Communication Systems (PLT208/3)

Electronic Communications System by Wayne Tomasi For courses in Introduction to Electronic Communications and Digital and Data Communications. Comprehensive in scope and contemporary in coverage, this text introduces basic electronic and data communications fundamentals, and explores their application in modern digital and data communications systems. Students with previous knowledge in basic electronic principles and fundamental calculus concepts will gain a complete understanding of the topics presented here. Tomasi's Advanced Electronic Communications Systems 6/e is the last 10 chapters of this text.

Digital Communications by Ian Glover; Peter Grant Digital techniques are central to almost all modern telecommunications systems. The third edition of Digital Communications has retained both its comprehensive coverage and its balance between theory, applications and systems implementation. Its main aim is to develop the mathematical theory of signal processing and use this theory to describe modern digital communications. This text is geared towards students who already have a technical understanding of electrical engineering from their introductory years at university and who wish to focus on digital communications. It covers everything these students will need to know, including modern techniques. It is also suitable for professional engineers.

Principles of Electronic Communication Systems by Louis E. Frenzel "Principles of Electronic Communication Systems" is an introductory course in communication electronics for students with a background in basic electronics. The program provides students with the current, state-of-the-art electronics techniques used in all modern forms of electronic communications, including radio, television, telephones, facsimiles, cell phones, satellites, LAN systems, digital transmission, and microwave communications. The text is readable with easy-to-understand line drawings and color photographs. The up-to-date content includes a new chapter on wireless communications systems. Various aspects of troubleshooting are discussed throughout..

Electronic Communications by John M Jeffords; William D. Stanley This book develops a solid understanding of the general principles that govern all communications systems. Topics include traditional analog communication techniques such as AM and FM, modern digital systems, radar, wireless, networking, consumer communications systems, and many other areas. Practical applications are stressed with an emphasis on signal processing at a systems level, in order to provide a better background for readers as technology advances and new integrated circuits become available.

Modern Electronic Communication by Gary M. Miller; Jeffrey S. Beasley Maintaining the tradition of previous editions, this ninth edition includes up-to-date coverage of the latest in electronic communications and concepts. The material presented reflects advancements and developments in all aspects of electronic communications such as mobile communications, satellite communications, digital signal processing and SS7 signaling. Electronic Workbench Multisim simulations appear at the end of each chapter and on an accompanying CD. In addition, in-text learning aids are designed to develop analytical and troubleshooting skills and the updated lab manual includes new experiments using Mini-Circuits® modules.  Expanded discussion of digital communications including new changes and improvements in: Mobile Communications; SS7 Signaling; Bluetooth; Wi-Max; DTV (digital television).  Completely new sections on: Wireless Security; DSP (digital signal processing); RFID; HD Radio.  A thorough and up-to-date reference for Electronic Technicians.

Digital Communications by Ian A. Glover; Peter M. Grant Digital communications is the foundation of modern telecommunications and digital signal processing. The second edition of this text has been updated to include contemporary techniques and systems used in the rapidly expanding field of fixed and mobile communications.

Principles of Electronic Communication Systems by Louis E. Frenzel Principles of Electronic Communication Systems provides the most up-to-date survey available for students taking a first course in electronic communications. Requiring only basic algebra and trigonometry, this new edition is notable for its readability, learning features and numerous full-color photos and illustrations. A systems approach is used to cover state-of-the-art communications technologies, to best reflect current industry practice. This edition contains greatly expanded and updated material on the Internet, cell phones, and wireless technologies. Practical skills like testing and troubleshooting are integrated throughout. A brand-new Laboratory & Activities Manual provides both hands-on experiments and a variety of other activities, reflecting the variety of skills now needed by technicians. A new Online Learning Center is also available, with a wealth of learning resources for instructors and students. McGraw-Hill Education's Connect, is also available as an optional, add on item. Connect is the only integrated learning system that empowers students by continuously adapting to deliver precisely what they need, when they need it, how they need it, so that class time is more effective. Connect allows the professor to assign homework, quizzes, and tests easily and automatically grades and records the scores of the student's work. Problems are randomized to prevent sharing of answers an may also have a "multi-step solution" which helps move the students' learning along if they experience difficulty.

Electronic Communication Systems by Roy Blake Now in its second edition, Electronic Communications Systems provides electronics technologists with an extraordinarily complete, accurate, and timely introduction to all of the state-of-the-art technologies used in the communications field today. Comprehensive coverage includes traditional analog systems, as well as modern digital techniques. Extensive discussion of today's modern wireless systems- including cellular, radio, paging systems, and wireless data networks- is also included. In addition, sections on data communication and the internet, high-definition television, and fiber optics have been updated in this edition to enable readers to keep pace with the latest technological advancements. A block-diagram approach is emphasized throughout the book, with circuits included when helpful to lead readers to an understanding of fundamental principles. Instructive, step-by-step examples using MultiSIM, in addition to those that use actual equipment and current manufacturer's specifications, are also included. Knowledge of basic algebra and trigonometry is assumed, yet no calculus is required.

Electronic Communication Techniques by Paul H. Young This one-book reference resource covers a broad range of communication technologies at levels from a block diagram to the circuit and system analysis/design for physical implementation and troubleshooting of hardware. Comprehensive yet easily understandable, this book covers such topics as radio frequency amplifiers, oscillators, signal spectra, noise, modulation, transmitter and receiver circuits, sideband systems, phase-locked loops, pulse and digital modulation, digital communication, data communication, transmission lines and waveguides, antennas and radiowave propagation, television, digital radio and space communication, and fiber-optic communication. A valuable reference work for engineers, technicians, hobbyists, technical managers, and technical/sales marketing staff.

Modern Electronic Communication by Gary M. Miller; Jeffrey S. Beasley Maintaining the tradition of previous editions, this ninth edition includes up-to-date coverage of the latest in electronic communications and concepts. The material presented reflects advancements and developments in all aspects of electronic communications such as mobile communications, satellite communications, digital signal processing and SS7 signaling. Electronic Workbench Multisim simulations appear at the end of each chapter and on an accompanying CD. In addition, in-text learning aids are designed to develop analytical and troubleshooting skills and the updated lab manual includes new experiments using Mini-Circuits® modules.  Expanded discussion of digital communications including new changes and improvements in: Mobile Communications; SS7 Signaling; Bluetooth; Wi-Max; DTV (digital television).  Completely new sections on: Wireless Security; DSP (digital signal processing); RFID; HD Radio.  A thorough and up-to-date reference for Electronic Technicians.