Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Modern Industrial Microbiology and Biotechnology
by
This book is directed towards undergraduates and beginning graduate students in microbiology, food science and chemical engineering. Those studying pharmacy, biochemistry and general biology will find it of interest. The section on waste disposal will be of interest to civil engineering and public health students and practitioners. For the benefit of those students who may be unfamiliar with the basic biological assumptions underlying industrial microbiology, such as students of chemical and civil engineering, elements of biology and microbiology are introduced. The new elements which have necessitated the shift in paradigm in industrial microbiology such as bioinformatics, genomics, proteomics, site-directed mutation, metabolic engineering, the human genome project and others are also introduced and their relevance to industrial microbiology and biotechnology indicated.
Prescott, Harley, and Klein's Microbiology
by
Available with Prescott, Harley, and Klein's Microbiology, Seventh Edition, are more than 150 animations to harness the visual impact of microbiology processes in motion. These animations can be found on the ARIS Presentation Center at aris.mhhe.com. Since you control the action, these 3-D clips make great review and study tools! Each animation includes five questions to test your understanding of the concepts. Instructors can also import the animations into classroom presentations or online course materials! Book jacket.
Microbiology
by
Microbiology: Principles and Explorations has been a best-selling textbook for several editions due to the author's engaging writing style where her passion for the subject shines through the narrative. The text's student-friendly approach provides readers with an excellent introduction to the study of Microbiology. This text is appropriate for non-major and mixed major microbiology courses, allied health, agriculture and food sciences courses too.
Microbiology
by
This introductory text provides balanced converage of the various aspects of microbiology. Basic information, major concepts and important principles are emphasized rather than extensive, inappropriate detail. It also presents applications relevant to a broad spectrum of fields, including medicine, genetic engineering, environmental engineering, and food microbiology.
Industrial Microbiology
by
Of major economic, environmental and social importance, industrial microbiology involves the utilization of microorganisms in the production of a wide range of products, including enzymes, foods, beverages, chemical feedstocks, fuels and pharmaceuticals, and clean technologies employed for waste treatment and pollution control. Aimed at undergraduates studying the applied aspects of biology, particularly those on biotechnology and microbiology courses and students of food science and biochemical engineering, this text provides a wide-ranging introduction to the field of industrial microbiology. The content is divided into three sections: key aspects of microbial physiology, exploring the versatility of microorganisms, their diverse metabolic activities and products industrial microorganisms and the technology required for large-scale cultivation and isolation of fermentation products investigation of a wide range of established and novel industrial fermentation processes and products Written by experienced lecturers with industrial backgrounds, Industrial Microbiology provides the reader with groundwork in both the fundamental principles of microbial biology and the various traditional and novel applications of microorganisms to industrial processes, many of which have been made possible or enhanced by recent developments in genetic engineering technology. A wide-ranging introduction to the field of industrial microbiology Based on years of teaching experience by experienced lecturers with industrial backgrounds Explains the underlying microbiology as well as the industrial application. Content is divided into three sections: 1. key aspects of microbial physiology, exploring the versatility of microorganisms, their diverse metabolic activities and products 2. industrial microorganisms and the technology required for large-scale cultivation and isolation of fermentation products 3. investigation of a wide range of established and novel industrial fermentation processes and products
Manual of Industrial Microbiology and Biotechnology
by
The third edition reviews the newest techniques, approaches, and options in the use of microorganisms and other cell culture systems for the manufacture of pharmaceuticals, industrial enzymes and proteins, foods and beverages, fuels and fine chemicals, and other products. Readers will find a rich array of methods and discussions of productive microbial processes, with means for improving the organism, the process, and the product.
Microbiology
by
Prescott, Harley and Klein's 6th edition provides a balanced, comprehensive introduction to all major areas of microbiology. Because of this balance, "Microbiology, 6/e" is appropriate for students preparing for careers in medicine, dentistry, nursing, and allied health, as well as research, teaching, and industry. Biology and chemistry are prerequisites. .
Essential Microbiology
by
Essential Microbiology is a comprehensive introductory text aimed at students taking a first course in the subject. Covering all aspects of microbiology, it describes the structure and function of microbes before considering their place in the the living world. The second half of the book focuses on applied aspects such as genetic engineering, industrial microbiology and the control of microorganisms. Adopting a modern approach and with extensive use of clear comprehensive diagrams, Essential Microbiology explains key topics through the use of definition boxes and end of chapter questions. This book is invaluable for undergraduate students in the biological, food and health sciences taking a first course in Microbiology. comprehensive introduction covering all aspects of this exciting subject. includes numerous examples and applications from a wide range of fields. definition boxes, key points and self-test questions enhance student understanding.
Fermentation Microbiology and Biotechnology
by
The pace of progress in fermentation microbiology and biotechnology is fast and furious, with new applications being implemented that are resulting in a spectrum of new products, from renewable energy to solvents and pharmaceuticals Fermentation Microbiology and Biotechnology, Second Edition builds on the foundation of the original seminal work, extending its reach to reflect the multidisciplinary and expansive nature of fermentation research and advancements. While retaining valuable information from the previous edition including a brief history of the industry, as well as an overview of instrumentation and fermentor design, fermentation kinetics, and flux control analysis, the second edition addresses numerous topics that have risen to prominence in the past few years. New chapters explore the diverse array of microbial biosynthetic pathways currently used by the fermentation and pharmaceutical industries for the production of primary and secondary metabolites such as amino acids, vitamins, antibiotics, immunosuppressants, and anti-tumor agents. The authors also examine recent advances in enzyme and co-factor engineering and cell immobilization with respect to both novel drug development and improved yields from microbial processes. Beyond pharmaceuticals, this volume considers the emerging role of fermentation in the conversion of renewable resources to fine chemicals, as well as its potential use in converting lignocellulosic waste to ethanol. In addition, readers will also discover new chapters devoted to discussions of industrial issues such as modeling and sensor technology, as well as supervision and control in the fermentation process. The text is packed with examples and case studies from the industry, carefully chosen to illuminate and reinforce principles and methodology discussed in the chapters. Organized and written in a concise and lucid manner that requires only a general background in microbiology, this volume meets the needs
Microbiology Systems Approach
by
"Making Connections" Microbiology: A Systems Approach is a non-majors/allied health microbiology textbook that has quickly become known for its unique organization, engaging writing style, and instructional art program. Cowan's "building blocks" approach establishes the big picture first and then gradually layers concepts onto this foundation. This logical structure helps students build knowledge and connect important concepts."--Publisher's website