Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Power Electronics by This state-of-the-art book covers the basics of emerging areas in power electronics and a broad range of topics such as power switching devices, conversion methods, analysis and techniques, and applications. Its unique approach covers the characteristics of semiconductor devices first, and then discusses the applications of these devices for power conversions. Well-written and easy-to-follow, the book features numerous worked-out examples that demonstrate the applications of conversion techniques in design and analysis of converter circuits. Chapter topics include power semiconductor diodes and circuits, diode rectifiers, power transistors, DC-DC converters, pulse-width modulated inverters, thyristors, resonant pulse inverters, multilevel inverters, controlled rectifiers, AC voltage controllers, static switches, flexible ac transmission systems, power supplies. DC and AC drives, gate drive circuits, and protection of devices and circuits. For individuals in interested in the fields of electrical and electronic engineering.
Call Number: TK7881.15 R224 2004
Publication Date: 2003-08-04
Power Electronics by Power Electronics is intended to be an introductory text in power electronics, primarily for the undergraduate electrical engineering student. The text is written for some flexibility in the order of the topics. Much of the text includes computer simulation using PSpice as a supplement to analytical circuit solution techniques.
Call Number: TK7881.15 H325 2011
Publication Date: 2010-01-22
Introduction to Modern Power Electronics by Provides comprehensive coverage of the basic principles and methods of electric power conversion and the latest developments in the field This book constitutes a comprehensive overview of the modern power electronics. Various semiconductor power switches are described, complementary components and systems are presented, and power electronic converters that process power for a variety of applications are explained in detail. This third edition updates all chapters, including new concepts in modern power electronics. New to this edition is extended coverage of matrix converters, multilevel inverters, and applications of the Z-source in cascaded power converters. The book is accompanied by a website hosting an instructor's manual, a PowerPoint presentation, and a set of PSpice files for simulation of a variety of power electronic converters. Introduction to Modern Power Electronics, Third Edition: Discusses power conversion types: ac-to-dc, ac-to-ac, dc-to-dc, and dc-to-ac Reviews advanced control methods used in today's power electronic converters Includes an extensive body of examples, exercises, computer assignments, and simulations Introduction to Modern Power Electronics, Third Edition is written for undergraduate and graduate engineering students interested in modern power electronics and renewable energy systems. The book can also serve as a reference tool for practicing electrical and industrial engineers.
Publication Date: 2015-11-16
Power Electronics Semiconductor Devices by This book relates the recent developments in several key electricalengineering R&D labs, concentrating on power electronicsswitches and their use. The first sections deal with key powerelectronics technologies, MOSFETs and IGBTs, including series andparallel associations. The next section examines silicon carbideand its potentiality for power electronics applications and itspresent limitations. Then, a dedicated section presents thecapacitors, key passive components in power electronics, followedby a modeling method allowing the stray inductances computation,necessary for the precise simulation of switching waveforms.Thermal behavior associated with power switches follows, and thelast part proposes some interesting prospectives associated toPower Electronics integration.
Call Number: TK7881.15 P887 2009
Publication Date: 2009-04-27
Fundamentals of Power Electronics by In many university curricula, the power electronics field has evolved beyond the status of comprising one or two special-topics courses. Often there are several courses dealing with the power electronics field, covering the topics of converters, motor drives, and power devices, with possibly additional advanced courses in these areas as well. There may also be more traditional power-area courses in energy conversion, machines, and power systems. In the breadth vs. depth tradeoff, it no longer makes sense for one textbook to attempt to cover all of these courses; indeed, each course should ideally employ a dedicated textbook. This text is intended for use in introductory power electronics courses on converters, taught at the senior or first-year graduate level. There is sufficient material for a one year course or, at a faster pace with some material omitted, for two quarters or one semester. The first class on converters has been called a way of enticing control and electronics students into the power area via the "back door". The power electronics field is quite broad, and includes fundamentals in the areas of * Converter circuits and electronics * Control systems * Magnetics * Power applications * Design-oriented analysis This wide variety of areas is one of the things which makes the field so interesting and appealing to newcomers. This breadth also makes teaching the field a challenging undertaking, because one cannot assume that all students enrolled in the class have solid prerequisite knowledge in so many areas.
Publication Date: 2013-05-08
Power Electronic Circuits by Power electronic circuits for modern industrial applications Offering a remarkable variety of exercises, examples, and problems, including design-oriented problems, Issa Batarseh's POWER ELECTRONIC CIRCUITS will help you develop the skills and knowledge you need to analyze and design power electronic circuits for modern industrial applications. Batarseh presents detailed explanations of circuit operations, clear discussions of the theory behind power electronic circuits, and an effective problem-solving approach. The text first prepares you with necessary background material on devices, switching circuit analysis techniques, and converter types and methods of conversion, and then covers high-frequency non-isolated dc-to-dc converters, isolated dc-to-dc converters, and resonant soft-switching converters. The final chapters address traditional diode and SCR converters and dc-ac inverters. Highlights * Each chapter features at least 10 exercises, which will help you understand basic concepts, equations, and circuit operations. * Throughout the text, more than 250 problems of varying levels of difficulty give you the opportunity to use what you've learned. * Special design problems (highlighted with a "D") offer open-ended opportunities to apply design techniques. * Solved examples help you refine your problem-solving skills. * Introductory material on devices, switching circuit analysis techniques, and converter types provides the background you need to understand power electronics concepts. * Features detailed discussion on resonant and soft-switching dc-to-dc converters. * Provides a simplified discussion of Pulse Wide Modulation (PWM) Technique. * A Web site is provided with detailed lecture notes and practice quizzes.
Call Number: TK7881.15 B328 2004
Publication Date: 2003-04-24
Power Electronic Systems by This text offers an overview of the field of power electronics. It provides a conceptual foundation across several disciplines, including electronic devices and circuits, signals and systems, motor drives and control systems. MATLAB is used throughout the text.
Call Number: TK7881.15 A277 2001
Publication Date: 2000-12-07
Power Electronic Control in Electrical Systems by Power Electronic Control in Electrical Systems fundamental concepts associated with the topic of power electronic control are covered alongside the latest equipment and devices, new application areas and associated computer-assisted methods.
Call Number: TK7881.2 P887 2002
Publication Date: 2001-12-20
The Switching Function by This book demonstrates the usefulness of the switching function in analyzing powers electronic circuits in the steady state. A procedure is suggested for the effective application of this effective application of this method for the analysis of all types of power electronic circuits. The Kirchoff's Laws and the Superposition theorem are applied by introducing the appropriate switching functions in order to derive Unified Expressions of voltage and current in switched circuits valid at all times. The exact expressions of the current in each semiconductor device in the circuit enables the circuit designer to collect all the relevant data to set the ratings of the device such as rms, average and peak values of voltage and current. The order of the voltage and current harmonics at any point in the circuit are derived with simple arithmetic. Compact expressions are derived for Sinusoidal PWM signals based on the switching function. The order, magnitude and phase of each component are derived directly from the expression with simple arithmetic. The educator has a simple way to present to his students the mechanism of operation of complex switched circuits where all the statements regarding their operation are actually presented in the model of the circuit.
Call Number: TK7887.6 M356 2006
Publication Date: 2006-04-21
The switching function : analysis of power electronic circuits by "This new book demonstrates the usefulness of the switching function in analyzing power electronic circuits in the steady state. A procedure is suggested for the effective application of this method for the analysis of all types of power electronic circuits."--BOOK JACKET
Call Number: TK7881.15 P298 2009
Publication Date: 2009