter is devoted to the use of thermal analysis in the study of glasses, including their crystallization behavior. This expanded, third edition, includes new chapters on doped vitreous silica and the, often overlooked, role of halides on glass formation and properties. In addition, solutions to all of the exercises at the ends of chapters are included for the first time in this edition. This introductory text is ideal for undergraduates in materials science, ceramics, or inorganic chemistry. It will also be useful to the graduate student, engineer, or scientist seeking basic knowledge of the formation, properties, and production of glass in support of their work.

An updated edition of the essential guide to the technology of glass-ceramic technology Glass-ceramic materials share many properties with both glass and more traditional crystalline ceramics. The revised third edition of Glass-Ceramic Technology offers a comprehensive and updated guide to the various types of glass-ceramic materials, the methods of development, and the myriad applications for glass-ceramics. Written in an easy-to-use format, the book includes an explanation of the new generation of glass-ceramics. The updated third edition explores glass-ceramics new materials and properties and reviews the expanding regions for applying these materials. The new edition contains current information on glass/glass-ceramic forming in general and explores specific systems, crystallization mechanisms and products such as: ion exchange strengthening of glass-ceramics, glass-ceramics for mobile phones, new glass-ceramics for energy, and new glass-ceramics for optical and architectural application. It also contains a new section on dental materials and twofold controlled crystallization. This revised guide: Offers an important new section on glass/glass ceramic forming Includes the fundamentals and the application of nanotechnology as related to glass-ceramic technology Reviews the development of the various types of glass-ceramic materials Covers information on new glass-ceramics with new materials and properties and outlines the opportunities for applying these materials Written for ceramic and materials engineers, managers, and designers in the ceramic and glass industry, the third edition of Glass-Ceramic Technology features new sections on Glass/Glass-Ceramic Forming and new Glass-Ceramics as well as expanded sections on dental materials and twofold controlled crystallization.

Ceramic materials are inorganic and non-metallic porcelains, tiles, enamels, cements, glasses and refractory bricks. Today, "ceramics" has gained a wider meaning as a new generation of materials influence on our lives; electronics, computers, communications, aerospace and other industries rely on a number of their uses. In general, advanced ceramic materials include electro-ceramics, optoelectronic-ceramics, superconductive ceramics and the more recent development of piezoelectric and dielectric ceramics. They can be considered for their features including mechanical properties, decorative textures, environmental uses, energy applications, as well as their usage in bio-ceramics, composites, functionally graded materials, intelligent ceramics and so on. Advanced Ceramic Materials brings together a group of subject matter experts who describe innovative methodologies and strategies adopted in the research and development of the advanced ceramic materials. The book is written for readers from diverse backgrounds across chemistry, physics, materials science and engineering, medical science, pharmacy, environmental technology, biotechnology, and biomedical engineering. It offers a comprehensive view of cutting-edge research on ceramic materials and technologies. Divided into 3 parts concerning design, composites and functionality, the topics discussed include: Chemical strategies of epitaxial oxide ceramics nanomaterials Biphasic, triphasic and multiphasic calcium orthophosphates Microwave assisted processing of advanced ceramic composites Continuous fiber reinforced ceramic matrix composites Yytria and magnesia doped alumina ceramic Oxidation induced crack healing SWCNTs vs MWCNTs reinforcement agents Organic and inorganic wastes in clay brick production Functional tantalum oxides Application of silver tin research on hydroxyapatite

A detailed account of various applications and uses of transparent ceramics and the future of the industry In Transparent Ceramics: Materials, Engineering, and Applications, readers will discover the necessary foundation for understanding transparent ceramics (TCs) and the technical and economic factors that determine the overall worth of TCs. This book provides readers with a thorough history of TCs, as well as a detailed account of the materials, engineering and applications of TC in its various forms; fabrication and characterization specifics are also described. With this book, researchers, engineers, and students find a definitive guide to past and present use cases, and a glimpse into the future of TC materials. The book covers a variety of TC topics, including: ●      The methods employed for materials produced in a transparent state ●      Detailed applications of TCs for use in lasers, IR domes, armor-windows, and various medical prosthetics ●      A review of traditionally used transparent materials that highlights the benefits of TCs ●      Theoretical science and engineering theories presented in correlation with learned data ●      A look at past, present, and future use-cases of TCs  This insightful guide to ceramics that can be fabricated into bulk transparent parts will serve as a must-read for professionals in the industry, as well as students looking to gain a more thorough understanding of the field.

Ceramic Materials: Science and Engineering is an up-to-date treatment of ceramic science, engineering, and applications in a single, comprehensive text. Building on a foundation of crystal structures, phase equilibria, defects, and the mechanical properties of ceramic materials, students are shown how these materials are processed for a wide diversity of applications in today's society. Concepts such as how and why ions move, how ceramics interact with light and magnetic fields, and how they respond to temperature changes are discussed in the context of their applications. References to the art and history of ceramics are included throughout the text, and a chapter is devoted to ceramics as gemstones.  This course-tested text now includes expanded chapters on the role of ceramics in industry and their impact on the environment as well as a chapter devoted to applications of ceramic materials in clean energy technologies. Also new are expanded sets of text-specific homework problems and other resources for instructors. The revised and updated Second Edition is further enhanced with color illustrations throughout the text.

