It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Modern Analytical Chemistry by David HarveyThis introductory text covers both traditional and contemporary topics relevant to analytical chemistry. Its flexible approach allows instructors to choose their favourite topics of discussion from additional coverage of subjects such as sampling, kinetic method, and quality assurance.
Call Number: QD75.2 H341 2000
Publication Date: 1999-10-14
Instant Notes in Analytical Chemistry by David Kealey; Peter G. HainesInstant Notes in Analytical Chemistry provides students with a thorough comprehension of analytical chemistry and its applications. It supports the learning of principles and practice of analytical procedures and also covers the analytical techniques commonly used in laboratories today.
Environmental Analytical Chemistry by F. W. Fifield; P. J. Haines (Editor)The first edition of this book established a niche as the only volume with a wide ranging review of analytical chemistry having a focus specific to environmental science. This new edition has been thoroughly revised to take full account of the rapid changes and development in the field over the past five years. Separation science, atomic spectroscopy and speciation determinations are areas in which significant developments have been made, and these are reflected in the new edition. The importance of the assessment of the effects of pollutants on real systems has been recognised by the restructuring of the chapter on biological testing and incorporation of a new one on environmental toxicology. Self-assessment questions have been added. Environmental science was one of the key concerns of the latter part of the twentieth century and will continue to be into the twenty-first. Concerns for environmental protection and public health worldwide have led to extensive legislation. The investigation and modelling of environmental systems, together with the implementation of laws and regulations, has led to a demand for a large number of environmental measurements, many of which are made by techniques falling within the broad range of analytical chemistry. Many professionals make regular use of data obtained by techniques of analytical chemistry. Thus, although not primarily analytical chemists or even chemists, they need sufficient knowledge of the background of analytical chemistry to judge the quality and limitations of the environmental data obtained. Very much the same situation arises in the academic world, where students are involved in environmental science studies or projects in which they need appropriate analytical chemistry information. Both analytical chemistry and environmental science have an extensive literature at varying levels of sophistication. However, there have been few attempts to link the two. This book sets out the background to analytical chemistry and covers the principles of its most important techniques. This is done in a way that enables a user to grasp the strengths and weaknesses of a technique, together with its principles of operation, without becoming enmeshed in the chemical small print. Links to environmental uses are indicated in broad terms and then exemplified in more detail by accounts of specific and important environmental problems. Written for students of chemistry, environmental science and related disciplines, the book is also an essential reference source for those who use environmental information and need to be aware of the factors affecting its quality and reliability. This is still the only book to focus exclusively on the analytical chemistry methods relevant to environmental studies. As useful to chemists as it is to non-specialists who require an understanding of the techniques employed to collect data in their disciplines (e.g. environmental researchers, ecotoxicologists, etc).
Call Number: TD193 E61 2000
Publication Date: 2000-05-18
Analytical Chemistry by Gary D. Christian; Purnendu K. Dasgupta; Kevin A. SchugThe 7th Edition of Gary Christian's Analytical Chemistry focuses on more in-depth coverage and information about Quantitative Analysis (aka Analytical Chemistry) and related fields. The content builds upon previous editions with more enhanced content that deals with principles and techniques of quantitative analysis with more examples of analytical techniques drawn from areas such as clinical chemistry, life sciences, air and water pollution, and industrial analyses.
Call Number: QD101.2 C555 2014 f
Publication Date: 2013-10-07
Green Analytical Chemistry by Miguel de la Guardia; Sergio ArmentaThis book provides basic coverage of the fundamentals and principles of green chemistry as it applies to chemical analysis. The main goal of Green Analytical Chemistry is to avoid or reduce the undesirable environmental side effects of chemical analysis, while preserving the classic analytical parameters of accuracy, sensitivity, selectivity, and precision. The authors review the main strategies for greening analytical methods, concentrating on minimizing sample preparation and handling, reducing solvent and reagent consumption, reducing energy consumption, minimizing of waste, operator safety and the economic savings that this approach offers. Suggestions are made to educators and editors to standardize terminology in order to facilitate the identification of analytical studies on green alternatives in the literature because there is not a wide and generalized use of a common term that can group efforts to prevent waste, avoid the use of potentially toxic reagents or solvents and those involving the decontamination of wastes.
Call Number: QD75 G914 2011
Publication Date: 2010-10-27
Analytical Chemistry by Matthias Otto (Editor); Miguel Valcarcel (Editor); Robert Kellner (Editor); Jean-Michel Mermet (Editor); H. Michael Widmer (Editor)Why settle for less when you can have the whole of Analytical Chemistry in a single book? The successful all-in-one guide to modern Analytical Chemistry is now available in a new and updated edition. From the foundations of analytical science to state-of-the art techniques and instrumentation -- all you will ever need to know is explained here. The text covers both general analytical chemistry and instrumental analysis and may be used for most analytical chemistry courses offered today. Carefully chosen worked examples show how analytical problems can effectively be solved and how calculations should be performed. Study questions and recommended reading for further study are provided for each learning unit. The second edition has been carefully revised to keep up-to-date with advances in the technology of analytical methods in the laboratory and in the workplace, including newly written chapters on multidimensional chromatography, sensors and screening systems. With its broad scope, the text doubles as a reliable reference for virtually all analytical problems encountered during the course of study and beyond. "Analytical Chemistry will serve as an excellent text as well as a valued reference following completion of the student′s course of study." Journal of Medicinal Chemistry "It is a book that should be on the shelves of all analytical chemistry and biochemistry professionals, including those who work in the areas of clinical chemistry, food chemistry and forensic chemistry." Bulletin of the World Health Organisation "The book is a must-have reference for anyone trying to understand what techniques and technologies are available for the analytical chemist today." Chemtech