E-Textbook Lists: FKTK - BACHELOR OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY (FOOD TECHNOLOGY) WITH HONOURS

There are no shortcuts in organic chemistry. Understanding and mastery cannot be achieved without devoting adequate time and attention to the theories and concepts of the discipline. It is with this premise that Ouelletteand Rawn set out to comprehensively survey the field in "Organic Chemistry," with an emphasis on connecting the basic principles of organic chemistry to real world challenges that require analysis, not just recall. Organic chemistry is at the interface of physical and biological science, and this new text lays out the basic principles of organic chemistry in their relation to a host of other fields in both physical and biological sciences. Chemical bonding determines molecular structure, which in turn dictates physical, chemical, and biological properties from the smallest molecules to the largest. Molecular structure determines reaction mechanisms, from the smallest to the largest molecules. Reaction mechanisms determine strategies for organic synthesis, and these synthetic principles extend to every aspect of synthesis, from drug design to the methods cells employ to synthesize the molecules of which they are made. These relationships form a continuous narrative throughout the book, wherein principles logically evolve from one to the next, from the simplest to the most complex examples, with abundant connections between the text and real world applications. Contains extensive examples of biological relevanceIncludes an important chapter on organometallic chemistry not found in other standard referencesExtended, illustrated glossaryAppendices on thermodynamics, kinetics, and transition state theory"

Paula Bruice’s *Organic Chemistry, Eighth Edition* provides a comprehensive foundation for two-semester Organic Chemistry courses, emphasizing reactivity principles, problem-solving, and real-world applications. This edition streamlines substitution and elimination topics, enhances problem-solving, and links structure and reactivity to cellular processes, helping students master synthetic organic chemistry, biochemistry, and medicine.

Writing Reaction Mechanisms in Organic Chemistry, Second Edition, is an invaluable guide to charting the movements of atoms and electrons in the reactions of organic molecules. Miller and Solomon illustrate that understanding organic reactions is based on applying general principles rather than the rote memorization of unrelated processes, and, in turn, emphasize that writing mechanisms is a practical method of applying knowledge of previously encountered reactions and reaction conditions to new reactions. Students and research chemists alike will find this book useful in providing a method of organizing and synthesizing an oftentimes overwhelming quantity of information into a set of general principles and guidelines for determining and describing organic reaction mechanisms. llustrated with hundreds of chemical structures, all redrawn from the first edition, with addedemphasis on three-dimensional structures and stereochemical aspects of reaction mechanisms Extensively rewritten and reorganized to make the presentation and format more accessible to first-year organic chemistry students, as well as advanced undergraduate and graduate students Chapter 6 is completely revised to streamline the treatment of pericyclic reactions, while introducing the principles underlying the symmetry operations and orbital correlation diagrams New appendixes in this edition contain easily referenced information on Lewis structures, chemical symbols and notation, and relative acidities of common functional groups

Chemical Process Equipment is a results-oriented reference for engineers who specify, design, maintain or run chemical and process plants. This book delivers information on the selection, sizing and operation of process equipment in a format that enables quick and accurate decision making on standard process and equipment choices, saving time, improving productivity, and building understanding. Coverage emphasizes common real-world equipment design rather than experimental or esoteric and focuses on maximizing performance.- Legacy reference for chemical and related engineers who work with vendors to design, specify and make final equipment selection decisions- Copious examples of successful applications, with supporting schematics and data to illustrate the functioning and performance of equipment- Provides equipment rating forms and manufacturers' data, worked examples, valuable shortcut methods, and rules of thumb to demonstrate and support the design process- Heavily illustrated with line drawings and schematics to aid understanding, as well as graphs and tables to illustrate performance data

For courses inNetworking/Communications. Motivate yourstudents with a top-down, layered approach to computer networking Unique among computernetworking texts, the 8th Edition, Global Edition, of the popular ComputerNetworking: A Top Down Approach builds on the authors' long traditionof teaching this complex subject through a layered approach in a ""top-downmanner."" The text works its way from the application layer down toward thephysical layer, motivating students by exposing them to important conceptsearly in their study of networking. Focusing on the Internet and thefundamentally importan

*Programmable Logic Controllers: A Practical Approach using CoDeSys* is a hands-on guide to mastering PLCs based on the IEC 61131-3 standard. Using the CoDeSys software, it teaches programming through real-world examples, a built-in simulator, and structured methodologies. Key topics include I/O systems, programming languages, and problem-solving techniques, making it ideal for beginners and experienced users in industrial automation.