Introduction to Plastics Engineering provides a single reference covering the basics of polymer and plastics materials, and their properties, design, processing and applications in a practical way. The book discusses materials engineering through properties formulation, combining part design and processing to produce final products. This book will be a beneficial guide to materials engineers developing new formulations, processing engineers producing those formulations, and design and product engineers seeking to understand the materials and methods for developing new applications. The book incorporates material properties, engineering, processing, design, applications and sustainable and bio based solutions. Ideal for those just entering the industry, or transitioning between sectors, this is a quick, relevant and informative reference guide to plastics engineering and processing for engineers and plastics practitioners.

Engineering of polymers is not an easy exercise: with evolving technology, it often involves complex concepts and processes. This book is intended to provide the theoretical essentials: understanding of processes, a basis for the use of design software, and much more.The necessary physical concepts such as continuum mechanics, rheological behavior and measurement methods, and thermal science with its application to heating-cooling problems and implications for flow behavior are analyzed in detail. This knowledge is then applied to key processing methods, including single-screw extrusion and extrusion die flow, twin-screw extrusion and its applications, injection molding, calendering, and processes involving stretching.With many exercises with solutions offered throughout the book to reinforce the concepts presented, and extensive illustrations, this is an essential guide for mastering the art of plastics processing. Practical and didactic, Polymer Processing: Principles and Modeling is intended for engineers and technicians of the profession, as well as for advanced students in Polymer Science and Plastics Engineering.

Brydson's Plastics Materials, Eighth Edition, provides a comprehensive overview of the commercially available plastics materials that bridge the gap between theory and practice. The book enables scientists to understand the commercial implications of their work and provides engineers with essential theory. Since the previous edition, many developments have taken place in plastics materials, such as the growth in the commercial use of sustainable bioplastics, so this book brings the user fully up-to-date with the latest materials, references, units, and figures that have all been thoroughly updated. The book remains the authoritiative resource for engineers, suppliers, researchers, materials scientists, and academics in the field of polymers, including current best practice, processing, and material selection information and health and safety guidance, along with discussions of sustainability and the commercial importance of various plastics and additives, including nanofillers and graphene as property modifiers. With a 50 year history as the principal reference in the field of plastics material, and fully updated by an expert team of polymer scientists and engineers, this book is essential reading for researchers and practitioners in this field.

Many technical books about plastics are too theoretical and difficult to read. The intention of this book is to offer something completely different: it is easy to read with many examples taken from everyday life. It is suitable for readers at secondary school and university levels, and can be used for training activities in industry as well as for self-studies. Included are over 600 color images to illustrate the wide variety of plastics and process workflows used today. The book also contains a number of computer-based tools that can be downloaded from the author's website. With comprehensive coverage, this is probably the most versatile plastics handbook ever written! New in the second edition are much-expanded content (new chapter) on extrusion, new color figures, a new layout, and corrections throughout. A bonus download of working Excel tools is provided to supplement the book content.

The text material has been restructured to provide a more balanced and exhaustive coverage of the subject. The text discusses the core concepts of technical communication and explains them with the help of numerous examples and practice exercises. The book also provides support for soft skills laboratory sessions through a companion CD. With its in-depth coverage and practical orientation, the book is useful not only for students, but also as a reference material for corporate training programmes.

**Engineering Design, Planning and Management** presents a concise, visual approach to engineering design methodology, combining project management and creative design for established companies and startups. It covers needs identification, design concepts, decision-making, budgets, communication, reliability, and manufacturing design with practical examples, interactive tools, and exercises. Ideal for product designers, engineers, and students, it includes chapter objectives, exercises, and instructor resources aligned with ABET criteria.

Engineering Mathematics is a textbook written for undergraduate students of all streams of engineering. This book exhaustively covers all the topics taught in mathematics in different semesters in the B. Tech curriculum. Beginning with the basics, the book first introduces mathematics and its nuances to the students and explains the difference between applied mathematics and engineering mathematics. Fundamental topics such as sequence and series and matrices are discussed with the applications to engineeringapplications to engineering problems. Other important topics such as three dimensional geometry, functions of single variable and several variables, differential calculus, integral calculus, Fourier series, Fourier transform, Fourier integrals, ordinary differential equations, partial differentialequations, special functions, vector calculus, complex analysis, and Laplace transform have been discussed in detail. Separate chapters are dedicated to probability, statistics, numerical methods, and discrete mathematics. Most of the chapters comprise sections on applications to engineeringproblems. There are separate chapters discussing the applications of the mathematical theorems and numerical methods to engineering problems. Plenty of solved examples, review questions, numerical exercises, and multiple choice questions have been provided to ensure that students get enough practice.