It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Power Electronics Handbook by Muhammad H. Rashid (Editor)Power electronics, which is a rapidly growing area in terms of research and applications, uses modern electronics technology to convert electric power from one form to another, such as ac-dc, dc-dc, dc-ac, and ac-ac with a variable output magnitude and frequency. It has many applications in our every day life such as air-conditioners, electric cars, sub-way trains, motor drives, renewable energy sources and power supplies for computers. This book covers all aspects of switching devices, converter circuit topologies, control techniques, analytical methods and some examples of their applications. Designed to appeal to a new generation of engineering professionals, Power Electronics Handbook, 3rd Edition features four new chapters covering renewable energy, energy transmission, energy storage, as well as an introduction to Distributed and Cogeneration (DCG) technology, including gas turbines, gensets, microturbines, wind turbines, variable speed generators, photovoltaics and fuel cells, has been gaining momentum for quite some time now.smart grid technology. With this book readers should be able to provide technical design leadership on assigned power electronics design projects and lead the design from the concept to production involving significant scope and complexity.
Publication Date: 2011-01-13
Fundamentals of Electric Drives by Mohamed El-SharkawiThis text fills a need for a textbook that presents the basic topics and fundamental concepts underlying electric machines, power electronics, and electric drives for electrical engineering students at the undergraduate level. Most existing books on electric drives concentrate either on converters and waveform analysis (ignoring mechanical load dynamics), or on motor characteristics (giving short shrift to analysis of converters and controllers). This book provides a complete overview of the subject, at the right level for EE students. The book takes readers through the analysis and design of a complete electric drives system, including coverage of mechanical loads, motors, converters, sensing, and controllers. In addition to serving as a text, this book serves as a useful and practical reference for professional electric drives engineers.
Electric Drives by Ion BoldeaElectric drives are everywhere, and with the looming promise of electric vehicles and renewable energy, they will become more complex and the demands on their capabilities will continue to increase. To keep up with these trends, students require hands-on knowledge and a keen understanding of the subtleties involved in the operation of modern electric drives. The best-selling first edition of Electric Drives provided such an understanding, and this Second Edition offers the same approach with up-to-date coverage of all major types of electric drives, both constant and variable speed. This book provides a self-contained treatment of low-, medium-, and large-power drives illustrated by numerous application examples, problems, digital simulation results, and test results for both steady state and dynamic operation. This edition features updated material in every chapter, including references; new material on AC brush series motors, capacitor-split inductor motors, single-phase PMSMs and switched reluctance motors, and tooth-wound PMSMs, all with numerical examples; new case studies on AC synchronous and induction motors; and a new chapter on control of electric generators. The companion CD-ROM features the full text, class slides for instructors, and MATLAB¿ simulations of 10 closed-loop drives, two of which are new to this edition. With a practical, hands-on approach, Electric Drives, Second Edition is the ideal textbook to help students design, simulate, build, and test modern electric drives, from simple to complex.
Call Number: TK4058 B687 2006
Publication Date: 2005-08-22
Electric Drives by Vedam SubrahmanyamElectric motors are widely used in both industrial equipment and consumer products, but motors are only one component in systems called drives. This text provides information on both conventional as well as converter-based drives, and discusses the closed loop control and dynamics of drives.
Call Number: TK4057 S941 1994
Publication Date: 1996-02-01
Power Electronics by Muhammad H. RashidThis state-of-the-art book covers the basics of emerging areas in power electronics and a broad range of topics such as power switching devices, conversion methods, analysis and techniques, and applications. Its unique approach covers the characteristics of semiconductor devices first, and then discusses the applications of these devices for power conversions. Well-written and easy-to-follow, the book features numerous worked-out examples that demonstrate the applications of conversion techniques in design and analysis of converter circuits. Chapter topics include power semiconductor diodes and circuits, diode rectifiers, power transistors, DC-DC converters, pulse-width modulated inverters, thyristors, resonant pulse inverters, multilevel inverters, controlled rectifiers, AC voltage controllers, static switches, flexible ac transmission systems, power supplies. DC and AC drives, gate drive circuits, and protection of devices and circuits. For individuals in interested in the fields of electrical and electronic engineering.
Call Number: TK7881.15 R224 2004
Publication Date: 2003-08-04
Power Electronics by Daniel W. HartPower Electronics is intended to be an introductory text in power electronics, primarily for the undergraduate electrical engineering student. The text is written for some flexibility in the order of the topics. Much of the text includes computer simulation using PSpice as a supplement to analytical circuit solution techniques.
Call Number: TK7881.15 H325 2011
Publication Date: 2010-01-22
Electric Drives by Marcel JuferAn electric drive that is designed or adapted to a specificapplication must take into account all the elements of the chain ofconstituent elements in its use and deployment. In addition to themotor, the transmission, power electronics, control, sensors, andelectrical protection systems must be taken into account. The motor and the transmission can be optimized and designed toobtain the best energy efficiency assessment, in particular fordynamic nodes. An inventory and a characterization of these variouscomponents is proposed as part of this book?s examination andexplanation of the different technology elements, as well as adynamic model of the system, with the whole system constituting amethodology for integrated electric drive design.