Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Electric Machinery Fundamentals by
Electric Machinery Fundamentals continues to be a best-selling machinery text due to its accessible, student-friendly coverage of the important topics in the field. In the fifth edition, the use of MATLAB® continues to be incorporated in examples and problems, where applicable. The targeted and thought-provoking problems you've come to appreciate have been retained in this edition. Chapman continues to share his up-to-date knowledge and experiences in the field in an engaging and understandable style.
Electrical machines, drives, and power systems by 
Electrical Engineer's Reference Book by
For ease of use, this edition has been divided into the following subject sections: general principles; materials and processes; control, power electronics and drives; environment; power generation; transmission and distribution; power systems; sectors of electricity use. New chapters and major revisions include: industrial instrumentation; digital control systems; programmable controllers; electronic power conversion; environmental control; hazardous area technology; electromagnetic compatibility; alternative energy sources; alternating current generators; electromagnetic transients; power system planning; reactive power plant and FACTS controllers; electricity economics and trading; power quality.
Design of Rotating Electrical Machines by
In one complete volume, this essential reference presents an in-depth overview of the theoretical principles and techniques of electrical machine design. This book enables you to design rotating electrical machines with its detailed step-by-step approach to machine design and thorough treatment of all existing and emerging technologies in this field. Senior electrical engineering students and postgraduates, as well as machine designers, will find this book invaluable. In depth, it presents the following: Machine type definitions; different synchronous, asynchronous, DC, and doubly salient reluctance machines. An analysis of types of construction; external pole, internal pole, and radial flux machines. The properties of rotating electrical machines, including the insulation and heat removal options. Responding to the need for an up-to-date reference on electrical machine design, this book includes exercises with methods for tackling, and solutions to, real design problems. A supplementary website hosts two machine design examples created with MATHCAD: rotor surface magnet permanent magnet machine and squirrel cage induction machine calculations. Classroom tested material and numerous graphs are features that further make this book an excellent manual and reference to the topic.
An Introduction to Electrical Machines and Transformers by
Electrical engineering students are traditionally given but brief exposure to the important topic of electrical machines and transformers. This text/reference comprises a thorough and accessible introduction to the subject and this Second Edition contains more material on small machinery and a new chapter on the ``energy conversion'' approach to calculation of magnetically developed forces. A circuit model is developed for each of the basic devices and the physical basis of each model is explained. Chapters are relatively independent of one another and follow the same general plan--coverage is broad and deep enough to permit flexibility in course design.
Electric Machinery by
The exciting new sixth edition ofElectric Machineryhas been extensively updated while retaining the emphasis on fundamental principles and physical understanding that has been the outstanding feature of this classic book. This book covers fundamental concepts in detail as well as advanced topics for readers who wish to cover the material in more depth. Several new chapters have been added, including a chapter on power electronics, as well as one on speed and torque control of dc and ac motors. This edition has also been expanded with additional examples and practice problems. The use of MATLAB has been introduced to the new edition, both in examples within the text as well as in the chapter problems.
Analysis of Electric Machinery and Drive Systems by
An updated approach to reference frame analysis of electric machines and drive systems Since the first edition of Analysis of Electric Machinery was published, the reference frame theory that was detailed in the book has become the universally accepted approach for the analysis of both electric machines and electric drive systems. Now in its second edition, Analysis of Electric Machinery and Drive Systems presents, in one resource, the application of this theory to the analysis, simulation, and design of the complete drive system including the machine, converter, and control. Supplemented with more than 325 figures, this book also covers: Analysis of converters used in electric drive systems, as well as DC, induction, and brushless DC motor drives Detailed treatment of supervisory down to switch level converter controls Nonlinear average value modeling of converters and drive systems Operational impedances and reduced-order modeling Guidelines for computer simulation of machines and drive systems Complete with condensed, quick-reference treatments of necessary theoretical material, Analysis of Electric Machinery and Drive Systems, Second Edition is appropriate as a senior- and graduate-level text as well as an invaluable resource for electrical, mechanical, and systems engineers in the electric machinery and drives areas.