*Mastering AutoCAD 2017 and AutoCAD LT 2017* is the ultimate guide to mastering the world's leading CAD software. This updated edition covers everything from basic drafting tools to advanced 3D modeling, with step-by-step instructions and hands-on examples. Perfect for beginners, professionals, or certification prep, it helps users harness AutoCAD's full potential, customize workflows, and explore the latest features.

Technical Drawing deals with the representation of plans throughout all phases of a project. For students, the primary focus is on the development and methodical construction of a technical drawing. Themes: Types of plan (from site plan and preliminary drawings to design and detail plans) Components of the plan (floor plan, section, elevation, detail) Line width, dimensioning, hatching, use of text, symbols Plan presentation and compilation

This book provides practical guidance on soldering techniques, solder alloys, fluxes, surface preparation, inspection, and quality control, with a focus on lead-free solders and miniaturization trends. It is ideal for professionals in materials science, engineering, and manufacturing seeking applied solutions for modern soldering challenges.

*Fundamentals of Electric Circuits* offers a clear and engaging approach to circuit analysis, balancing theory, examples, and real-world applications. The seventh edition includes over 580 new problems, "Design a Problem" exercises to enhance design skills, and access to McGraw-Hill's Connect for interactive learning and assessment tools.

Atkins and de Paula's *Physical Chemistry* is a comprehensive textbook for thermodynamics and quantum mechanics, designed for pre-meds, engineers, and science students. The latest edition offers clearer, more manageable topics, with added applications and mathematical guidance, making it ideal for both students and instructors. It is available as a full text or in two volumes for greater flexibility.

This text has been extensively revised both in level and scope. Targeted to a mainstream physical chemistry course, this text features extensively revised chapters on quantum mechanics and spectroscopy, many new chapter-ending problems, and updated references, while biological topics have been largely relegated to the previous two textbooks. Other topics added include the law of corresponding states, the Joule-Thomson effect, the meaning of entropy, multiple equilibria and coupled reactions, and chemiluminescence and bioluminescence. One way to gauge the level of this new text is that students who have used it will be well prepared for their GRE exams in the subject. Careful pedagogy and clear writing throughout combine to make this an excellent choice for your physical chemistry course.

Physical Chemistry for Engineering and Applied Sciences is the product of over 30 years of teaching first-year Physical Chemistry as part of the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering at the University of Toronto. Designed to be as rigorous as compatible with a first-year student's ability to understand, the text presents detailed step-by-step

The third edition of this book is expanded to cover advanced techniques such as supercritical fluid chromatography, electrophoresis, X-ray spectroscopy, and chemical sensors. It is an essential resource for postgraduate students in analytical chemistry and chemistry graduates, offering updated concepts and guidance for both practice and research in the field.

This book introduces the basic principles and calculation techniques used in chemical engineering. It discusses problems in material and energy balances related to chemical reactors; explains the concepts of dimensions, units, psychrometry, steam properties, and conservation of mass and energy; and demonstrates how MATLAB and Simulink can be used to solve complicated problems. This Second Edition contains additional homework problems and a new chapter related to single- and multiphase systems. Educational software, downloadable exercises, and a solutions manual are available with qualifying course adoption.

