It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Surveying: Principles and Applications, Eighth Edition presents a clear discussion of the latest advances in technological instrumentation, surveying principles, and applications for mapping and engineering surveys. It has a good selection of problems that illuminate and reinforce concepts, as well as providing up-to-date information on the latest technological innovations. Real-world emphasis is key to the continued success of this text and the success a student has in understanding surveying concepts – so real world, in fact, that it is often carried by graduates into their first day of work. Suitable for construction, civil technology, civil engineering programs, and general surveying.
This state-of-the-art exploration of the theory and applications of geometrics recognizes the expansion and advances in the fieldandthe broadening of the allied disciplines that have a direct interest in the newest technological approaches to geo-data collection, processing, analysis, management, and presentation. Exceptionally well-written by a teacher/surveyor manager with many years of experience, it provides a comprehensiveinsider'sview of what's important, what works, and how it all fits together. Divided into three parts—Fundamentals, Remote Sensing, and Engineering Applications—it covers both traditional topics in surveying and the more recently developed topics in geographic information systems (GIS), global positioning (GPS) and airborne imagery, together with satellite imagery (remote sensing)—all with a focus on applications of interest to the fields of in civil, surveying, and geological engineering, physical geography, environmental, natural resources, etc. Features an appendix of 11 field projects involving the fundamentals of taping, leveling, and angle acquisition, and applications in data gathering, stake-outs for buildings, curves, and pipelines.An Introduction to Geometrics. Distance Measurement—Taping. Electronic Distance Measurement (EDM). Leveling. Angles and Directions. Transits/Theodolites. Traverse Surveys. Electronic Surveying Measurements. Topographic Surveying and Mapping. Geogramic Information Systems (GIS). Global Positioning Systems (GPS). Control Surveys. Land Surveying. Airborne Imagery. Satellite Imagery. Highway Curves. Construction Surveying.For anyone interested in the state-of-the-art theory and applications of Geomatics/Surveying.
McCormac's 6th edition of Surveying provides a basic overview to help readers understand and communicate with surveyors. New features include more applications in engineering areas such as environmental, transportation, geotechnical, construction; more applications to GIS and GPS; added coverage of Geomatics, including setting up data to do analysis and make decisions; and more examples and increase number of homework problems.
Engineering surveying involves determining the position of natural and man-made features on or beneath the Earth's surface and utilizing these features in the planning, design and construction of works. It is a critical part of any engineering project. Without an accurate understanding of the size, shape and nature of the site the project risks expensive and time-consuming errors or even catastrophic failure. This fully updated sixth edition of Engineering Surveying covers all the basic principles and practice of the fundamentals such as vertical control, distance, angles and position right through to the most modern technologies. Itnbsp;includes: * An introduction to geodesy to facilitate greater understanding of satellite systems * A fully updated chapter on GPS, GLONASS and GALILEO for satellite positioning in surveying * All new chapter on the important subject of rigorous estimation of control coordinates * Detailed material on mass data methods of photogrammetry and laser scanning and the role of inertial technology in them With many worked examples and illustrations of tools and techniques, it suits students and professionals alike involved in surveying, civil, structural and mining engineering, and related areas such as geography and mapping.