Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
The latest edition of this highly acclaimed textbook, provides a comprehensive and up-to-date overview of the science and medical applications of biopharmaceutical products. Biopharmaceuticals refers to pharmaceutical substances derived from biological sources, and increasingly, it is synonymous with 'newer' pharmaceutical substances derived from genetic engineering or hybridoma technology. This superbly written review of the important areas of investigation in the field, covers drug production, plus the biochemical and molecular mechanisms of action together with the biotechnology of major biopharmaceutical types on the market or currently under development. There is also additional material reflecting both the technical advances in the area and detailed information on key topics such as the influence of genomics on drug discovery.
Call Number: RS380 W224 2005
Publication Date: 2003-08-29
Pharmaceutical Biotechnology: concepts and applications by
Pharmaceutical Biotechnology offers students taking Pharmacy and related Medical and Pharmaceutical courses a comprehensive introduction to the fast-moving area of biopharmaceuticals. With a particular focus on the subject taken from a pharmaceutical perspective, initial chapters offer a broad introduction to protein science and recombinant DNA technology- key areas that underpin the whole subject. Subsequent chapters focus upon the development, production and analysis of these substances. Finally the book moves on to explore the science, biotechnology and medical applications of specific biotech products categories. These include not only protein-based substances but also nucleic acid and cell-based products. introduces essential principles underlining modern biotechnology- recombinant DNA technology and protein science an invaluable introduction to this fast-moving subject aimed specifically at pharmacy and medical students includes specific 'product category chapters' focusing on the pharmaceutical, medical and therapeutic properties of numerous biopharmaceutical products. entire chapter devoted to the principles of genetic engineering and how these drugs are developed. includes numerous relevant case studies to enhance student understanding no prior knowledge of protein structure is assumed
Call Number: RS380 W224 2007
Publication Date: 2007-08-13
Biopharmaceuticals in Plants by
Transgenic plants present enormous potential to become one of the most cost-effective and safe systems for large-scale production of proteins for industrial, pharmaceutical, veterinary, and agricultural uses. Over the past decade, much progress has been made with respect to the development of vaccines, antibodies, and other therapeutic proteins. Biopharmaceuticals in Plants: Toward the Next Century of Medicineprovides a comprehensive survey of all major aspects of the development and production of plant-made biopharmaceuticals. Accompanied by an exhaustive list of references to facilitate further study, this critical volume: Describes the theory and practice of modern plant transformation techniques with respect to nuclear and plastic genomes Outlines the steps involved in the generation of transgenic plants Discusses the engineering of plant virus expression vectors for transient expression of vaccine proteins and other therapeutics in plant tissue Addresses the significant role of glycosylation in the production of plant-made mammalian proteins Investigates the basis of mucosal immunity using plant-based oral vaccines Examines the scale-up of plant-derived vaccine and therapeutic proteins in entire crops or in large batch cell suspension cultures Explores the development of clinical trials utilizing plant-derived biopharmaceutical proteins Evaluates risks and biosafety concerns regarding plant-derived pharmaceuticals The book concludes with a discussion of the future of plant-based vaccines and other therapeutic proteins with respect to commercial viability and as a tool to improve global public health. Far-reaching in its scope, this text is a baseline reference that students and researchers in a broad range of fields such as medicine, plant science, biotechnology, crop science, natural products chemistry, and engineering will consult regularly. It will also serve as a useful tool for individuals and companies seeking to invest in this dynamic area.
Publication Date: 2009-11-10
Modern Biopharmaceuticals by
The biopharmaceutical market has come along way since 1982 when the first biopharmaceutical product, recombinant human insulin, was launched. Over 120 such products are currently being marketed around the world including nine blockbuster drugs. The global market for biopharmaceuticals, which is currently valued at US$41 billion, has been growing at an impressive compound annual growth rate of 21% over the previous five years. With over one third of all pipe-line products in active development are biopharmaceuticals, this segment is set to continue outperforming the total pharmaceutical market and could easily reach US$100 billion by the end of this decade.
Publication Date: 2005-10-28
Formulation and Process Development Strategies for Manufacturing Biopharmaceuticals by
Because pharmaceutical scientists lack information about biopharmaceutical product manufacture and commercialization, this book comprehensively covers fundamentals and essential pathways for each production phase; as well as the purpose, function, and relation to other stages in the product development process. It provides case histories related to therapeutic monoclonal antibodies, recombinant proteins, and plasma fractions. And it offers the perspective and experience of production and manufacturing of the drugs, making this a vital for pharmaceutical, biotech, regulatory, and academic researchers and professionals.