Experimental Methods and Instrumentation for Chemical Engineers is a practical guide for research engineers and students, process engineers and, consultants, and others in the chemical engineering field. This unique book thoroughly describes experimental measurements and instrumentation in the contexts of pressure, temperature, fluid metering, chromatography, and more. Chapters on physico-chemical analysis and analysis of solids and powders are included as well.Throughout the book, the author examines all aspects of engineering practice and research. The principles of unit operations, transport phenomena, and plant design form the basis of this discipline. Experimental Methods and Instrumentation for Chemical Engineers integrates these concepts with statistics and uncertainty analysis to define factors that are absolutely necessary to measure and control, how precisely, and how often.Experimental Methods and Instrumentation for Chemical Engineers is divided into several themes, including the measurement of pressure, temperature flow rate, physico-chemical properties, gas and liquid concentrations and solids properties. Throughout the book, the concept of uncertainty is discussed in context, and the last chapter is dedicated to designing and experimental plan. The theory around the measurement principles is illustrated with examples. These examples include notions related to plant design as well as cost and safety.- Contains extensive diagrams, photos, and other illustrations as well as manufacturers' equipment and descriptions with up-to-date, detailed drawings and photos- Includes exercises at the end of each chapter, helping the reader to understand the problem by solving practical examples- Covers research and plant application, including emerging technologies little discussed in other sources

*Cengel and Cimbala's Fluid Mechanics: Fundamentals and Applications* offers a clear, visual approach to teaching fluid mechanics, emphasizing physics and real-world engineering examples. The text progresses from simple to complex concepts, making even difficult topics accessible. An optional McGraw-Hill Connect system enhances learning with adaptive homework, quizzes, and automated grading.

*Fundamentals of Heat and Mass Transfer, 8th Edition* remains a leading resource for heat transfer education, blending decades of expertise with a systematic problem-solving approach. This edition emphasizes fundamental concepts while addressing critical issues like energy and the environment, supported by abundant examples and problems to enhance understanding.

"Heat and mass transfer is a basic science that deals with the rate of transfer of thermal energy. It is an exciting and fascinating subject with unlimited practical applications ranging from biological systems to common household appliances, residential and commercial buildings, industrial processes, electronic devices, and food processing. Students are assumed to have an adequate background in calculus and physics"

Written by a highly regarded author with industrial and academic experience, this new edition of an established bestselling book provides practical guidance for students, researchers, and those in chemical engineering. The book includes a new section on sustainable energy, with sections on carbon capture and sequestration, as a result of increasing environmental awareness; and a companion website that includes problems, worked solutions, and Excel spreadsheets to enable students to carry out complex calculations.

"Maintaining its general structure and philosophy to encompass modern food microbiology, this new edition provides updated and revised individual chapters and uses new examples to illustrate incidents with particular attention being paid to images. Thorough and accessible, it is designed for students in the biological sciences, biotechnology and food science as well as a valuable resource for researchers, teachers and practicing food microbiologists."

The aims of this book remain the same, that is, that it should be of in­ terest to all those people concerned with, or about, food hygiene in the broadest sense. There was clearly a need for a book of this sort and its success has necessitated a second edition. It will, I hope, answer criticisms that were justifiably made about certain omissions and shortcomings levelled at the earlier edition. The whole book has been thoroughly revised with the introduction of several new sections to various chapters. During the time that has elapsed since the earlier edition appeared there has been much publicity about newer forms of 'food poisoning'. Thus listeriosis is discussed in some detail whilst the problems of salmonellas in eggs and BSE are also considered. Interest in irradiated foods has waxed and waned but it is rightly included in the relevant chapter. There has been much progress in methodology with the advent of advanced molecular techniques such as gene probes and that of PCR; these are discussed briefly. I have included sections on HACCP which has come into great prominence in recent years thus answering a specific criticism made of the earlier edition. The chapter on water and waste disposal contains material on Legionnaires' disease and cryptosporidiosis, infections of much concern at the present time. Finally, the chapter on legislation has undergone a major revision with far greater emphasis being placed on EC food hygiene legislation.

For decades, H. Scott Fogler's Elements of Chemical Reaction Engineering has been the world's dominant chemical reaction engineering text. Using sliders and interactive examples in Wolfram, Python, POLYMATH, and MATLAB, students can explore reactions and reactors by running realistic simulation experiments. Writing for today's students, Fogler provides instant access to information, avoids extraneous details, and presents novel problems linking theory to practice. Faculty can flexibly define their courses, drawing on updated chapters, problems, and extensive Professional Reference Shelf web c.

