It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Sensors for Mobile Robots by H. R. EverettThe author compiles everything a student or experienced developmental engineer needs to know about the supporting technologies associated with the rapidly evolving field of robotics. From the table of contents: Design Considerations * Dead Reckoning * Odometry Sensors * Doppler and Inertial Navigation * Typical Mobility Configurations * Tactile and Proximity Sensing * Triangulation Ranging * Stereo Disparity * Active Triangulation * Active Stereoscopic * Hermies * Structured Light * Known Target Size * Time of Flight * Phase-Shift Measurement * Frequency Modulation * Interferometry * Range from Focus * Return Signal Intensity * Acoustical Energy * Electromagnetic Energy * Optical Energy * Microwave Radar * Collision Avoidance * Guidepath Following * Position-Location Systems * Ultrasonic and Optical Position-Location Systems * Wall, Doorway, andCeiling Referencing * Application-Specific Mission Sensors
Call Number: TJ211.415 E93 1995
Publication Date: 1995-07-15
Automation, Production Systems, and Computer-Integrated Manufacturing by Mikell P. GrooverThis book provides the most advanced, comprehensive, and balanced coverage on the market of the technical and engineering aspects of automated production systems. It covers all the major cutting-edge technologies of production automation and material handling, and how these technologies are used to construct modern manufacturing systems. Manufacturing Operations; Industrial Control Systems; Sensors, Actuators, and Other Control System Components; Numerical Control; Industrial Robotics; Discrete Control Using Programmable Logic Controllers and Personal Computers; Material Transport Systems; Storage Systems; Automatic Data Capture; Single Station Manufacturing Cells; Group Technology and Cellular Manufacturing; Flexible Manufacturing Systems; Manual Assembly Lines; Transfer Lines and Similar Automated Manufacturing Systems; Automated Assembly Systems; Statistical Process Control; Inspection Principles and Practices; Inspection Technologies; Product Design and CAD/CAM in the Production System; Process Planning and Concurrent Engineering; Production Planning and Control Systems; and Lean Production and Agile Manufacturing. For anyone interested in Automation, Production Systems, and Computer-Integrated Manufacturing.
Introduction to Robotics by John J. CraigNow in its third edition, Introduction to Robotics by John J. Craig provides readers with real-world practicality with underlying theory presented. With one half of the material from traditional mechanical engineering material, one fourth control theoretical material, and one fourth computer science, the book covers rigid-body transformations, forward and inverse positional kinematics, velocities and Jacobians of linkages, dynamics, linear control, non-linear control, force control methodologies, mechanical design aspects and programming of robots. For engineers.
Call Number: TJ211 C886 2005
Publication Date: 2004-07-27
Robotics by Appin Knowledge SolutionsThis up-to-date text and reference is designed to present the fundamental principles of robotics with a strong emphasis on engineering applications and industrial solutions based on robotic technology. It can be used by practicing engineers and scientists -- or as a text in standard university courses in robotics. The book has extensive coverage of the major robotic classifications, including Wheeled Mobile Robots, Legged Robots, and the Robotic Manipulator. A central theme is the importance of kinematics to robotic principles. The book is accompanied by a CD-ROM with MATLAB simulations.
Call Number: TJ211 R667 2007
Publication Date: 2008-10-16
Introduction to Autonomous Mobile Robots by Roland Siegwart; Illah Reza NourbakhshMobile robots range from the teleoperated Sojourner on the Mars Pathfinder mission to cleaning robots in the Paris Metro. Introduction to Autonomous Mobile Robots offers students and other interested readers an overview of the technology of mobility - the mechanisms that allow a mobile robot to move through a real world environment to perform its tasks - including locomotion, sensing, localisation and motion planning. It discusses all facets of mobile robotics, including hardware design, wheel design, kinematics analysis, sensors and perception, localisation, mapping and robot control architectures. The design of any successful robot involves the integration of many different disciplines, among them kinematics, signal analysis, information theory, artificial intelligence and probability theory. Reflecting this, the book presents the techniques and technology that enable mobility in a series of interacting modules. Each chapter covers a different aspect of mobility, as the book moves from low-level to high-level details. The first two chapters explore low-level locomotory ability, examining robots' wheels and legs and the principles of kinematics. This is followed by an in-depth vie
Call Number: TJ211.415 S571 2004
Publication Date: 2004-03-05
Introduction to Robotics in CIM Systems by James A. RehgWritten from a manufacturing perspective, this book takes readers step-by-step through the theory and application techniques of designing and building a robot-driven automated work cell—from selection of hardware through programming of the devices to economic justification of the project. All-inclusive in approach, it covers not only robot automation, but all the other technology needed in the automated work cell to integrate the robot with the work environment and with the enterprise data base. Robot and other required automation hardware and software are introduced in the order in which they would be selected in an actual industrial automation design. Includes system troubleshooting guides, case studies problems, and worked example problems. Robot Classification. Automated Work Cells and CIM Systems. End-of-Arm Tooling. Automation Sensors. Work-Cell Support Systems. Robot and System Integration. Work-Cell Programming. Justification and Applications of Work Cells. Safety. Human Interface: Operator Training, Acceptance, and Problems. For those interested in Robotics and Manufacturing Automation or Production Design.
Call Number: TJ211 R345 2003
Publication Date: 2002-03-08
Handbook of Industrial Robotics by Shimon Y. Nof (Editor)About the Handbook of Industrial Robotics, Second Edition: "Once again, the Handbook of Industrial Robotics, in its Second Edition, explains the good ideas and knowledge that are needed for solutions." -Christopher B. Galvin, Chief Executive Officer, Motorola, Inc. "The material covered in this Handbook reflects the new generation of robotics developments. It is a powerful educational resource for students, engineers, and managers, written by a leading team of robotics experts." - Yukio Hasegawa, Professor Emeritus, Waseda University, Japan. "The Second Edition of the Handbook of Industrial Robotics organizes and systematizes the current expertise of industrial robotics and its forthcoming capabilities. These efforts are critical to solve the underlying problems of industry. This continuation is a source of power. I believe this Handbook will stimulate those who are concerned with industrial robots, and motivate them to be great contributors to the progress of industrial robotics." -Hiroshi Okuda, President, Toyota Motor Corporation. "This Handbook describes very well the available and emerging robotics capabilities. It is a most comprehensive guide, including valuable information for both the providers and consumers of creative robotics applications." -Donald A. Vincent, Executive Vice President, Robotic Industries Association 120 leading experts from twelve countries have participated in creating this Second Edition of the Handbook of Industrial Robotics. Of its 66 chapters, 33 are new, covering important new topics in the theory, design, control, and applications of robotics. Other key features include a larger glossary of robotics terminology with over 800 terms and a CD-ROM that vividly conveys the colorful motions and intelligence of robotics. With contributions from the most prominent names in robotics worldwide, the Handbook remains the essential resource on all aspects of this complex subject.