Call Number: RM301.4 F726 2010
Publication Date: 2010-08-09
Biopharmaceutical Production Technology by
Cost-effective manufacturing of biopharmaceutical products is rapidly gaining in importance, while healthcare systems across the globe are looking to contain costs and improve efficiency. To adapt to these changes, industries need to review and streamline their manufacturing processes. This two volume handbook systematically addresses the key steps and challenges in the production process and provides valuable information for medium to large scale producers of biopharmaceuticals. It is divided into seven major parts: - Upstream Technologies - Protein Recovery - Advances in Process Development - Analytical Technologies - Quality Control - Process Design and Management - Changing Face of Processing With contributions by around 40 experts from academia as well as small and large biopharmaceutical companies, this unique handbook is full of first-hand knowledge on how to produce biopharmaceuticals in a cost-effective and quality-controlled manner.
Call Number: RS380 B615 2012 v.1
Publication Date: 2012-08-20
Pharmaceutical Biotechnology by
Since the publication of the first edition of Pharmaceutical Biotechnology over a decade ago, a not-so-subtle shift in the meaning of the term "biotechnology" has occurred. It has come to mean something very specific, namely the development of drug substances with large protein and polypeptide molecules. These substances can be used as drugs in their own right but may also be used to manipulate cellular DNA in order to produce a required molecule that is believed to have desirable properties in the treatment of a disease. Accordingly, the second edition of this popular text reflects that change of definition by including new material that explores the development of these protein-based therapeutic substances. See what's new in the Second Edition: Expanded coverage of the formulation of proteins Additional information on proteins used as drug delivery systems Detailed discussion of interactions between proteins and phospholipids Increased information on proteomics and gene therapy Exploration of pulmonary administration and oral delivery of proteins A broad review of vaccines Discussion of genetic engineering and genomics Challenges and issues involved in the development and the production of a drug
Call Number: RS380 P536 2006
Publication Date: 2005-08-29
Process Scale Bioseparations for the Biopharmaceutical Industry by
The biopharmaceutical industry has become an increasingly important player in the global economy, and the success of these products depends on the development and implementation of cost-effective, robust and scaleable production processes. Bioseparations-also called downstream processing- can be a key source of competitive advantageto biopharmaceutical developers. Process Scale Bioseparations for the Biopharmaceutical Industry brings together scientific principles, empirical approaches, and practical considerations for designing industrial downstream bioprocesses for various classes of biomolecules. Using clear language along with numerous case studies, examples, tables, flow charts, and schematics, the book presents perspectives from experienced professionals involved in purification processes and industrial downstream unit operations. The authors provide useful experimental design strategies and guidelines for developing application-specific process scale bioseparations. Chapter topics include harvest by centrifugation and filtration, expanded bed chromatography, protein refolding, modes of preparative chromatography, methodologies for resin screening, membrane chromatography, protein crystallization, viral filtration, ultrafiltration/diafiltration, implementing post-approval downstream process changes for an antibody product, and future trends. Ideal for both new and experienced scientists in the biopharmaceutical industry and students, Process Scale Bioseparations for the Biopharmaceutical Industry is a comprehensive resource for all topics relevant to industrial process development.
Call Number: QP551 P963 2007
Publication Date: 2006-07-07
Clin Trials Drugs and Biophar by
The pharmaceutical industry is on the verge of an exciting and challenging century. Advances in pharmaceutical sciences have dramatically changed the processes of discovery and development of new therapeutic drugs and, in turn, resulted in an extraordinary increase in the potential prophylactic and therapeutic interventions. In this atmosphere, an intimate understanding of the mechanisms of pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic activity and the processes of drug evaluation is essential. Clinical Trials of Drugs and Biopharmaceuticalsprovides an overview of current procedures and major issues involved in drug and biopharmaceutical development. The book examines critical biochemical and pharmaceutical considerations for trials conducted during each phase of clinical development. It also reports information related to early pre-clinical evaluations of pharmacological activities and safety before proceeding with initiation of clinical trials. The sections focus on clinical assessments of drugs and biopharmaceuticals such as cardiovascular, respiratory, central nervous system, gastrointestinal and liver, genitourinary, skin, metabolism, and chemotherapeutic drugs as well as vaccines, biotechnology-derived therapeutics, and plant-based medicines. Practical and informative, this step-by-step guide includes information on all four phases of clinical trials prior to licensure and covers the design of post-marketing studies. The editors examine how recent advances and increased demand for safer and more effective drugs have changed the process by which drugs are developed and approved.
Call Number: RM301.27 C641 2006
Publication Date: 2005-09-19