Reaction Engineering clearly and concisely covers the concepts and models of reaction engineering and then applies them to real-world reactor design. The book emphasizes that the foundation of reaction engineering requires the use of kinetics and transport knowledge to explain and analyze reactor behaviors. The authors use readily understandable language to cover the subject, leaving readers with a comprehensive guide on how to understand, analyze, and make decisions related to improving chemical reactions and chemical reactor design. Worked examples, and over 20 exercises at the end of each chapter, provide opportunities for readers to practice solving problems related to the content covered in the book. Seamlessly integrates chemical kinetics, reaction engineering, and reactor analysis to provide the foundation for optimizing reactions and reactor design Compares and contrasts three types of ideal reactors, then applies reaction engineering principles to real reactor design Covers advanced topics, like microreactors, reactive distillation, membrane reactors, and fuel cells, providing the reader with a broader appreciation of the applications of reaction engineering principles and methods

Filling a longstanding gap for graduate courses in the field, Chemical Reaction Engineering: Beyond the Fundamentals covers basic concepts as well as complexities of chemical reaction engineering, including novel techniques for process intensification. The book is divided into three parts: Fundamentals Revisited, Building on Fundamentals, and Beyon

One of the most acclaimed books in the field, "Introduction to Chemical Engineering Kinetics and Reactor Design" provides an introductory text focusing on chemical kinetics and reactor for chemical engineering students. This new second edition is completely revised and updated to include a large number of intellectually stimulating problems (more than 80% are new) encompassing a wide range of chemical engineering topics, including such new areas as biological systems and nano technology.

An invaluable guide for problem solving in mass transfer operations This book takes a highly pragmatic approach to providing the principles and applications of mass transfer operations by offering a valuable, easily accessible guide to solving engineering problems. Both traditional and novel mass transfer processes receive treatment. As with all of the books in this series, emphasis is placed on an example-based approach to illustrating key engineering concepts. The book is divided into two major parts. It starts with the principles underlying engineering problems--showing readers how to apply general engineering principles to the topic of mass transfer operations. It then goes on to provide step-by-step guidance for traditional mass transfer operations, including distillation, absorption and stripping, and adsorption, plus novel mass transfer processes. Essential topics for professional engineering exams are also covered. Geared towards chemical, environmental, civil, and mechanical engineers working on real-world industrial applications, Mass Transfer Operations for the Practicing Engineer features: Numerous sample problems and solutions with real-world applications Clear, precise explanations on how to carry out the basic calculations associated with mass transfer operations Coverage of topics from the ground up for readers without prior knowledge of the subject Overview of topics relevant to the ABET (Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology) for those taking the Professional Engineering (PE) exams Appendix containing relevant mass transfer operation charts and tables

This latest edition of the most internationally respected reference in food chemistry for more than 30 years, Fennema's Food Chemistry, 5th Edition once again meets and surpasses the standards of quality and comprehensive information set by its predecessors. All chapters reflect recent scientific advances and, where appropriate, have expanded and evolved their focus to provide readers with the current state-of-the-science of chemistry for the food industry. This edition introduces new editors and contributors who are recognized experts in their fields. The fifth edition presents a completely rewritten chapter on Water and Ice, written in an easy-to-understand manner suitable for professionals as well as undergraduates. In addition, ten former chapters have been completely revised and updated, two of which receive extensive attention in the new edition including Carbohydrates (Chapter 3), which has been expanded to include a section on Maillard reaction; and Dispersed Systems: Basic considerations (Chapter 7), which includes thermodynamic incompatibility/phase separation concepts. Retaining the straightforward organization and accessibility of the original, this edition begins with an examination of major food components such as water, carbohydrates, lipids, proteins, and enzymes. The second section looks at minor food components including vitamins and minerals, colorants, flavors, and additives. The final section considers food systems by reviewing basic considerations as well as specific information on the characteristics of milk, the postmortem physiology of edible muscle, and postharvest physiology of plant tissues.

