Physic Technology (PAT 102/3)

From Archimedes and Copernicus to Stephen Hawking and Stephen Jay Gould, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date biographical dictionary of scientists currently available. Featuring over 1,300 entries, spanning over 2,500 years, this book covers all areas of science, from physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology. Offering clear explanations of the science itself as well as its historical significance, the Dictionary includes coverage of all Nobel Laureates in physics, chemistry, physiology, and medicine, in addition to a comprehensive index of topics, and extensive network of cross-references to related entries. Compact, comprehensive, and crammed full of useful facts throughout, A Dictionary of Scientists will be an essential reference for scientists, students, and anyone with a general interest in science.

This is the most popular dictionary of physics available. It contains over 3,800 entries covering all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts, as well as terms from the related fields of astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry. With 200 new entries and expanded coverage inareas including applied physics, statistical distributions, polymers, and nanoscience, A Dictionary of Physics is more comprehensive than ever before. The dictionary is generously illustrated with over 120 diagrams, graphs, and tables and it also contains biographies of important scientists. Feature entries provide in-depth analysis of key topics such as crystal defects, magnetic resonance imaging, and the solar system. Three feature entries onlow-temperature physics, nanophysics, and quantum entanglement are brand new to this edition. Also new to this edition are entry-level web links and a web linked appendix. These recommended web links are accessible and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Physics companion web page and provideuseful and relevant extra information. Appendices include SI units, the solar system, and the electromagnetic spectrum, plus a list of Nobel Prize winners and a chronology of key dates in physics. This fully revised and updated A-Z is an ideal introduction to the subject for anyone with an interest in physics, and it remains an indispensable reference work for students of physics and physics-related subjects (either at school or at university), and professionals.

"Revised and expanded, The Facts On File Dictionary of Mathematics, Third Edition, contains approximately 3,000 entries that explain, clearly and concisely, the most important and commonly used terms in every branch of mathematics." "More than 200 new terms increase coverage of applied mathematics and computer science." "Almost 100 line drawings illustrate complex concepts, and extensive cross-references guarantee that no user will waste time searching for the right definition. Tables list symbols and notation, symbols for physical quantities, units of measure, conversion factors, formulas, important constants, and the Greek alphabet."--BOOK JACKET

The editors of this Encyclopedia, earlier editions of which met with international acclaim, have now provided a fully revised, expanded and updated third edition of this comprehensive reference work. In two volumes, 500 experts -- among them several Nobel laureates and numerous other scientific award winners -- offer a comprehensive and topical account of physics and the physical world. The volumes comprise more than 500 articles, which have either been completely updated or are altogether new, covering the latest terminology and techniques in physics, including atomic trapping and cooling, biophotonics, econophysics, the formation of stars and planets, quantum communication, space science and technology, and traffic flow.

Nine years has passed since the 1992 second edition of the encyclopedia was published. This completely revised third edition, which is a university and professional level compendium of chemistry, molecular biology, mathematics, and engineering, is refreshed with numerous articles about current research in these fields. For example, the new edition has an increased emphasis on information processing and biotechnology, reflecting the rapid growth of these areas. The continuing Editor-in-Chief, Robert Meyers, and the Board prepared a new topical outline of physical science and technology to define complete coverage. Section editors are either Nobel Laureates or editors of key journals in their fields. Additional Board members representing the global scientific community were also recruited. The new 18-volume edition of the Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology, 3E, will have the added feature of an Index Volume, containing abstracts of all of the articles in the encyclopedia. Has been completely updated with no less than 90% revised material and 50% new content throughout the volumes Presents eighteen volumes, nearly 800 authoritative articles and 14,500 pages Is lavishly illustrated with over 7,000 photographs, illustrations and tables Presents an increased emphasis on the hottest topics such as information processing, environmental science, biotechnology and biomedicine Includes a final Index Volume containing Thematic, Relational and Subject indexes