It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Automation, Production Systems, and Computer-Integrated Manufacturing by Mikell P. GrooverThis book provides the most advanced, comprehensive, and balanced coverage on the market of the technical and engineering aspects of automated production systems. It covers all the major cutting-edge technologies of production automation and material handling, and how these technologies are used to construct modern manufacturing systems. Manufacturing Operations; Industrial Control Systems; Sensors, Actuators, and Other Control System Components; Numerical Control; Industrial Robotics; Discrete Control Using Programmable Logic Controllers and Personal Computers; Material Transport Systems; Storage Systems; Automatic Data Capture; Single Station Manufacturing Cells; Group Technology and Cellular Manufacturing; Flexible Manufacturing Systems; Manual Assembly Lines; Transfer Lines and Similar Automated Manufacturing Systems; Automated Assembly Systems; Statistical Process Control; Inspection Principles and Practices; Inspection Technologies; Product Design and CAD/CAM in the Production System; Process Planning and Concurrent Engineering; Production Planning and Control Systems; and Lean Production and Agile Manufacturing. For anyone interested in Automation, Production Systems, and Computer-Integrated Manufacturing.
Call Number: TS183 G876 2008 c.2
Publication Date: 2007-07-24
Industrial Automation and Process Control by Jon StenersonB> Covers PLCs, process control, sensors, robotics, fluid power, CNC, Lockout/Tagout and safety, and more. Offers such a wide array of topics that readers can use this book as a reference for many different issues in industrial automation. Featuring the greatest breadth and depth of coverage available on the subject, this practical book explores the main topics in industrial automation; and provides a much-needed, understandable discussion of process control. < A comprehensive reference for professionals in industrial automation.
Call Number: TS156.8 S825 2003
Publication Date: 2002-09-17
Programmable Logic Controllers by Frank D. PetruzellaNow in four-color, this outstanding text for the first course in programmable logic controllers (PLCs) focuses on how PLCs work and gives students practical information about installing, programming, and maintaining PLC systems. It's not intended to replace manufacturer's or user's manuals, but rather complements and expands on the information contained in these materials. All topics are covered in small segments. Students systematically carry out a wide range of generic programming exercises and assignments. All of the information about PLCs has been updated.
Call Number: TJ223 P76P498 2005 f
Publication Date: 2004-03-02
Introduction to Programmable Logic Controllers by John E. RidleyThis book gives a comprehensive introduction to programming the Mitsubishi FX range of programmable logic controllers, which are used throughout industry and manufacturing technology all over the world. The accessible, practical approach to the subject is reinforced by numerous ladder diagrams, and the worked examples and assignments make the text ideal for self-organized study or as a teaching aid. fully up to date with the latest advances in technology liberally illustrated with relevant diagrams emphasis on practical applications Introduction to Programmable Logic Controllers is particularly suitable for students following the BTEC units Programmable Logic Controllers N 3316F and Engineering Applications of Programmable Logic Controllers N/H 11965G.
Publication Date: 1996-11-30
Programmable Logic Controllers by James A. Rehg; Glenn J. SartoriFor courses in Programmable Logic Controllers where the Allen/Bradley programmable logic controller is the controller of choice. This text focuses on the theory and operation of PLC systems with an emphasis on program analysis and development. The book is written in easy-to-read and understandable language with many crisp illustrations and practical examples. It describes the PLC instructions for the Allen-Bradley PLC 5, SLC 500, and Logix processors with an emphasis on the SLC 500 system using numerous figures, tables, and example problems. The text features a new two-column and four-color interior design that improves readability and figure placement. The book's organisation also has improved; all the chapter questions and problems are listed in one convenient location in Appendix D with page locations for all chapter references in the questions and problems. This book describes the technology in a clear, concise style that is effective in helping students who have no previous experience in PLCs or discrete and analog system control.
Call Number: TJ223 P76R345 2009 f
Publication Date: 2008-08-17
Programmable Logic Controllers and Their Engineering Applications by Alan J. CrispinUsing the new International Standard IEC 1131-3, this text investigates the nature of PLCs and how they can be used in industry. It covers programming techniques including: instruction list; structured text; ladder diagram; fuction block diagram and sequential function chart. Special coding techniques for some common PLCs are covered inteh appendices.
Call Number: TJ223 P76 C932 1997
Publication Date: 1996-12-01
Manufacturing Automation by Yusuf AltintasMetal cutting is one of the most widely used methods of producing the final shape of manufactured products. First published in 2000, this book treats the scientific principles of metal cutting and their practical application to solving problems encountered in manufacturing. The subjects of mathematics, physics, computers, software, and instrumentation are discussed as integration tools in analyzing or designing machine tools and manufacturing processes. The book begins with the fundamentals of metal cutting mechanics. A special feature is the in-depth coverage of chatter vibrations, a problem experienced daily by practising manufacturing engineers. The essential topics of programming, design, and automation of CNC (computer numerical control) machine tools; NC (numerical control) programming; and CAD/CAM technology are fully discussed. Each chapter includes examples drawn from industry, design projects, and homework problems. Advanced undergraduate and graduate students, as well as practising engineers, will find this book a clear and thorough way to learn the engineering principles of metal cutting mechanics, CNC system design, and CAD/CAM technology.
Call Number: TJ1185.5 A468 2000
Publication Date: 2000-04-13
Handbook of Design, Manufacturing and Automation by Richard C. Dorf (Editor); Andrew Kusiak (Editor); Richard DorfComprehensive, detailed, and organized for speedyreference--everything you need to know about modern manufacturingtechnology. From concurrent engineering to fixture design formachining systems, from robotics and artificial intelligence tofacility layout planning and automated CAD-based inspection, thishandbook provides all the information you need to design, plan, andimplement a modern, efficient manufacturing system tailored to yourcompany's special needs and requirements. Handbook of Design,Manufacturing and Automation does more than simply present thecharacteristics and specifications of each technology--much more.Each technology is discussed both in terms of its own capabilitiesand in terms of its compatibility with other technologies, and thetrade-offs involved in choosing one option over another areexplored at length. An entire section is devoted to the businessaspects of converting to the new technologies, includingacquisition of automation, managing advanced manufacturingtechnology, and issues of cost and financing. The focus is onincorporating these technologies into a cohesive whole--anefficient, cost-effective manufacturing system. Other importanttopics include: * Design for automated manufacturing * Nontraditional manufacturing processes * Machine tool programming techniques and trends * Precision engineering and micromanufacturing * Computer-integrated product planning and control * Image processing for manufacturing * And much more