This third volume in the Handbook of Food Science and Technology Set explains the processing of raw materials into traditional food (bread, wine, cheese, etc.). The agri-food industry has evolved in order to meet new market expectations of its products; with the use of separation and assembly technologies, food technologists and engineers now increasingly understand and control the preparation of a large diversity of ingredients using additional properties to move from the raw materials into new food products. Taking into account the fundamental basis and technological specificities of the main food sectors, throughout the three parts of this book, the authors investigate the biological and biochemical conversions and physicochemical treatment of food from animal sources, plant sources and food ingredients.

*Food Biochemistry and Food Processing, Second Edition* is a comprehensive reference on food biochemistry and biotechnology, featuring contributions from global experts. It covers principles of enzymology, food processing, and biochemistry of raw materials, with new chapters on health foods, allergens, and modern processing methods. Essential for food scientists, researchers, and students.

For more than two decades, this work has remained the leading advanced textbook and easy-to-use reference on food chemistry and technology. Its fourth edition has been extensively re-written and enlarged, now also covering topics such as BSE detection or acrylamide. Food allergies, alcoholic drinks, or phystosterols are now treated more extensively. Proven features of the prior editions are maintained: Contains more than 600 tables, almost 500 figures, and about 1100 structural formulae of food components - Logically organized according to food constituents and commodities - Comprehensive subject index. These features provide students and researchers in food science, food technology, agricultural chemistry and nutrition with in-depth insight into food chemistry and technology. They also make the book a valuable on-the-job reference for chemists, food chemists, food technologists, engineers, biochemists, nutritionists, and analytical chemists in food and agricultural research, food industry, nutrition, food control, and service laboratories. From reviews of the first edition "Few books on food chemistry treat the subject as exhaustively...researchers will find it to be a useful source of information. It is easy to read and the material is systematically presented." JACS

Postharvest Handling, Third Edition takes a global perspective in offering a system of measuring, monitoring, and managing produce processing to improve food quality, minimize food waste, reduce risks and uncertainties, and maximize time and resources. This unique resource provides an overview of the postharvest system and its role in the food value chain, and offers essential tools to monitor and control the handling process. It shows how to predict and combat unexpected events (e.g., spoilage), and manage the food quality and safety within a facility. Proven research methods and applications from various viewpoints are available to help you maintain high-quality produce and achieve the highest yields possible. The book also explores current challenges--including oversupply, waste, food safety, lack of resources, sustainability--and best practices for production to thrive in spite of these challenges.- Presents current research methods and applications in temperature control and heat treatments to help minimize moisture content, to prevent spoilage and mold, and more- Addresses challenges of traceability and sustainability- Presents testing and measurement techniques and applications- Provides technological tools to create crop value and improve both food safety and food quality

The *Handbook of Safety Principles* explores recent advances in safety and risk analysis, offering a structured approach to safety principles across various domains. Organized into key categories like optimization and organizational practices, it provides practical applications, case studies, and theoretical insights. Ideal for safety engineers, analysts, policymakers, and graduate students, this comprehensive guide addresses principles' history, application, and limitations, emphasizing their role in improving safety across industries.

This book delves into advanced methodologies for process optimization, exploratory analysis, predictive modeling, classification, and multivariate process monitoring within the framework of Process Analytical Technology (PAT). It covers experimental designs, response surface methodologies, data preprocessing, principal component analysis, linear and non-linear modeling, clustering techniques, supervised discrimination, and multi-block/multi-way analyses. Emphasizing a "quality by design" approach, the text highlights advancements in process sensors, model-based monitoring, and control strategies for enhancing manufacturing efficiency and food quality.

Food Processing Technology: Principles and Practice, Fifth Edition includes emerging trends and developments in food processing. The book has been fully updated to provide comprehensive, up-to-date technical information. For each food processing unit operation, theory and principles are first described, followed by equipment used commercially and its operating conditions, the effects of the operation on micro-organisms, and the nutritional and sensory qualities of the foods concerned. Part I describes basic concepts; Part II describes operations that take place at ambient temperature; Part III describes processing using heat; Part IV describes processing by removing heat; and Part V describes post-processing operations.This book continues to be the most comprehensive reference in the field, covering all processing unit operations in a single volume. The title brings key terms and definitions, sample problems, recommended further readings and illustrated processes.- Presents current trends on food sustainability, environmental considerations, changing consumer choices, reduced packaging and energy use, and functional and healthy/plant-based foods- Includes highly illustrated line drawings and/or photographs to show the principles of equipment operation and/or examples of equipment that is used commercially- Contains worked examples of common calculations

First published in 1945, Bailey's has become the standard reference on the food chemistry and processing technology related to edible oils and the nonedible byproducts derived from oils. This sixth edition features new coverage of edible fats and oils and is enhanced by a second volume on oils and oilseeds. This sixth edition consists of six volumes: five volumes on edible oils and fats, with still one volume (as in the fifth edition) devoted to nonedible products from oils and fats. Some brand new topics in the sixth edition include: fungal and algal oils, conjugated linoleic acid, coco butter, phytosterols, and plant biotechnology as related to oil production. Now with 75 accessible chapters, each volume contains a self-contained index for that particular volume.

First published in 1984, and now in its 6th edition, this book has become the classic text on food chemistry around the world. The bulk components - carbohydrates, proteins, fats, minerals and water, and the trace components - colours, flavours, vitamins and preservatives, as well as food-borne toxins, allergens, pesticide residues and other undesirables all receive detailed consideration. Besides being extensively rewritten and updated a new chapter on enzymes has been included. At every stage attention is drawn to the links between the chemical components of food and their health and nutritional significance. Features include:"Special Topics" section at the end of each chapter for specialist readers and advanced students; an exhaustive index and the structural formulae of over 500 food components; comprehensive listings of recent, relevant review articles and recommended books for further reading; frequent references to wider issues eg the evolutionary significance of lactose intolerance, fava bean consumption in relation to malaria and the legislative status of food additives around the world. Food: The Chemistry of its Components will be of particular interest to students and teachers of food science, nutrition and applied chemistry in universities, colleges and schools. Its accessible style ensures that it will be invaluable to anyone with an interest in food issues.

For introductory engineering economics courses. Relate engineering economics to students' everyday lives for theoretical and conceptual understanding Chan Park, author of the best-selling Contemporary Engineering Economics, tells the story of engineering economy with the more concise Fundamentals of Engineering Economics by relating concepts from class to students' everyday lives. This book provides sound and comprehensive coverage of course concepts while addressing both the theoretical and the practical concerns of engineering economics. Written to appeal to a wide range of engineering dis.

This book is an in-depth guide to effective scientific research. Ranging from the philosophical to the practical, it explains at the outset what science can - and can't - achieve, and discusses its relationship to mathematics and laws. The author then pays extensive attention to the scientific method, including experimental design, verification, uncertainty and statistics. A major aim of the book is to help young scientists reflect upon the deeper aims of their work and make the best use of their talents in contributing to progress. To this end, it also includes sections on planning research, on presenting one's findings in writing, as well as on ethics and the responsibilities of scientists.  

Chemical Engineering Design: SI Edition is one of the best-known and most widely used textbooks available for students of chemical engineering. The enduring hallmarks of this classic book are its scope and practical emphasis which make it particularly popular with instructors and students who appreciate its relevance and clarity. This new edition provides coverage of the latest aspects of process design, operations, safety, loss prevention, equipment selection, and much more, including updates on plant and equipment costs, regulations and technical standards.

Introduction to Environmental Engineering, 5/e contains the fundamental science and engineering principles needed for introductory courses and used as the basis for more advanced courses in environmental engineering. Updated with latest EPA regulations, Davis and Cornwell apply the concepts of sustainability and materials and energy balance as a means of understanding and solving environmental engineering issues. With over 720 end-of-chapter problems, as well as provocative discussion questions, and a helpful list of review items found at the end of each chapter, the text is both a comprehensible and comprehensive tool for any environmental engineering course. Standards and Laws are the most current and up-to-date for an environmental engineering text.

This book provides practical insights into the complex field of Food Industry Technical and Quality Management, addressing challenges like food safety, quality assurance, food fraud, and product recalls. It combines industry expertise and applied practices to guide professionals in managing quality, safety, and compliance in food production. Topics include HACCP, supplier control, audits, crisis management, and sector-specific challenges across various food categories. Contributions from specialists and enforcement authorities offer a comprehensive overview of best practices and compliance standards, making it an essential resource for food industry professionals.

This updated edition explores the growth, regulation, and global acceptance of nutraceuticals and functional foods. It covers regulatory changes, quality control, manufacturing, safety studies, and scientific research supporting efficacy. New chapters address public health safety, USP roles, and GRAS/NDI regulations, with added insights into working with regulatory agencies and compliance processes. A valuable resource for understanding the evolving landscape of this industry.

Meat is a global product, which is traded between regions, countries and continents. The onus is on producers, manufacturers, transporters and retailers to ensure that an ever-demanding consumer receives a top quality product that is free from contamination. With such a dynamic product and market place, new innovative ways to process, package and assess meat products are being developed. With ever increasing competition and tighter cost margins, industry has shown willingness to engage in seeking novel innovative ways of processing, packaging and assessing meat products while maintaining quality and safety attributes.  This book provides a comprehensive overview on the application of novel processing techniques. It represents a standard reference book on novel processing, packaging and assessment methods of meat and meat products. It is part of the IFST Advances in Food Science book series. 

Chemical Engineering Design: SI Edition is one of the best-known and most widely used textbooks available for students of chemical engineering. The enduring hallmarks of this classic book are its scope and practical emphasis which make it particularly popular with instructors and students who appreciate its relevance and clarity. This new edition provides coverage of the latest aspects of process design, operations, safety, loss prevention, equipment selection, and much more, including updates on plant and equipment costs, regulations and technical standards.

Food Packaging and Preservation, Volume 9 in the Handbook of Food Bioengineering series, explores recent approaches to preserving and prolonging safe use of food products while also maintaining the properties of fresh foods. This volume contains valuable information and novel ideas regarding recently investigated packaging techniques and their implications on food bioengineering. In addition, classical and modern packaging materials and the impact of materials science on the development of smart packaging approaches are discussed. This book is a one-stop-shop for anyone in the food industry seeking to understand how bioengineering can foster research and innovation.- Presents cutting technologies and approaches utilized in current and future food preservation for both food and beverages- Offers research methods for the creation of novel preservatives and packaging materials to improve the quality and lifespan of preserved foods- Features techniques to ensure the safe use of foods for longer periods of time- Provides solutions of antimicrobial films and coatings for food packaging applications to enhance food safety and quality

The high market demand based on consumers' trust in fish as a healthy and nutritious food resource made fish processing a very dynamic industry, spurring many innovations in processing and packaging methods. Trends in Fish Processing Technologies not only reflects what is currently new in fish processing but also points out where things are heading in this area. This book provides an overview of the modern technologies employed by the industry. It details the advances in fish processing, including high pressure processing (HPP), pulsed electric field (PEF) treatment and minimally heat processing combined with microwave (MW) and radio-frequency (RF). It provides references to food safety management systems and food safety & quality indicators for processed fish in order to achieve an adequate level of protection. Quality aspects and molecular methods for the assessment of fish and fish products integrity are introduced. Fish products reformulation trends based on sustainability principles that tackles the reduction of salt content and the use of natural antimicrobials are presented. Innovative packaging solutions for fish products are explored, detailing intelligent packaging with freshness and time-temperature indicators, applications of modified packaging atmosphere, antimicrobial bio-nanocomposite packaging materials and biodegradable edible films used as primary fish packaging. In addition to covering the current advancements in fish processing the book discusses fraud, adulteration, fair trade practices, traceability and the need for added value, clean and sustainable processing in the fish chain.